THE DARK CITY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.



 
HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityRegisterLog in

 

 Mantle of the Laughing God

Go down 
5 posters
AuthorMessage
DEfan
Sybarite
DEfan

Posts : 261
Join date : 2013-07-19
Location : Shakesville

Mantle of the Laughing God Empty
PostSubject: Mantle of the Laughing God   Mantle of the Laughing God I_icon_minitimeSun Apr 13 2014, 11:35

I think I completely misread the rules for this relic from Codex Eldar. My thoughts were that my allied Jetseer could join my reavers in deployment, but as he lost IC status, he would be regarded as a Sergeant type character(?). I wanted all the cool stuff like Hit and Run, Stealth and Shrouded for my reavers. He could get a bit of night vision and skilled rider in return. Does this relic actually make the jetseer an unjoinabale yet near invincible force purely unto himself?
Back to top Go down
Squidmaster
Klaivex
Squidmaster

Posts : 2123
Join date : 2013-12-18
Location : Hampshire, England

Mantle of the Laughing God Empty
PostSubject: Re: Mantle of the Laughing God   Mantle of the Laughing God I_icon_minitimeSun Apr 13 2014, 12:23

If the Mantle removes the Independent Character rule, then it means he can't join units as an IC usually could and counts as an unit in his own right (though he could in theory be joined by another Independent Character).

_________________
Kabal of the Eternal NightModelling Blog
The Squidmaster DistractathonNotes on being an RPG Gamesmaster
Back to top Go down
http://www.escelionfilms.com
Silverglade
Wych
Silverglade

Posts : 521
Join date : 2012-12-30

Mantle of the Laughing God Empty
PostSubject: Re: Mantle of the Laughing God   Mantle of the Laughing God I_icon_minitimeSun Apr 13 2014, 15:14

@Squidmaster wrote:
If the Mantle removes the Independent Character rule, then it means he can't join units as an IC usually could and counts as an unit in his own right (though he could in theory be joined by another Independent Character).

Actually, couldn't be joined by another independent character. Independent characters can't join units that are purchased in a unit count of 1. (i.e. can't join monsterous creatures etc.)

but otherwise Squidmaster has it right.
Back to top Go down
tokarishi
Slave
avatar

Posts : 1
Join date : 2013-11-05

Mantle of the Laughing God Empty
PostSubject: Re: Mantle of the Laughing God   Mantle of the Laughing God I_icon_minitimeTue Apr 22 2014, 15:43

Long time lurker, rare poster.  

Since the Mantle removes "Independent Character", the Autarch cannot join anything...understood.  Does this also change the Autarch into "not a Character"?  Therefore, he cannot challenge, be challenged, or produce precision strikes?  Looking at the unit entry, I think that this is the case.  The Autarch is just left as infantry...not a character at all.

3++ had a great article on using The Solitaire where this observation occurs in the comments but no one ever directly answered or addressed it.

So is a model with the Mantle no longer a character because he is no longer an independent character, losing all the benefits/problems therein?
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
Count Adhemar

Posts : 7568
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

Mantle of the Laughing God Empty
PostSubject: Re: Mantle of the Laughing God   Mantle of the Laughing God I_icon_minitimeTue Apr 22 2014, 20:18

The Autarch's unit type is Infantry (Character) and he has the Independent Character special rule. The Mantle removes the IC rule but he remains In (Ch) and can therefore challenge, be challenged etc.

_________________
Mantle of the Laughing God YhBv3Wk
You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




Mantle of the Laughing God Empty
PostSubject: Re: Mantle of the Laughing God   Mantle of the Laughing God I_icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
Mantle of the Laughing God
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: