THE DARK CITY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.



 
HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityRegisterLog in

 

 Recent discovery that may limit the Baron's application

Go down 
AuthorMessage
BetrayTheWorld
In Exile
avatar

Posts : 2665
Join date : 2013-04-04

Recent discovery that may limit the Baron's application Empty
PostSubject: Recent discovery that may limit the Baron's application   Recent discovery that may limit the Baron's application I_icon_minitimeThu Jul 24 2014, 21:18

In the 7th ed rulebook, under jump infantry, it says:

BRB wrote:
Jump units can use their jump packs once each turn to move more swiftly in either the
Movement phase or the Assault phase. If not using its jump pack, a model moves as a normal model of its type.
Note that the entire unit must always use the same form of movement.

Does this mean that if a jump infantry model, such as the baron, is in a unit that doesn't have jump capability, that he cannot use his skyboard to move 12"?

Based on the rules as written, I'd say so, which means that he technically wouldn't be allowed to move 12" even in a beastpack, since other models in that unit can't "jump" as per the jump infantry rules. This would even apply to beastmasters. I'm fairly certain this wasn't what was intended, but it is certainly what is written.

I discovered this rule while considering putting the baron in a squad of incubi to give them an extended threat range. It would only equal to about 3 additional inches due to having to maintain unit coherency, but 3 inches can make a big difference in whether or not you succeed in a charge. Given the above rule, I wouldn't be able to do this because incubi can't "jump". But if I can't do it because incubi can't jump, then that has huge implications for beastpacks.

Thoughts TDC?
Back to top Go down
1++
Hekatrix
avatar

Posts : 1036
Join date : 2011-06-27
Location : Sydney

Recent discovery that may limit the Baron's application Empty
PostSubject: Re: Recent discovery that may limit the Baron's application   Recent discovery that may limit the Baron's application I_icon_minitimeThu Jul 24 2014, 21:34

Thus rule is referring to Jump Unit type models and it's there to disallow some using their jump move in movement and some using it in assault phase. I don't think this would apply to non Jump Units

_________________
"I'm alive from this pain!"
Back to top Go down
Unorthodoxy
Beating A Different Drummer
Unorthodoxy

Posts : 839
Join date : 2014-03-25
Location : Western Washington

Recent discovery that may limit the Baron's application Empty
PostSubject: Re: Recent discovery that may limit the Baron's application   Recent discovery that may limit the Baron's application I_icon_minitimeThu Jul 24 2014, 21:49

I think you just detach him each round from the unit and move him first, then move the beastpack...and if he's within 2" he is back in the unit. So it effectively doesnt matter since whether hes in the unit or not is determined at the end of the phase.

_________________
Hold out bait to entice the enemy. Feign disorder, and then crush him.
-Sun Tzu, the Art of War
Back to top Go down
http://www.40kunorthodoxy.blogspot.com/
BetrayTheWorld
In Exile
avatar

Posts : 2665
Join date : 2013-04-04

Recent discovery that may limit the Baron's application Empty
PostSubject: Re: Recent discovery that may limit the Baron's application   Recent discovery that may limit the Baron's application I_icon_minitimeThu Jul 24 2014, 21:52

@1++ wrote:
Thus rule is referring to Jump Unit type models and it's there to disallow some using their jump move in movement and some using it in assault phase. I don't think this would apply to non Jump Units

That's not what it says, though. I agree that I think this was an oversight, and the writing is oversimplified. That being said, rules as written wouldn't allow a model with a jump pack to use it while attached to a unit that contains models without a jump pack.

@Unorthodoxy wrote:
I think you just detach him each round from the unit and move him first, then move the beastpack...and if he's within 2" he is back in the unit. So it effectively doesnt matter since whether hes in the unit or not is determined at the end of the phase.

This would actually work, but require you to be able to move out of coherency with the character first. Also, it wouldn't work for the beastmasters themselves, as they aren't independant characters.
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
Count Adhemar

Posts : 7558
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

Recent discovery that may limit the Baron's application Empty
PostSubject: Re: Recent discovery that may limit the Baron's application   Recent discovery that may limit the Baron's application I_icon_minitimeThu Jul 24 2014, 21:59

@BetrayTheWorld wrote:
This would actually work, but require you to be able to move out of coherency with the character first. Also, it wouldn't work for the beastmasters themselves, as they aren't independant characters.

They're also not Jump Infantry so it doesn't matter (they're Beasts). I also agree that in the context of the rule that sentence relates to Jump Infantry all using their jump packs in the movement phase or in the assault phase - not mixing and matching amongst the unit.

_________________
Recent discovery that may limit the Baron's application YhBv3Wk
You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




Recent discovery that may limit the Baron's application Empty
PostSubject: Re: Recent discovery that may limit the Baron's application   Recent discovery that may limit the Baron's application I_icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
Recent discovery that may limit the Baron's application
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Drukhari Tactics
-
Jump to: