THE DARK CITY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityRegisterLog in

Using units from older codexes

Go down 
5 posters
AuthorMessage
MFive
Kabalite Warrior

Using units from older codexes Empty
PostSubject: Using units from older codexes   Using units from older codexes I_icon_minitimeSat May 31 2014, 08:14

I have an interesting question, that i suppose is a question regarding rules, so i will leave this thread here.

Why cannot we use units from previous editions of our codex's? granted, they are sometimes old and rather clunky, but i cannot find a rule that says we cannot. I ask because i want to ally with necrons and take The Nightbringer, bringing him on from the WWP, but wanted to make sure that i haven't missed a rule before i ask the guys at the club.

this could be seen as a 'dick' move (pardon my language) but I am still relatively new to the game(late 5thE) and don't understand why this is not done. any help with this?
Back to top Go down
Saintspirit
Court of Cruelty
Saintspirit

PostSubject: Re: Using units from older codexes   Using units from older codexes I_icon_minitimeSat May 31 2014, 10:54

Well, supposedly it is simply because the earlier codexes just aren't in use anymore, but the newer ones instead. When a new codex/army book has been released, the old ones end being usable for gaming. I'm not sure I can come with a better explanation than that Neutral 

Painted: 2263pts

shamroll wrote:
Dang! I was hoping Tyranids followed the Pokemon naming idea. A big Carnifex running around just yelling "Carnifex! Carni-Carnifex!" followed by a squad of termagants all saying "Termagant" to each other.
Back to top Go down
Massaen
Klaivex
Massaen

PostSubject: Re: Using units from older codexes   Using units from older codexes I_icon_minitimeSat May 31 2014, 11:00