THE DARK CITY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.



 
HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityRegisterLog in

 

 2+ coversave in ruins with a base

Go down 
+11
doomseer11b
Tiri Rana
Vasara
DominicJ
Obyiscus
facelessabsalom
Timatron
Shadows Revenge
Mushkilla
Count Adhemar
tlronin
15 posters
Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3
AuthorMessage
Warptime
Slave
Warptime

Posts : 11
Join date : 2013-11-10
Location : Bath

2+ coversave in ruins with a base - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: 2+ coversave in ruins with a base   2+ coversave in ruins with a base - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeSun Nov 10 2013, 17:55

Gah, always turning up late to interesting discussions. Here are my thoughts, for what it's worth.

GW intend for you to play using their stuff for the most part, so it's arranged around that with a little thought given to other cases.

The buildings and ruins they sell and display in the rulebook don't have bases, or anything like area terrain incorporated into them.

To them, area terrain is generally something different, like areas of forest or rubble, or marshes. In any case it's a different piece of terrain.

Then going to the terrain set up rules, the way they suggest has the rule that terrain can't be within 3 inches of another piece. This is more than you'd think and means that rarely will you be in a situation where you'll be A) In area terrain, behind ruins AND B) In a good position to be offensive from this position.

Basically, ruins on bases aren't intended in the rules, which is odd.

_________________
"What raises us above the Villainous forces of the other races is one simple thing. Showmanship."
-Archon H'chark
Back to top Go down
Mushkilla
Arena Champion
Mushkilla

Posts : 4017
Join date : 2012-07-16
Location : Toroid Arena

2+ coversave in ruins with a base - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: 2+ coversave in ruins with a base   2+ coversave in ruins with a base - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeSun Nov 10 2013, 18:34

@Warptime wrote:

Basically, ruins on bases aren't intended in the rules, which is odd.
Then why is there a section in the rules titled "Ruins With Bases" on page 98 of the rule book? Wink

_________________
Latest Report: BR4: The Repugnant Ramblers Vs Imperial Knights - 1250pts
Pragmatic Realspace Raider Series


“Even the Black Buzzards thought highly of him, and those maniacs were renowned for hating everyone.” - Tantalus, by Braden Campbell
Back to top Go down
Warptime
Slave
Warptime

Posts : 11
Join date : 2013-11-10
Location : Bath

2+ coversave in ruins with a base - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: 2+ coversave in ruins with a base   2+ coversave in ruins with a base - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeSun Nov 10 2013, 19:42

I should read ALL the pages before saying anything. Razz

It is however the best argument I have for this.

_________________
"What raises us above the Villainous forces of the other races is one simple thing. Showmanship."
-Archon H'chark
Back to top Go down
Mushkilla
Arena Champion
Mushkilla

Posts : 4017
Join date : 2012-07-16
Location : Toroid Arena

2+ coversave in ruins with a base - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: 2+ coversave in ruins with a base   2+ coversave in ruins with a base - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeSun Nov 10 2013, 20:08

Yeah in general I think GW not play testing enough and not thinking outside the box in terms of the application of some of their rules is a good argument. Remember when you could look out sir to any model within 6"?

_________________
Latest Report: BR4: The Repugnant Ramblers Vs Imperial Knights - 1250pts
Pragmatic Realspace Raider Series


“Even the Black Buzzards thought highly of him, and those maniacs were renowned for hating everyone.” - Tantalus, by Braden Campbell
Back to top Go down
Warptime
Slave
Warptime

Posts : 11
Join date : 2013-11-10
Location : Bath

2+ coversave in ruins with a base - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: 2+ coversave in ruins with a base   2+ coversave in ruins with a base - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeSun Nov 10 2013, 21:38

Thing is that this has been going around for ages, and it's not like GW don't scour the web.

All it takes is one FAQ and it's all over.

_________________
"What raises us above the Villainous forces of the other races is one simple thing. Showmanship."
-Archon H'chark
Back to top Go down
Shadows Revenge
Hierarch of Tactica
Shadows Revenge

Posts : 2587
Join date : 2011-08-10
Location : Bmore

2+ coversave in ruins with a base - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: 2+ coversave in ruins with a base   2+ coversave in ruins with a base - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeWed Nov 13 2013, 14:06

now when has GW FAQed anything worth needing an FAQ Very Happy

_________________
Status:
Usurping Kabal leadership for his Patriarch

Current List:
First 2k GSC List
Back to top Go down
DEfan
Sybarite
DEfan

Posts : 261
Join date : 2013-07-19
Location : Shakesville

2+ coversave in ruins with a base - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: 2+ coversave in ruins with a base   2+ coversave in ruins with a base - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeThu Nov 14 2013, 07:02

I get FAQed all the time by their price rises...

_________________
Kia Kaha, Dark Eldar players!
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




2+ coversave in ruins with a base - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: 2+ coversave in ruins with a base   2+ coversave in ruins with a base - Page 3 I_icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
2+ coversave in ruins with a base
Back to top 
Page 3 of 3Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: