Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityRegisterLog in



Go down 
5 posters

Posts : 66
Join date : 2011-06-17
Location : Birmingham, AL

Agoniser?? Empty
PostSubject: Agoniser??   Agoniser?? I_icon_minitimeThu Dec 19 2013, 00:11

I'm not near a rulebook at the moment, but I do have access to my codex. I like to re-read weapon entries on occasion and see if I've missed something. I just came across this, and didn't know if it's addressed specifically in the codex or not since it's not really something that comes up often as a DE player, and wasn't sure how it would be handled. Again, I don't have my rulebook with me or I would look it up.... so this may just be a brain fart question.

The agoniser entry reads, "Though agonisers come in a variety of forms, the most common are whips or barbed flails. Agonisers are power weapons that always wound on a 4+, regardless of the enemy's Toughness."

So the agoniser can take many forms, is a power weapon, and the only change is specifying what number it rolls to wound. So, can the agoniser be modeled as an axe, or spear, and be used as such? i don't even know if I would want to, b/c I can't remember what those rules were, just if it's even possible.


Back to top Go down

Posts : 1036
Join date : 2011-06-27
Location : Sydney

Agoniser?? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Agoniser??   Agoniser?? I_icon_minitimeThu Dec 19 2013, 01:45

No, it is classed as a power weapon with unique rules (wounds on a 4+) and is therefore only AP3. U can model it whatever you want really, but you cannot benefit from say AP2 because you've made it an Axe. Its in-game rule stands

"I'm alive from this pain!"
Back to top Go down

Posts : 562
Join date : 2013-09-03
Location : The insane asylum of the universe

Agoniser?? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Agoniser??   Agoniser?? I_icon_minitimeFri Dec 20 2013, 09:11

I believe the GW errata rewords it as "AP 3" instead of saying "power weapon".

I dedicate these deaths to Odin Allfather, Spearshaker, One Eye.
Fleet Shadowmaker - Kabal of the Dying Sun; Cult of Marrow Excised; Coven of Lambent Hunger
Sons of the Last Breath - Chaos Space Marines
Host of Shattered Purity - Chaos Daemons
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
Count Adhemar

Posts : 7568
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

Agoniser?? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Agoniser??   Agoniser?? I_icon_minitimeFri Dec 20 2013, 09:28

No mention in the FAQ about Agoniser stats but 1++ is correct. It's an unusual power weapon so it's always AP3.

Agoniser?? YhBv3Wk
You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Court of Cruelty

Posts : 1002
Join date : 2011-05-19
Location : Sweden

Agoniser?? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Agoniser??   Agoniser?? I_icon_minitimeFri Dec 20 2013, 11:52

That is correct, it's written at the Melee Weapons part of the Rulebook (look at the Unusual Power Weapons part of Power Weapons).

Kabal of the Shadow Phoenix - Background
Kabal of the Shadow Phoenix - Painting Blog
Modelled: 2753 pts
Painted: 2263pts

shamroll wrote:
Dang! I was hoping Tyranids followed the Pokemon naming idea. A big Carnifex running around just yelling "Carnifex! Carni-Carnifex!" followed by a squad of termagants all saying "Termagant" to each other.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content

Agoniser?? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Agoniser??   Agoniser?? I_icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum


 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
Jump to: