THE DARK CITY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.



 
HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityRegisterLog in

 

 Charging with mixed movement units

Go down 
+2
Squidmaster
colinsherlow
6 posters
AuthorMessage
colinsherlow
Hekatrix
colinsherlow

Posts : 1011
Join date : 2011-11-23
Location : Vancouver BC

Charging with mixed movement units Empty
PostSubject: Charging with mixed movement units   Charging with mixed movement units I_icon_minitimeThu Aug 28 2014, 23:09

Question about charging for you with mixed units.


Lets say that a mixed unit that contains beasts (whom ignore difficult terrain even when charging), and say an infantry model (who does not ignore difficult terrain) wishes to make a charge move against an enemy unit 8" away.
Part of the unit has to charge through difficult terrain to reach the enemy. BUT only the beasts (whom ignore difficult terrain even when charging) have to move through difficult terrain to reach the enemy, and the infantry model does not have to due to being in a position where he/she does not have to move through difficult terrain.

My question is. Does the unit suffer the -2 modifier for charge distance even though the infantry model does not actually have to move through the difficult terrain during the charge?

_________________
There are two things that I love. Kicking ass and chewing bubble gum... And I'm allllll out of bubble gum!
Back to top Go down
Squidmaster
Klaivex
Squidmaster

Posts : 2123
Join date : 2013-12-18
Location : Hampshire, England

Charging with mixed movement units Empty
PostSubject: Re: Charging with mixed movement units   Charging with mixed movement units I_icon_minitimeFri Aug 29 2014, 10:03

If memory serves (because my rulebook is in someones elses hands right now) a unit with mixed movement rules uses the SLOWEST of them, so in this case you would suffer the -2 because of the model(s) that don't have Move Through Cover.
This is the reason the Hellion riding Beastmasters were also made Beasts, so that they could keep up and not render the movement abilities of the Beasts pointless.
If memory serves again, I do believe Moves Through Cover is NOT one of those rules where you only need one model in the unit to have it for the entire unit to have it (such as Hit And Run).

_________________
Kabal of the Eternal NightModelling Blog
The Squidmaster DistractathonNotes on being an RPG Gamesmaster
Back to top Go down
http://www.escelionfilms.com
1++
Hekatrix
avatar

Posts : 1036
Join date : 2011-06-27
Location : Sydney

Charging with mixed movement units Empty
PostSubject: Re: Charging with mixed movement units   Charging with mixed movement units I_icon_minitimeFri Aug 29 2014, 10:27

If a model needs to make a difficult terrain test then the entire unit suffers the -2. Beasts ignore diff terrain so aslong as your non beast models don't need to move through diff terrain then they should not suffer the penalty

_________________
"I'm alive from this pain!"
Back to top Go down
kourac31
Kabalite Warrior
kourac31

Posts : 116
Join date : 2013-03-29
Location : satellite realm

Charging with mixed movement units Empty
PostSubject: Re: Charging with mixed movement units   Charging with mixed movement units I_icon_minitimeMon Sep 01 2014, 03:11

Aniway you could always make 2 separate charges on the same target. You only need to be over 2" at the end of the move phase from each other
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
Count Adhemar

Posts : 7568
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

Charging with mixed movement units Empty
PostSubject: Re: Charging with mixed movement units   Charging with mixed movement units I_icon_minitimeMon Sep 01 2014, 08:58

@kourac31 wrote:
Aniway you could always make 2 separate charges on the same target. You only need to be over 2" at the end of the move phase from each other

They then end up fighting as two separate units and you risk losing the IC.

_________________
Charging with mixed movement units YhBv3Wk
You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Klaivex Charondyr
Wych
Klaivex Charondyr

Posts : 918
Join date : 2014-09-08

Charging with mixed movement units Empty
PostSubject: Re: Charging with mixed movement units   Charging with mixed movement units I_icon_minitimeMon Sep 08 2014, 17:06

BRB, Move through Cover:

Quote :
A unit that contains at least one model with this special rule...
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
Count Adhemar

Posts : 7568
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

Charging with mixed movement units Empty
PostSubject: Re: Charging with mixed movement units   Charging with mixed movement units I_icon_minitimeMon Sep 08 2014, 18:29

@Klaivex Charondyr wrote:
BRB, Move through Cover:

Quote :
A unit that contains at least one model with this special rule...

Thanks but Beasts don't have this rule so not really relevant

_________________
Charging with mixed movement units YhBv3Wk
You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
colinsherlow
Hekatrix
colinsherlow

Posts : 1011
Join date : 2011-11-23
Location : Vancouver BC

Charging with mixed movement units Empty
PostSubject: Re: Charging with mixed movement units   Charging with mixed movement units I_icon_minitimeThu Sep 18 2014, 01:22

I thought beasts also had the move through cover special rule? I'm at work waaaay up North and so don't have my book. maybe someone please read the exact wording for me. I love my beasts

_________________
There are two things that I love. Kicking ass and chewing bubble gum... And I'm allllll out of bubble gum!
Back to top Go down
kourac31
Kabalite Warrior
kourac31

Posts : 116
Join date : 2013-03-29
Location : satellite realm

Charging with mixed movement units Empty
PostSubject: Re: Charging with mixed movement units   Charging with mixed movement units I_icon_minitimeThu Sep 18 2014, 04:55

Here it is: "Beast are not slowed by difficult terrain (even when charging) and automatically pass dangerous terrain test"
Back to top Go down
colinsherlow
Hekatrix
colinsherlow

Posts : 1011
Join date : 2011-11-23
Location : Vancouver BC

Charging with mixed movement units Empty
PostSubject: Re: Charging with mixed movement units   Charging with mixed movement units I_icon_minitimeThu Sep 18 2014, 12:41

thanks Kourac.

Guess it was just the 6th ed book that also gave them move through cover as well
.

_________________
There are two things that I love. Kicking ass and chewing bubble gum... And I'm allllll out of bubble gum!
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




Charging with mixed movement units Empty
PostSubject: Re: Charging with mixed movement units   Charging with mixed movement units I_icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
Charging with mixed movement units
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: