THE DARK CITY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.



 
HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityRegisterLog in

 

 Baron's "Master of the skies"

Go down 
+4
Count Adhemar
Laughingcarp
Senllus
colinsherlow
8 posters
AuthorMessage
colinsherlow
Hekatrix
colinsherlow

Posts : 1011
Join date : 2011-11-23
Location : Vancouver BC

Baron's "Master of the skies" Empty
PostSubject: Baron's "Master of the skies"   Baron's "Master of the skies" I_icon_minitimeThu Mar 13 2014, 00:33

question about the Baron and his (master of the skies) Hit and Run.

The rule says that The Baron and any unit of hellions he joins may re-roll failed dangerous terrain tests. ALSO, when using their Hit and Run rule, they can re-roll both the initiative test and the dice to determine how far they move.

I am assuming that this mean that the Baron can re-roll his Ini test and distance with the beast unit as well right? I have never actually done this with the pack because I assumed this rule only works if the Baron is part of a hellion unit. But reading the rules more closely is seems the Baron can do this with any unit he joins (the re-roll ini and distance). Is this correct?

_________________
There are two things that I love. Kicking ass and chewing bubble gum... And I'm allllll out of bubble gum!
Back to top Go down
Senllus
Slave
Senllus

Posts : 7
Join date : 2013-04-22
Location : FL

Baron's "Master of the skies" Empty
PostSubject: Re: Baron's "Master of the skies"   Baron's "Master of the skies" I_icon_minitimeThu Mar 13 2014, 01:16

"Sathonyx and any unit of Hellions he joins [...] they can re-roll both the [...]" -

The key word here is they, and given the context of the rule, the only they it can be referring to is "Sathonyx and any unit of Hellions he joins"- that grouping is only one mentioned therefore it must be they.  

If it was a rule that could be applied to other unit types it would be phrased more like it is in Twilight Shroud: "The twilight shroud confers the Stealth rule to Sathonyx and his unit".  In this example "Sathonyx and his unit" is entirely non specific, both in and out of context, while in Master of the Skies "they" could mean anything out of context, however in context it's clear that the Hellions are the point of reference.

That's how I see it, anyways.


Last edited by Senllus on Thu Mar 13 2014, 20:43; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
Laughingcarp
Wych
Laughingcarp

Posts : 562
Join date : 2013-09-03
Location : The insane asylum of the universe

Baron's "Master of the skies" Empty
PostSubject: Re: Baron's "Master of the skies"   Baron's "Master of the skies" I_icon_minitimeThu Mar 13 2014, 05:25

Way I read it is the Baron always gets the ability, but can only share it with hellions.

_________________
I dedicate these deaths to Odin Allfather, Spearshaker, One Eye.
Fleet Shadowmaker - Kabal of the Dying Sun; Cult of Marrow Excised; Coven of Lambent Hunger
Sons of the Last Breath - Chaos Space Marines
Host of Shattered Purity - Chaos Daemons
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
Count Adhemar

Posts : 7568
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

Baron's "Master of the skies" Empty
PostSubject: Re: Baron's "Master of the skies"   Baron's "Master of the skies" I_icon_minitimeThu Mar 13 2014, 09:20

@Laughingcarp wrote:
Way I read it is the Baron always gets the ability, but can only share it with hellions.

That's how I see it too.

_________________
Baron's "Master of the skies" YhBv3Wk
You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Elzadar
Sybarite
Elzadar

Posts : 273
Join date : 2012-09-11

Baron's "Master of the skies" Empty
PostSubject: Re: Baron's "Master of the skies"   Baron's "Master of the skies" I_icon_minitimeThu Mar 13 2014, 13:08

@Senllus wrote:
"Sathonyx and any unit of Hellions he joins.


So Santhonyx and the Hellions unit he joins can use this rule. So Santhonyx could use it by himself.

_________________
Kabal of the Forsaken Masquerade
Coven of the Flayed Man
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
Count Adhemar

Posts : 7568
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

Baron's "Master of the skies" Empty
PostSubject: Re: Baron's "Master of the skies"   Baron's "Master of the skies" I_icon_minitimeThu Mar 13 2014, 14:08

@Elzadar wrote:
@Senllus wrote:
"Sathonyx and any unit of Hellions he joins.


So Santhonyx and the Hellions unit he joins can use this rule. So Santhonyx could use it by himself.

Yes. He has the ability but can only share it with Hellions. It would not confer to a unit of, say, Beastmasters. Hit & Run itself does confer though as it only requires one model to have it.

_________________
Baron's "Master of the skies" YhBv3Wk
You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
MurDok
Kabalite Warrior
MurDok

Posts : 220
Join date : 2013-07-24

Baron's "Master of the skies" Empty
PostSubject: Re: Baron's "Master of the skies"   Baron's "Master of the skies" I_icon_minitimeFri Mar 14 2014, 19:47

That would be kinda epic if he could confer it to the beasties too. I've started calling Baron and beastmaster units "The Galacticus Unit" cause they nom nom everything they touch lol.

_________________
~Current Armies~
Deldar
Eldar
Adeptus Mechanicus - Taghmata Omnissiah & Legio Cybernetica
Back to top Go down
Brom
Wych
avatar

Posts : 755
Join date : 2013-03-28

Baron's "Master of the skies" Empty
PostSubject: Re: Baron's "Master of the skies"   Baron's "Master of the skies" I_icon_minitimeMon Mar 31 2014, 23:48

@colinsherlow wrote:
question about the Baron and his (master of the skies) Hit and Run.

The rule says that The Baron and any unit of hellions he joins may re-roll failed dangerous terrain tests. ALSO, when using their Hit and Run rule, they can re-roll both the initiative test and the dice to determine how far they move.

I am assuming that this mean that the Baron can re-roll his Ini test and distance with the beast unit as well right? I have never actually done this with the pack because I assumed this rule only works if the Baron is part of a hellion unit. But reading the rules more closely is seems the Baron can do this with any unit he joins (the re-roll ini and distance). Is this correct?
I havent tried this yet either but the issue may come down to the mechanic of each individual USR. To elaborate dangerous terrain tests are by the model so obviously these cannot be rerolled except for hellions as stated. However Hit and Run and run distance are both a single test for the entire unit so these two might be easier to argue. Not that baron needs any more buffs to carry over with him..
Back to top Go down
Panic_Puppet
Wych
avatar

Posts : 506
Join date : 2012-12-30

Baron's "Master of the skies" Empty
PostSubject: Re: Baron's "Master of the skies"   Baron's "Master of the skies" I_icon_minitimeSun Apr 06 2014, 10:33

How I always read it and felt it was intended to work is that you get hit and run with whichever unit the Baron joins, but only get the stated re-rolls if he's with hellions specifically.

_________________
Baron's "Master of the skies" TDxlYzL
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




Baron's "Master of the skies" Empty
PostSubject: Re: Baron's "Master of the skies"   Baron's "Master of the skies" I_icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
Baron's "Master of the skies"
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: