Posts : 225
Join date : 2012-07-31
Location : Philadelphia
|Subject: Psykers and close combat Thu Jun 13 2013, 03:24|| |
As a brand new user of Psykers (yay Jetseer!), I have a question. The rules regarding blessings and maledictions are very clear that they can target models/units which are locked in close combat, but nowhere does it say whether or not a Psyker which is locked in close combat can manifest them. It seems to me that they can't, as they have to be manifested at the beginning of the Psyker's movement phase, and being locked in combat the Psyker has no movement phase. I would dearly love a clearer answer though.
Edited for stupidity.
Posts : 441
Join date : 2011-06-16
Location : Essen, Germany
|Subject: Re: Psykers and close combat Thu Jun 13 2013, 03:49|| |
It's not 100% clear, but the rules are that a Psyker can even use his powers, when gone to ground or fleeing. And they're pretty clear, about what a model in close combat can't do, like shoot or move, but it never says, that a Psyker can't use his powers, and definitely not, that they have no movement phase at all.
Normally I'm rather adamant on the "permissive ruleset" thing, but in this case the rules clearly say, when a Psyker can use his powers, and what units in close combat can't do.
- BRB p.10 wrote:
- MOVING AND CLOSE COMBAT
Units already locked in close combat with the enemy cannot move during the Movement phase.
I must rule with eye and claw — as the hawk among lesser birds.
Posts : 5526
Join date : 2011-06-10
Location : Venice, FL
|Subject: Re: Psykers and close combat Thu Jun 13 2013, 04:41|| |
Also, you'll note that units in close combat can't move during the movement phase.
Thus - they have a movement phase, they just can't move during it.
Court of Cruelty
Posts : 1002
Join date : 2011-05-19
Location : Sweden
|Subject: Re: Psykers and close combat Thu Jun 13 2013, 10:36|| |
I think what Thor just said makes it pretty clear; as they have a Movement Phase but just cannot move when in CC, I'd say they can use their powers there as long it doesn't specifically says it can't (for example, to use a Witchfire powers you cannot be locked in CC).
|Subject: Re: Psykers and close combat || |