THE DARK CITY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.



 
HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityRegisterLog in

 

 Mantle of the Laughing God... Possible to build an IC only deathstar?

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Balisong
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 324
Join date : 2012-09-05

Mantle of the Laughing God... Possible to build an IC only deathstar? Empty
PostSubject: Mantle of the Laughing God... Possible to build an IC only deathstar?   Mantle of the Laughing God... Possible to build an IC only deathstar? I_icon_minitimeMon Jul 29 2013, 21:27

The Mantle of the laughing God removes the Independent Character rule from characters equipped with it. This turns them into either Infantry or an Eldar Jetbike. Since both of these Unit classifications are fielded with multiple models typically and can be joined by ICs, does this mean that the unit with the mantle could theoretically be joined by other ICs?

For example I believe the Riptide (a MC) can be joined by an IC as it is typically fielded with Drones.
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
Count Adhemar

Posts : 7568
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

Mantle of the Laughing God... Possible to build an IC only deathstar? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Mantle of the Laughing God... Possible to build an IC only deathstar?   Mantle of the Laughing God... Possible to build an IC only deathstar? I_icon_minitimeMon Jul 29 2013, 23:29

It doesn't really matter what the unit type of the Mantle-wearer becomes. The ability to join other units belongs to IC's and that section specifically says (emphasis mine)

BRB Pg39 wrote:
Independent Characters can join other units. They cannot, however, join vehicle squadrons (see page 77) or units that always consist of a single model (such as most vehicles and Monstrous Creatures)

_________________
Mantle of the Laughing God... Possible to build an IC only deathstar? YhBv3Wk
You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Timatron
Sybarite
Timatron

Posts : 443
Join date : 2013-03-12
Location : Brighton

Mantle of the Laughing God... Possible to build an IC only deathstar? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Mantle of the Laughing God... Possible to build an IC only deathstar?   Mantle of the Laughing God... Possible to build an IC only deathstar? I_icon_minitimeTue Jul 30 2013, 16:31

I think no, you can't join IC's to them. This is why: there is a difference between,say, Eldar Jetbike and Windriders. It says, as I believe the Count's quote is exact, units as opposed to unit types. Eldar Jetbike, or Infantry for that matter, are unit types,not units. Windriders, Guardians etc, these are units. A model who has had the independent character rule removed is a unit that always consists of a single model. So no, you can't join IC's to them. This is RAI and RAW.
Back to top Go down
Vasara
Incognito assault marine
Vasara

Posts : 1160
Join date : 2012-08-22
Location : Vantaa

Mantle of the Laughing God... Possible to build an IC only deathstar? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Mantle of the Laughing God... Possible to build an IC only deathstar?   Mantle of the Laughing God... Possible to build an IC only deathstar? I_icon_minitimeTue Jul 30 2013, 22:28

Sadly not possible.

I can think how fun it would be to make a farseer babysit Mephiston to cc.

_________________
New Dark Eldar in Tournaments: Wins: 17 Draws: 2 Losses: 8
ETC 2013 DE/Eldar player (4th)
ETC 2014 Coach (16th)
ETC 2015 Captain, Eldar/DE (10th)
Painting blog
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




Mantle of the Laughing God... Possible to build an IC only deathstar? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Mantle of the Laughing God... Possible to build an IC only deathstar?   Mantle of the Laughing God... Possible to build an IC only deathstar? I_icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
Mantle of the Laughing God... Possible to build an IC only deathstar?
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: