THE DARK CITY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.



 
HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityRegisterLog in

 

 Multi-charging

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Lord Anastari
Slave
Lord Anastari

Posts : 1
Join date : 2013-12-30

Multi-charging Empty
PostSubject: Multi-charging   Multi-charging I_icon_minitimeMon Dec 30 2013, 03:50

If a unit assaults multiple units, gets into base contact with the primary target but doesn't get into base contact with the secondary, is the secondary target technically part of the combat and must make an attempt to pile into the combat at its initiative step or does it count as a failed charged to the secondary target?
Back to top Go down
Dakkon
Slave
Dakkon

Posts : 16
Join date : 2013-12-01
Location : Hong Kong

Multi-charging Empty
PostSubject: Re: Multi-charging   Multi-charging I_icon_minitimeMon Dec 30 2013, 06:13

I vote for a failed charge for secondary target. Don't have rulebook with me right now though but in order to have a successful assault, units must have at least 1 model in base contact. Since multi-charge rules include basic assault rules I'd assume this is the case.
Back to top Go down
Vasara
Incognito assault marine
Vasara

Posts : 1160
Join date : 2012-08-22
Location : Vantaa

Multi-charging Empty
PostSubject: Re: Multi-charging   Multi-charging I_icon_minitimeMon Dec 30 2013, 07:03

The secondary unit is not locked in combat. Allthough it gets to shoot over watch and the charger doesn't get chargeing bonus to attacks due to a disorientaded charge.

_________________
New Dark Eldar in Tournaments: Wins: 17 Draws: 2 Losses: 8
ETC 2013 DE/Eldar player (4th)
ETC 2014 Coach (16th)
ETC 2015 Captain, Eldar/DE (10th)
Painting blog
Back to top Go down
commandersasha
Sybarite
commandersasha

Posts : 407
Join date : 2012-12-26
Location : Wimbledon, London

Multi-charging Empty
PostSubject: Re: Multi-charging   Multi-charging I_icon_minitimeMon Dec 30 2013, 10:41

You declare a disordered charge when declaring charges, so even if the second target does not get reached, you still lose your charge bonus, and they still get to overwatch. Of that I am certain.

On the other point, I am now confused: if the second unit is not reached during the charge, are they in combat or not? Come to think of it, in a normal combat, are they?

Usually, if you fail your charge, you end up more than 3" away, but what if you were 2.5" away, declared a charge, and rolled double 1s? You have definitely failed the charge, but can you now make the 3" Pile In move at Initiative? I have just thoroughly re-read the rules on page 21-22, and although in this case the charge has definitely failed, it does not say that the combat has.

Obviously, this has changed from 5th, as a failed charge in 5th would not then have had the immediate Pile-In move, but now that Pile-In in 6th is done at the Initiative step, I think it still happens!
The key paragraph is page 22, column 2, paragraph 2:
Quote :
If the initial charger is found to be further than its charge range...the charge fails and no models are moved
I'm reading that as the charge fails, but not the assault!?

Am I going crazy...? I remember at least once rolling snake eyes and failing a very short assault; did we play it wrong?!
Back to top Go down
The Red King
Hekatrix
The Red King

Posts : 1239
Join date : 2013-07-09

Multi-charging Empty
PostSubject: Re: Multi-charging   Multi-charging I_icon_minitimeMon Dec 30 2013, 14:31

The charge is required in order for the combat to "be". So the models will not make a pile in at initiative step because there is no combat for them to pile into.

Charge failed, combat didn't happen, no need to move onto further combat only rules. That would be like a gun missing and then you roll an armor save to see if you take a wound. ...

Sorry if that sounds condescending.

_________________
For Khaela Mensha Khaine!
Back to top Go down
commandersasha
Sybarite
commandersasha

Posts : 407
Join date : 2012-12-26
Location : Wimbledon, London

Multi-charging Empty
PostSubject: Re: Multi-charging   Multi-charging I_icon_minitimeTue Dec 31 2013, 01:18

Don't get me wrong: I am not trying to suggest an assault SHOULD continue after the initial charge falls short, but I was struggling to PROVE it, in this case, by RAW.

The charge failed...but only after Overwatch has been resolved. As such, the Assault has definitely started.
After wrangling with it with a few friends today, we pinned it down: P23, first column, "Who can fight": this is the point that one of the models from a unit must be in base contact in order to qualify for being engaged, and allowing the other models at that initiative to pile in.

So, back to the original question: in a disordered charge. if the second enemy unit is not reached, that unit may NOT Pile In to engage, even though they WERE allowed to fire overwatch.
Back to top Go down
Dakkon
Slave
Dakkon

Posts : 16
Join date : 2013-12-01
Location : Hong Kong

Multi-charging Empty
PostSubject: Re: Multi-charging   Multi-charging I_icon_minitimeTue Dec 31 2013, 03:44

Maybe BRB p23 (bottom right, "Who Can Fight?") can help.
Quote :
Units that have one or more models in base contact with enemies are locked in combat

Pile in moves only happen when units are locked in combat.

Upon ending the charge sub-phase, if there are no models in base contact with secondary target, they are not locked in combat, hence no pile in moves and "Fight Sub-phase" does not apply to secondary target.

If that's not enough and not written clearly in the rulebook, then of course you can result to "The Most Important Rule" on page 4, to devise something sensible and logical =)
Back to top Go down
Shadows Revenge
Hierarch of Tactica
Shadows Revenge

Posts : 2587
Join date : 2011-08-10
Location : Bmore

Multi-charging Empty
PostSubject: Re: Multi-charging   Multi-charging I_icon_minitimeThu Jan 02 2014, 16:57

yes, the secondary target is not locked in combat. Dakkon (awesome name btw, play magic much???) Is spot on.

_________________
Status:
Usurping Kabal leadership for his Patriarch

Current List:
First 2k GSC List
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




Multi-charging Empty
PostSubject: Re: Multi-charging   Multi-charging I_icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
Multi-charging
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: