I wouldn't normally consider a CoM anyway, but a friend's putting together a psyker-heavy CSM list. I'm normally the most outspoken against pre-measuring, but with CoM it wouldn't be so bad.
Question is, am I allowed?
Just to refresh, codex says:
"Once per game, in the Shooting face, a model with a Crucible of Malediction may choose to open it instead of firing. Every psyker within 3D6" of the bearer must pass a Leadership test or be removed from play"
That to me suggests you can not pre-measure, but then again so do all of the shooting rules except where it says "you can pre-measure" (seethe).
Reckon? Can you pre-measure for distance but then have to roll the dice after declaring you're opening the crucible? Can you measure AND roll before deciding? Pre-measuring is so damn stupid.