Posts : 500
Join date : 2012-08-04
|Subject: characters and pain tokens and demons Thu Aug 22 2013, 23:16|| |
I did a search, but didn't find a relevant thread... please let me know if I missed one.
In a game tonight, I was in the position of not knowing how many pin tokens to get for destroying a squad in close combat. My opponent had 9 demons and an IC. The demons were destroyed to the man with close combat attacks. The IC died in the subsequent demonic instability roll. I'm not familiar with the rule, so I'm not sure if it is impacted by other circumstances.
The IC joined the squad and cant be singled out. It doesn't look like our FAQ mentions the situation. So do we just get one pain token for destroying one unit? Or does the IC somehow still count as a unit for pain tokens?
And separately, if the unit is destroyed tithe man and the IC still lives, does that count as a new unit? That part came up for instability. Did the -9 apply to the IC?
Any help is appreciated. And please let me know if I missed a similar thread.
Posts : 149
Join date : 2013-08-06
|Subject: Re: characters and pain tokens and demons Thu Aug 22 2013, 23:42|| |
ICs count as a separate unit and grant their own Pain Tokens. In the FAQ portion of the FAQ/Errata, the first question tells you that you get a Pain Token no matter how he was killed and the sixth question tells you that you get a separate Pain Token for the IC even if he was with a unit.
Dark Lord of Granbretan
Posts : 7568
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London
|Subject: Re: characters and pain tokens and demons Fri Aug 23 2013, 01:06|| |
- @Myrvn wrote:
- And separately, if the unit is destroyed tithe man and the IC still lives, does that count as a new unit? That part came up for instability. Did the -9 apply to the IC?
The IC does not count as a separate unit until the start of the next phase so he would suffer any wounds required by the instability test.
- BRB, Pg39 wrote:
- An Independent Character cannot leave a unit while either he or the unit is locked in combat, falling back or has gone to ground. He cannot join a unit that is locked in combat or falling back. If an Independent Character joins a unit, and all other models in that unit are killed, he again becomes a unit of one model at the start of the following phase.
_________________You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Posts : 500
Join date : 2012-08-04
|Subject: Re: characters and pain tokens and demons Fri Aug 23 2013, 06:22|| |
Thank you both much. Somehow I knew this was going to be simple... But I could not find the answer last night....
Posts : 57
Join date : 2013-07-19
Location : A house
|Subject: Re: characters and pain tokens and demons Fri Aug 23 2013, 09:54|| |
When in doubt and unable to answer, do the following:
Take a D6 and confirm with your opponent that he is willing to try this out. On a roll of...
1-3: Outcome is in your favor (e.g. you get both pain tokens)
4-6: Outcome is in your opponent's favor (e.g. you only get one pain token)
I personally prefer the lower numbers BUT... it doesn't matter.
It's a very impartial way of resolving rules lawyering on the spot and when no one can figure out these quirky things. Can't argue with probability.
Posts : 662
Join date : 2013-01-23
|Subject: Re: characters and pain tokens and demons || |