THE DARK CITY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.



 
HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityRegisterLog in

 

 Deployement / Seize the initiative / 7th ed

Go down 
2 posters
AuthorMessage
LSK
Kabalite Warrior
LSK

Posts : 227
Join date : 2013-05-24

Deployement / Seize the initiative / 7th ed Empty
PostSubject: Deployement / Seize the initiative / 7th ed   Deployement / Seize the initiative / 7th ed I_icon_minitimeThu Aug 07 2014, 14:31

Good day all,
We have an arguement with a friend.

If you roll to deploy first, you win the roll and you let your opponent deploy first, do you have the right to seize the initiative?
I assume no, as it is written in the rulebook, but I'm not sure of the exact sequence, step by step.

1. roll for deployement, the winner may elect to deploy first or second.
2. the one who deployed first decides if he goes first or second (edit: I may be wrong on this point, I don't have my rulebook here)
3. seize the initiative, except if you let your opponent deploy first

Can someone clear this point please?

_________________
kabal-of-the-endless-labyrinth
other stuff (skaven, iron warriors, flesh tearers, orks)
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
Count Adhemar

Posts : 7568
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

Deployement / Seize the initiative / 7th ed Empty
PostSubject: Re: Deployement / Seize the initiative / 7th ed   Deployement / Seize the initiative / 7th ed I_icon_minitimeThu Aug 07 2014, 14:44

Read the rules for Seize the Intitiative. They apply to whichever player is going second, regardless of how this occurred.

_________________
Deployement / Seize the initiative / 7th ed YhBv3Wk
You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
LSK
Kabalite Warrior
LSK

Posts : 227
Join date : 2013-05-24

Deployement / Seize the initiative / 7th ed Empty
PostSubject: Re: Deployement / Seize the initiative / 7th ed   Deployement / Seize the initiative / 7th ed I_icon_minitimeThu Aug 07 2014, 15:32

OK, I found something :
If the player that deployed first decided to take first turn, their opponent can now attempt to Seize the Initiative
On the contrary, I understand: If the player that deployed first decided to take second turn, he cannot attempt to seize.

Not sure if that is correct ...

_________________
kabal-of-the-endless-labyrinth
other stuff (skaven, iron warriors, flesh tearers, orks)
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
Count Adhemar

Posts : 7568
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

Deployement / Seize the initiative / 7th ed Empty
PostSubject: Re: Deployement / Seize the initiative / 7th ed   Deployement / Seize the initiative / 7th ed I_icon_minitimeThu Aug 07 2014, 15:42

@LSK wrote:
OK, I found something :
If the player that deployed first decided to take first turn, their opponent can now attempt to Seize the Initiative
On the contrary, I understand: If the player that deployed first decided to take second turn, he cannot attempt to seize.

Not sure if that is correct ...

That's inferring something from the rules that is not actually written and that is contradicted by the rules for seizing the initiative. People are reading too much into this. Whoever goes second can attempt to seize.

_________________
Deployement / Seize the initiative / 7th ed YhBv3Wk
You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?


Last edited by Count Adhemar on Thu Aug 07 2014, 15:47; edited 2 times in total
Back to top Go down
LSK
Kabalite Warrior
LSK

Posts : 227
Join date : 2013-05-24

Deployement / Seize the initiative / 7th ed Empty
PostSubject: Re: Deployement / Seize the initiative / 7th ed   Deployement / Seize the initiative / 7th ed I_icon_minitimeThu Aug 07 2014, 15:43

OK, thanks Count. I must admit my friend has won this argument... for this time :p

_________________
kabal-of-the-endless-labyrinth
other stuff (skaven, iron warriors, flesh tearers, orks)
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
Count Adhemar

Posts : 7568
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

Deployement / Seize the initiative / 7th ed Empty
PostSubject: Re: Deployement / Seize the initiative / 7th ed   Deployement / Seize the initiative / 7th ed I_icon_minitimeThu Aug 07 2014, 15:47

Quote :
Seize the Initiative: If the player who is due to go second wishes to Seize the Initiative, he can roll a D6 before beginning the first game turn. On a roll of 6, he successfully seizes the initiative and goes first instead.

_________________
Deployement / Seize the initiative / 7th ed YhBv3Wk
You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
LSK
Kabalite Warrior
LSK

Posts : 227
Join date : 2013-05-24

Deployement / Seize the initiative / 7th ed Empty
PostSubject: Re: Deployement / Seize the initiative / 7th ed   Deployement / Seize the initiative / 7th ed I_icon_minitimeThu Aug 07 2014, 16:43

Thank you Count, I've read again and now it is crystal clear. No matter who goes second, he can roll to seize.

_________________
kabal-of-the-endless-labyrinth
other stuff (skaven, iron warriors, flesh tearers, orks)
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




Deployement / Seize the initiative / 7th ed Empty
PostSubject: Re: Deployement / Seize the initiative / 7th ed   Deployement / Seize the initiative / 7th ed I_icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
Deployement / Seize the initiative / 7th ed
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: