THE DARK CITY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.



 
HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityRegisterLog in

 

 Ignore cover and shred

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
Scorpion
Master of Mandrakes
avatar

Posts : 254
Join date : 2012-07-31

Ignore cover and shred Empty
PostSubject: Ignore cover and shred   Ignore cover and shred I_icon_minitimeSat Nov 16 2013, 20:26

So, a friends of mine says ( and it's true) that in the book, the rule "ignore cover" only mentions wounds and not armour penetrations.... And so does "shred" ... How are you plaing with those two rules? Are you allowing the rules to cover armour penetrations as well? The reason I ask is that in "death from the skies" it States that the shatterfield missile gains the " shred " rule. Now, if that missile got to re-roll penetrating rolls then it might be worthy taking...
Back to top Go down
Panic_Puppet
Wych
avatar

Posts : 506
Join date : 2012-12-30

Ignore cover and shred Empty
PostSubject: Re: Ignore cover and shred   Ignore cover and shred I_icon_minitimeSat Nov 16 2013, 21:17

Vehicles get cover saves as they take them as a non-vehicle model would against a wound (don't have the exact page reference to hand, but that's pretty much what the rule says), so you have to match the two rules together. i.e. Vehicles take cover saves from glance/penetrate results in the same fashion as an infantry model had said infantry model suffered a wound.

Shred is simply re-roll failed to wound rolls, so wouldn't have any effect against a non-vehicle model as there's a difference in rules classification between "to wound" rolls and "armour penetration" rolls. Since shatterfield missiles had a re-roll to wound effect before it was given a name in the rulebook, they've just amended it in DFTS with the equivalent USR, it makes no active change whatsoever.

_________________
Ignore cover and shred TDxlYzL
Back to top Go down
Thor665
Archon
Thor665

Posts : 5526
Join date : 2011-06-10
Location : Venice, FL

Ignore cover and shred Empty
PostSubject: Re: Ignore cover and shred   Ignore cover and shred I_icon_minitimeSat Nov 16 2013, 21:26

Shred does not work on vehicles because it applies to wounds, if it allowed re-rolls of armor penetration then it would say so.

Ignores Cover *does* work on vehicles because of the ruling on pg. 75. The basic gist of the rule being that vehicles get to take cover saves *exactly* like a model that had taken a wound, and at that point ignores cover would trigger, disallowing the cover save.

Make sense?

Edit: well, at least I'll provide the page number Wink

_________________
Ignore cover and shred K93hWhs
Ignore cover and shred L1RsnGX
The Title Troupe! - Nom fellow posters for custom titles.
Back to top Go down
Scorpion
Master of Mandrakes
avatar

Posts : 254
Join date : 2012-07-31

Ignore cover and shred Empty
PostSubject: Re: Ignore cover and shred   Ignore cover and shred I_icon_minitimeSun Nov 17 2013, 08:13

Well, thank you for the clarifications. Perfect!
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




Ignore cover and shred Empty
PostSubject: Re: Ignore cover and shred   Ignore cover and shred I_icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
Ignore cover and shred
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: