THE DARK CITY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.



 
HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityRegisterLog in

 

 Baron and his strength issues.

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
MurDok
Kabalite Warrior
MurDok

Posts : 220
Join date : 2013-07-24

Baron and his strength issues. Empty
PostSubject: Baron and his strength issues.   Baron and his strength issues. I_icon_minitimeThu Jul 25 2013, 03:21

Help me settle an argument with a friend, here's the gist. My friend says that the Baron's strength will only be 6 on the turn he charges then it will go down to 4 for the duration of the combat.
But I say NAY! The Baron's strength will remain 6 for the duration and not just on the turn he charges.

Custom Skyboard reads
"Sathonyx's custom skyboard counts as a normal skyboard. In addition it adds +2 Strength to his attacks in any turn in which he assaults.

Hellglaive reads:
"A hellglaive is a two-handed weapon that grants both an additional attack and +1 Strength".

So this is my logic to the argument, in v1.4 of our Errata under the FAQ it states that the Baron's custom skyboard will add +2 to his strength for his "Hammer of Wrath" attacks making his HoW strength 5 (Baron's base strength is 3). So if the HoW attack counts the custom skyboard but not the hellglaive, that means the barn's strength is 6 when he enters the assault phase and will drop to 5 during HoW (can't use the hellglaive) and will then increase back to 6 for his turn in the initiative line.

Whats your guys take on it?
Back to top Go down
Thor665
Archon
Thor665

Posts : 5526
Join date : 2011-06-10
Location : Venice, FL

Baron and his strength issues. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Baron and his strength issues.   Baron and his strength issues. I_icon_minitimeThu Jul 25 2013, 06:14

I feel like you're saying a few different things and am not sure what you're saying - so let me just run this down;

Baron Charges into assault;

If he gets HoW attacks they are resolved at Str 5 (unmodified Str, per HoW rules...and then FAQ says he also gets the skyboard modifiers...I dunno...but that's how it works)

On his attacks that turn he is Str 6 (+1 from Hellglaive +2 from board because he assaulted this turn)

If he stays in the combat and fights in the assault phase on your opponent's turn then he will resolve his attacks at Str 4 (he does not get +2 because he didn't assault that player turn, and per the BRB page 9 any turn not called 'game turn' means 'player turn' His skyboard only benefits him if he charged 'in any (player) turn in which he assaults')

Does that all make sense and answer your question?

_________________
Baron and his strength issues. K93hWhs
Baron and his strength issues. L1RsnGX
The Title Troupe! - Nom fellow posters for custom titles.
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
Count Adhemar

Posts : 7568
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

Baron and his strength issues. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Baron and his strength issues.   Baron and his strength issues. I_icon_minitimeThu Jul 25 2013, 06:18

Firstly, the FAQ that says he gets his +2S on the HoW attacks is completely illogical and breaks GW's own rules so I wouldn't bother relying on it for any other purposes. Just treat it as a freakish one-off.

Secondly, I still don't see where you're coming from in claiming that the +2S applies any other time apart from when the turn in which he assaults. He's S4 normally due to the Hellglaive, rising to S5 for HoW and S6 for the first turn of an assault. After that he drops back down to 4.

_________________
Baron and his strength issues. YhBv3Wk
You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




Baron and his strength issues. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Baron and his strength issues.   Baron and his strength issues. I_icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
Baron and his strength issues.
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: