THE DARK CITY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.



 
HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityRegisterLog in

 

 Can FMC's take cover saves for the terrain they're on

Go down 
+2
Lord_Alino
doomseer11b
6 posters
AuthorMessage
doomseer11b
Sybarite
doomseer11b

Posts : 304
Join date : 2012-10-09
Location : South Carolina

Can FMC's take cover saves for the terrain they're on Empty
PostSubject: Can FMC's take cover saves for the terrain they're on   Can FMC's take cover saves for the terrain they're on I_icon_minitimeWed Jun 05 2013, 00:43

Verbatim

_________________
"... get me the holy hand grenade!!!! .... 1..2.....5, 3 SIR 3!!!!"
Back to top Go down
https://www.twinlinkedgaming.com
Lord_Alino
Lord_Alice
Lord_Alino

Posts : 1941
Join date : 2013-02-15
Location : The Warp

Can FMC's take cover saves for the terrain they're on Empty
PostSubject: Re: Can FMC's take cover saves for the terrain they're on   Can FMC's take cover saves for the terrain they're on I_icon_minitimeWed Jun 05 2013, 06:11

if they are atleast 25% obscured, in trees, or on ruins Razz
Back to top Go down
Mushkilla
Arena Champion
Mushkilla

Posts : 4017
Join date : 2012-07-16
Location : Toroid Arena

Can FMC's take cover saves for the terrain they're on Empty
PostSubject: Re: Can FMC's take cover saves for the terrain they're on   Can FMC's take cover saves for the terrain they're on I_icon_minitimeWed Jun 05 2013, 11:08

They don't even need to be 25% obscured if they are in area terrain. Smile

_________________
Latest Report: BR4: The Repugnant Ramblers Vs Imperial Knights - 1250pts
Pragmatic Realspace Raider Series


“Even the Black Buzzards thought highly of him, and those maniacs were renowned for hating everyone.” - Tantalus, by Braden Campbell
Back to top Go down
Zaakath
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 98
Join date : 2012-09-28
Location : Pennsylvania

Can FMC's take cover saves for the terrain they're on Empty
PostSubject: Re: Can FMC's take cover saves for the terrain they're on   Can FMC's take cover saves for the terrain they're on I_icon_minitimeWed Jun 05 2013, 16:17

Yes, they can. The FMC, unlike an actual flyer takes short hops and stops after each hop.
Back to top Go down
doomseer11b
Sybarite
doomseer11b

Posts : 304
Join date : 2012-10-09
Location : South Carolina

Can FMC's take cover saves for the terrain they're on Empty
PostSubject: Re: Can FMC's take cover saves for the terrain they're on   Can FMC's take cover saves for the terrain they're on I_icon_minitimeWed Jun 05 2013, 16:46

So.... By fluff, they're on the ground..... Annoying and OP

Edited for language. - Mush

I apologize, don't remember what word I wrote but unintentional

_________________
"... get me the holy hand grenade!!!! .... 1..2.....5, 3 SIR 3!!!!"


Last edited by doomseer11b on Tue Jun 11 2013, 01:44; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
https://www.twinlinkedgaming.com
Anggul
Sybarite
Anggul

Posts : 320
Join date : 2011-06-22
Location : Southampton, England

Can FMC's take cover saves for the terrain they're on Empty
PostSubject: Re: Can FMC's take cover saves for the terrain they're on   Can FMC's take cover saves for the terrain they're on I_icon_minitimeMon Jun 10 2013, 12:57

@doomseer11b wrote:
So.... By fluff, they're on the ground..... Gay and OP

It depends on whether they're swooping or gliding. When gliding they count as Jump Monstrous Creatures. When swooping they're like flyers, they're in the air.

Either way they still get the cover save for being in area terrain as only vehicles don't.


I really can't think of any that are 'over-powered' so I don't see why this is an issue. Just because someone passed saves against you because they made use of cover doesn't make it OP, considering you probably make use of cover too.

_________________
"Oh how awful, did he at least die painlessly? To shreds you say? Well, how's his Dracon holding up? To shreds you say? Very well then... Sad, sad, terrible gruesome news about my colleague Archon Mhu'bhutu." - 'The Feather', Dracon of the Bladed Lotus
Back to top Go down
doomseer11b
Sybarite
doomseer11b

Posts : 304
Join date : 2012-10-09
Location : South Carolina

Can FMC's take cover saves for the terrain they're on Empty
PostSubject: Re: Can FMC's take cover saves for the terrain they're on   Can FMC's take cover saves for the terrain they're on I_icon_minitimeTue Jun 11 2013, 01:40

To me it's OP becuz they don't just move like regular jump inf. they move 12 to 24 and can fire at full ballistic AND (in tyranid case) pop off appropriate psychic powers. AND unlike jumps, they can only be hit on 6's and still benefit from a cover save based on the terrain they're on..... That sir is ridiculous. How is that not OP??? And who in their right mind would go hovering with an FMC, as they have a 360• firing radius.

Edit: I say OP however other armies have sky fire, wwe don't, my statement is definitely bias.

_________________
"... get me the holy hand grenade!!!! .... 1..2.....5, 3 SIR 3!!!!"
Back to top Go down
https://www.twinlinkedgaming.com
Thor665
Archon
Thor665

Posts : 5526
Join date : 2011-06-10
Location : Venice, FL

Can FMC's take cover saves for the terrain they're on Empty
PostSubject: Re: Can FMC's take cover saves for the terrain they're on   Can FMC's take cover saves for the terrain they're on I_icon_minitimeTue Jun 11 2013, 02:12

It's advantageous, but I'm not really sure I'd go so far as to call it OP.

Most FMCs already have a 5++ save, at that point the cover save is a meaningless point to them.
Those that lack the 5++ save tend to be the types of FMCs I'm less worried about.

Frankly, for most FMCs, I tend to use massed splinter fire due to most FMC's toughness value, so usually they already have an armor save against that in any case and the 5+ cover save remains meaningless to me. I don't waste darklight on them till I ground them, presuming I have the darklight to spare, and if I'm against Nids there are usually better darklight targets regardless (*cough*Warriors*cough*).

So, yes, it's good for them, and I'd even go so far as to say that I totally agree it's kinda dumb (though, if we really want to get into a discussion of dumb GW rules we'll be here a long time). But, no, I wouldn't call it OP.

_________________
Can FMC's take cover saves for the terrain they're on K93hWhs
Can FMC's take cover saves for the terrain they're on L1RsnGX
The Title Troupe! - Nom fellow posters for custom titles.
Back to top Go down
Anggul
Sybarite
Anggul

Posts : 320
Join date : 2011-06-22
Location : Southampton, England

Can FMC's take cover saves for the terrain they're on Empty
PostSubject: Re: Can FMC's take cover saves for the terrain they're on   Can FMC's take cover saves for the terrain they're on I_icon_minitimeTue Jun 11 2013, 11:58

It's really only relevant for Tyranids. In their case it definitely isn't OP, as the standard 'Hive Tyrant with Wings and dual TL Devourers' loadout is 260pts, even more if you want Old Adversary or Hive Commander. For something so very expensive, they need cover to be worthwhile.

Also we do have Skyfire, it just comes in the form of flyers, which you need to come in after said Hive Tyrant or he'll probably blow them out of the sky.

_________________
"Oh how awful, did he at least die painlessly? To shreds you say? Well, how's his Dracon holding up? To shreds you say? Very well then... Sad, sad, terrible gruesome news about my colleague Archon Mhu'bhutu." - 'The Feather', Dracon of the Bladed Lotus
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




Can FMC's take cover saves for the terrain they're on Empty
PostSubject: Re: Can FMC's take cover saves for the terrain they're on   Can FMC's take cover saves for the terrain they're on I_icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
Can FMC's take cover saves for the terrain they're on
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: