THE DARK CITY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.



 
HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityRegisterLog in

 

 Sliscus, the serpent's Venom + joining/leaving unit + transports

Go down 
AuthorMessage
LSK
Kabalite Warrior
LSK

Posts : 227
Join date : 2013-05-24

Sliscus, the serpent's Venom + joining/leaving unit + transports Empty
PostSubject: Sliscus, the serpent's Venom + joining/leaving unit + transports   Sliscus, the serpent's Venom + joining/leaving unit + transports I_icon_minitimeWed Jul 31 2013, 01:01

I was thinking about how to optimize the use of Sliscus in my current list.

Can I do the following? :

IC : Duke Sliscus
Unit #1: Raider, 10 kabalite warriors (9 splinter rifles + 1 splinter canon) - full transport capacity
Unit #2: Raider, 8 wyches + 1 succubus - enough space for one more model (i.e. sliscus)


1) At the beginngg of the game, Sliscus is deployed with the kabalite warriors giving them the 3+ poison wound, all OUTSIDE of the Raider (dedicated transport), but within 2" of their transport.
2) As he is an independent character, Sliscus leaves unit #1, signs on the wyches' transport and joins unit #2, leaving the 3+ wound ongoing effect on the kabalites, but now able to go CC with the wyches.
3) Then the kabalites embark in their dedicated transport.

Questions:
- Does a unit with a dedicated transport have to begin the game within its transport? If yes, problem solved, the above proposition can't be. If no, is it legit to deploy Sliscus with a "disembarked troop".
- Can the raiders move after all these sneaky maneuvers? it is stated that when an IC joins a unit, this unit can move no further this turn (i.e. the wyches), but the vehicule is considered a separate unit, so?


PS: This is even better when the splintermind drug is rolled, Sliscus can leave his pain token (FNP) to the kabalites before joining the wyches.

_________________
kabal-of-the-endless-labyrinth
other stuff (skaven, iron warriors, flesh tearers, orks)
Back to top Go down
Thor665
Archon
Thor665

Posts : 5526
Join date : 2011-06-10
Location : Venice, FL

Sliscus, the serpent's Venom + joining/leaving unit + transports Empty
PostSubject: Re: Sliscus, the serpent's Venom + joining/leaving unit + transports   Sliscus, the serpent's Venom + joining/leaving unit + transports I_icon_minitimeWed Jul 31 2013, 02:21

@LSK wrote:
Questions:
- Does a unit with a dedicated transport have to begin the game within its transport? If yes, problem solved, the above proposition can't be. If no, is it legit to deploy Sliscus with a "disembarked troop".
- Can the raiders move after all these sneaky maneuvers? it is stated that when an IC joins a unit, this unit can move no further this turn (i.e. the wyches), but the vehicule is considered a separate unit, so?
1. Yes, a unit can start ouside of its dedicated transport (the only restriction is that no unit that isn't the dedicated unit [or any ICs joined to said unit] can *start* the game embarked.

Also, yes, Sliscus can easily start disembarked with the Warriors.

2. Yes, both Raider units can still move.

(page 78 and 79 in the BRB cover this and the previous point pretty well)

_________________
Sliscus, the serpent's Venom + joining/leaving unit + transports K93hWhs
Sliscus, the serpent's Venom + joining/leaving unit + transports L1RsnGX
The Title Troupe! - Nom fellow posters for custom titles.
Back to top Go down
LSK
Kabalite Warrior
LSK

Posts : 227
Join date : 2013-05-24

Sliscus, the serpent's Venom + joining/leaving unit + transports Empty
PostSubject: Re: Sliscus, the serpent's Venom + joining/leaving unit + transports   Sliscus, the serpent's Venom + joining/leaving unit + transports I_icon_minitimeWed Jul 31 2013, 09:49

Thank you Thor.

I previously read p 78-79 about transports, and the IC chapter in special rules as well, and I didn't found anything saying me that I was wrong.
I'd rather ask here (because of the multiple errata, interpretations, United Nations regulations, and Geneva convention) to make sure I can do this legally before my mates react like rabbits hypnotized by train flashlights.

_________________
kabal-of-the-endless-labyrinth
other stuff (skaven, iron warriors, flesh tearers, orks)
Back to top Go down
psych0Mantis
Slave
avatar

Posts : 4
Join date : 2013-07-30

Sliscus, the serpent's Venom + joining/leaving unit + transports Empty
PostSubject: Re: Sliscus, the serpent's Venom + joining/leaving unit + transports   Sliscus, the serpent's Venom + joining/leaving unit + transports I_icon_minitimeWed Jul 31 2013, 13:36

You can refer any doubters to page 121 of the BRB, under Deploying Transport Vehicles.
Back to top Go down
LSK
Kabalite Warrior
LSK

Posts : 227
Join date : 2013-05-24

Sliscus, the serpent's Venom + joining/leaving unit + transports Empty
PostSubject: Re: Sliscus, the serpent's Venom + joining/leaving unit + transports   Sliscus, the serpent's Venom + joining/leaving unit + transports I_icon_minitimeFri Aug 02 2013, 19:09

REALSPACE FEEDBACK: very bad idea I had trying this against IG ... he got 1st turn, orbital strike right between the two raiders + sentinels laser shots. I let you imagine the result. One vehicule exploded, the other one was wrecked.
Benefit: null - Costs: huge
Never, never, never pack vehicules against IG.... that's what I learnt from this  Neutral

_________________
kabal-of-the-endless-labyrinth
other stuff (skaven, iron warriors, flesh tearers, orks)
Back to top Go down
Archon_Demetrious
Kabalite Warrior
Archon_Demetrious

Posts : 114
Join date : 2013-04-28

Sliscus, the serpent's Venom + joining/leaving unit + transports Empty
PostSubject: Re: Sliscus, the serpent's Venom + joining/leaving unit + transports   Sliscus, the serpent's Venom + joining/leaving unit + transports I_icon_minitimeSat Aug 03 2013, 19:36

Lol IG is always the anti- us if you go first (even if he wants to seize remember he can roll a 6) never pack you vehicles together or at least 10in apart. The fact they don't need line of sight (even if it is nightfighting) they can always shoot any of our vehicles in cover. even putting things in reserves is a bad idea (unless it's our beloved ravagers) barrage weapons are a nightmare to face so target priority is a most!!
Back to top Go down
Kheru'gal
Slave
Kheru'gal

Posts : 13
Join date : 2013-10-30
Location : Small Webway pocket in the Pacific Northwest

Sliscus, the serpent's Venom + joining/leaving unit + transports Empty
PostSubject: Re: Sliscus, the serpent's Venom + joining/leaving unit + transports   Sliscus, the serpent's Venom + joining/leaving unit + transports I_icon_minitimeThu Oct 31 2013, 00:44

A bit of necromancy but I wanted some clarification. So even after the duke leaves the warrior squad they maintain the 3+ poison?
Back to top Go down
Dark_Kindred
Kabalite Warrior
Dark_Kindred

Posts : 207
Join date : 2012-12-30

Sliscus, the serpent's Venom + joining/leaving unit + transports Empty
PostSubject: Re: Sliscus, the serpent's Venom + joining/leaving unit + transports   Sliscus, the serpent's Venom + joining/leaving unit + transports I_icon_minitimeThu Oct 31 2013, 02:00

@Kheru'gal wrote:
A bit of necromancy but I wanted some clarification. So even after the duke leaves the warrior squad they maintain the 3+ poison?
Yes.

_________________
What do you despise? By this are you truly known.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




Sliscus, the serpent's Venom + joining/leaving unit + transports Empty
PostSubject: Re: Sliscus, the serpent's Venom + joining/leaving unit + transports   Sliscus, the serpent's Venom + joining/leaving unit + transports I_icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
Sliscus, the serpent's Venom + joining/leaving unit + transports
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Drukhari Tactics
-
Jump to: