THE DARK CITY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.



 
HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityRegisterLog in

 

 IC joining Riptide

Go down 
+4
Shadows Revenge
The_Burning_Eye
Mushkilla
tlronin
8 posters
AuthorMessage
tlronin
Wych
avatar

Posts : 818
Join date : 2011-06-23
Location : The Netherlands

IC joining Riptide Empty
PostSubject: IC joining Riptide   IC joining Riptide I_icon_minitimeTue Jun 11 2013, 12:25

Disclaimer: This is a RAW discussion (as I advocate all the time). I'm not asking about RAI (RAI we already sorted out we're not going to play it like this). Just want to see if me and my little community got this clear.

A Riptide apparantly can be accompanied by drones. The USR about Independant Characters says the IC can't join units that are single model. However when the Riptide has drones it's not a single model. So, now it can suddenly be accompanied by ICs? Thoughts?

_________________
Archon of the kabal of The Bleeding Hand.
Member of local Dutch community: http://www.sweetlakesentinels.nl
Back to top Go down
Mushkilla
Arena Champion
Mushkilla

Posts : 4017
Join date : 2012-07-16
Location : Toroid Arena

IC joining Riptide Empty
PostSubject: Re: IC joining Riptide   IC joining Riptide I_icon_minitimeTue Jun 11 2013, 13:15

Yes, it can be accompanied by an IC. Yes it's really annoying, one particular combo is "big brother, little sister" which is when you run a rip-tide with shadow sun. Also you don't need to take the drones in order to attach the IC, the option of drones alone means you can do it.

Hope that helps. Smile

_________________
Latest Report: BR4: The Repugnant Ramblers Vs Imperial Knights - 1250pts
Pragmatic Realspace Raider Series


“Even the Black Buzzards thought highly of him, and those maniacs were renowned for hating everyone.” - Tantalus, by Braden Campbell
Back to top Go down
The_Burning_Eye
Trueborn
The_Burning_Eye

Posts : 2501
Join date : 2012-01-16
Location : Rutland - UK

IC joining Riptide Empty
PostSubject: Re: IC joining Riptide   IC joining Riptide I_icon_minitimeTue Jun 11 2013, 13:19

As Mush says I think RAW you could even argue that an IC can join a Riptide without drones, as the specific text (p39 rulebook) states that IC's cannot join units that always consist of a single model (my emphasis).

As a riptide can take drones, it doesn't always consist of a single model. It's rules lawyering to an extreme degree, particularly since it makes you consider whether you're talking about a unit in an army list, or a codex entry but I could see someone making that argument. You also then have the question as to if the drones can leave the riptide as those on the tanks can, if that happens would the IC then have to leave as well?

Probably needs FAQing, but I think you're community has taken the fair approach.

_________________
Tan? You're joking, I'm a gamer, you're lucky I'm wearing deodorant!

My Blog - The Burning Eye Blog (check it out - comments always welcome)

My Project Log - Visions of the Burning Eye

My Gaming Log - Chronicles of the Burning Eye

My Club - MAD Wargaming

My Fluff - Kabal of the Burning Eye, Cult of the Shadowed Blade and Coven of Distorted Perfection
Back to top Go down
http://theburningeye.blogspot.com
Shadows Revenge
Hierarch of Tactica
Shadows Revenge

Posts : 2587
Join date : 2011-08-10
Location : Bmore

IC joining Riptide Empty
PostSubject: Re: IC joining Riptide   IC joining Riptide I_icon_minitimeTue Jun 11 2013, 13:32

just like a warrior prime can join a single carnifex... its the same thing sadly...

_________________
Status:
Usurping Kabal leadership for his Patriarch

Current List:
First 2k GSC List
Back to top Go down
Ben_S
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 376
Join date : 2012-05-20
Location : Stirling, Scotland

IC joining Riptide Empty
PostSubject: Re: IC joining Riptide   IC joining Riptide I_icon_minitimeTue Jun 11 2013, 15:26

I don't own the Tau Codex but, from what's said, it seems clear that RAW the answer is yes an IC can join the Riptide.

Too bad we can't join ICs with a Talos Sad
Back to top Go down
tlronin
Wych
avatar

Posts : 818
Join date : 2011-06-23
Location : The Netherlands

IC joining Riptide Empty
PostSubject: Re: IC joining Riptide   IC joining Riptide I_icon_minitimeWed Jun 12 2013, 07:47

Thnx for answering guys.

_________________
Archon of the kabal of The Bleeding Hand.
Member of local Dutch community: http://www.sweetlakesentinels.nl
Back to top Go down
Silverglade
Wych
Silverglade

Posts : 521
Join date : 2012-12-30

IC joining Riptide Empty
PostSubject: Re: IC joining Riptide   IC joining Riptide I_icon_minitimeThu Jun 13 2013, 01:08

I thought there was something that said that IC couldn't join monsterous creatures.   Am i wrong about that?
Back to top Go down
Tiri Rana
Sybarite
Tiri Rana

Posts : 441
Join date : 2011-06-16
Location : Essen, Germany

IC joining Riptide Empty
PostSubject: Re: IC joining Riptide   IC joining Riptide I_icon_minitimeThu Jun 13 2013, 02:20

ICs can't join units that always consist of one model. That encompasses most MCs, like Taloi, for example, but not all and also some other models, like Marbo.

_________________
IC joining Riptide Tdcawardssigbestrules
I must rule with eye and claw — as the hawk among lesser birds.
Back to top Go down
Thor665
Archon
Thor665

Posts : 5526
Join date : 2011-06-10
Location : Venice, FL

IC joining Riptide Empty
PostSubject: Re: IC joining Riptide   IC joining Riptide I_icon_minitimeThu Jun 13 2013, 04:47

They also can't join units that consist of only vehicles, which prevents them from joining squadrons.

The Riptide avoids both limiters.

_________________
IC joining Riptide K93hWhs
IC joining Riptide L1RsnGX
The Title Troupe! - Nom fellow posters for custom titles.
Back to top Go down
tlronin
Wych
avatar

Posts : 818
Join date : 2011-06-23
Location : The Netherlands

IC joining Riptide Empty
PostSubject: Re: IC joining Riptide   IC joining Riptide I_icon_minitimeThu Jun 13 2013, 07:19

@Silverglade wrote:
I thought there was something that said that IC couldn't join monsterous creatures.   Am i wrong about that?

Page 39. 1st pharagraph about ICs. It's about 'single models' and as an example they say in between brackets: "such as most vehicles and Monstrous Creatures". It's the same mistake some guys at my club made and is the crux of this story. Wink

@Thor: Apart from squadrons (which is clearly written in the rules), imagine a vehicle which consists out of multiple models. You'd be able to join an IC... Lol. That would be daft!

_________________
Archon of the kabal of The Bleeding Hand.
Member of local Dutch community: http://www.sweetlakesentinels.nl
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




IC joining Riptide Empty
PostSubject: Re: IC joining Riptide   IC joining Riptide I_icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
IC joining Riptide
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: