THE DARK CITY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.



 
HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityRegisterLog in

 

 Gambling Shadow Field

Go down 
+3
Tiri Rana
rotforge
reihon
7 posters
AuthorMessage
reihon
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 35
Join date : 2013-05-10

Gambling Shadow Field Empty
PostSubject: Gambling Shadow Field   Gambling Shadow Field I_icon_minitimeFri May 31 2013, 16:45

Hey,

I'm not sure if I can do this -- so i didn't, but just wanted to know in the future.

Raider explodes. It was carrying a shadow fielded archon and 9 incubi.

There is more "firepower" coming from the enemy from the west side.

If i place the archon to the far west, and the incubi east of that but within 2" cohesion, can I then proceed to use the 2+ invuln save for the incomming hits? or do i need to still use the 3+ armor save of the incubi?

moved from tactics to rules. ~TLRonin
Back to top Go down
rotforge
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 33
Join date : 2013-05-10
Location : Warsaw

Gambling Shadow Field Empty
PostSubject: Re: Gambling Shadow Field   Gambling Shadow Field I_icon_minitimeFri May 31 2013, 17:21

Yes you can - you allocate wounds from the direction of the firerer, so if the archon is closest - he'll get the heat. In case you don't feel like it, you can always use Look out Sir.

_________________
http://rotforge.blogspot.com - my painting blog
Back to top Go down
http://rotforge.blogspot.com
Tiri Rana
Sybarite
Tiri Rana

Posts : 441
Join date : 2011-06-16
Location : Essen, Germany

Gambling Shadow Field Empty
PostSubject: Re: Gambling Shadow Field   Gambling Shadow Field I_icon_minitimeSat Jun 01 2013, 23:53

Just keep in mind that if you allocate the first wound to the archon, you'll have to allocate all wounds to him until he's dead or you saved all of them. And Look out Sir has to be announced, before saving throws, so it's a gamble indeed.

_________________
Gambling Shadow Field Tdcawardssigbestrules
I must rule with eye and claw — as the hawk among lesser birds.
Back to top Go down
Shadows Revenge
Hierarch of Tactica
Shadows Revenge

Posts : 2587
Join date : 2011-08-10
Location : Bmore

Gambling Shadow Field Empty
PostSubject: Re: Gambling Shadow Field   Gambling Shadow Field I_icon_minitimeSun Jun 02 2013, 08:24

@Tiri Rana wrote:
Just keep in mind that if you allocate the first wound to the archon, you'll have to allocate all wounds to him until he's dead or you saved all of them. And Look out Sir has to be announced, before saving throws, so it's a gamble indeed.

not really. as you must technically roll each save individually (fast dice is only an option) you can technically take 3 or so on him, lose the shadowfield, and then decide to LoS! the rest of them. Don't think that because you can use fast dice, you must use it.

_________________
Status:
Usurping Kabal leadership for his Patriarch

Current List:
First 2k GSC List
Back to top Go down
doomseer11b
Sybarite
doomseer11b

Posts : 304
Join date : 2012-10-09
Location : South Carolina

Gambling Shadow Field Empty
PostSubject: Re: Gambling Shadow Field   Gambling Shadow Field I_icon_minitimeSun Jun 02 2013, 08:26

He still takes a wound when shadow field shorts out right?

_________________
"... get me the holy hand grenade!!!! .... 1..2.....5, 3 SIR 3!!!!"
Back to top Go down
https://www.twinlinkedgaming.com
Crazy_Ivan
Wych
Crazy_Ivan

Posts : 515
Join date : 2012-04-10
Location : Wellingborough

Gambling Shadow Field Empty
PostSubject: Re: Gambling Shadow Field   Gambling Shadow Field I_icon_minitimeSun Jun 02 2013, 08:47

Yes he takes a wound and you no longer have the field.
Back to top Go down
Tiri Rana
Sybarite
Tiri Rana

Posts : 441
Join date : 2011-06-16
Location : Essen, Germany

Gambling Shadow Field Empty
PostSubject: Re: Gambling Shadow Field   Gambling Shadow Field I_icon_minitimeMon Jun 03 2013, 01:16

@Shadows Revenge wrote:
not really. as you must technically roll each save individually (fast dice is only an option) you can technically take 3 or so on him, lose the shadowfield, and then decide to LoS! the rest of them. Don't think that because you can use fast dice, you must use it.

Not only technically. If you have a unit with mixed saves, especially when using a shadowfield, you have to roll each save separately, and have to declare LoS before each roll, so you either end up LoSing every wound, which makes this tactic useless, or you'll wait until the shadowfield shorts out and your archon stands with two wounds left, clad in wet tissue paper, in the middle of a firestorm.
Of course, you can begin to LoS every wound after that, which again leaves you with a good but not unfailable 2+ 'save'. And let's face it. An archon without shadowfield is toast. If he doesn't die this turn, he'll die the next.
I don't know, what more 'firepower' in this scenario is, but anything over 20 shots will probably leave your archon a smoking carcass. If you ace 20+ shadowfield rolls the pay-off is huge, but if not the loss is equally huge.
For me it qualifies as a gamble.

_________________
Gambling Shadow Field Tdcawardssigbestrules
I must rule with eye and claw — as the hawk among lesser birds.
Back to top Go down
Mushkilla
Arena Champion
Mushkilla

Posts : 4017
Join date : 2012-07-16
Location : Toroid Arena

Gambling Shadow Field Empty
PostSubject: Re: Gambling Shadow Field   Gambling Shadow Field I_icon_minitimeMon Jun 03 2013, 06:53

With vehicle explosions, what I do it take a few wounds on the crew first and then take the rest on the Archon's shadow field that way he is only taking 2-3 saves max.

_________________
Latest Report: BR4: The Repugnant Ramblers Vs Imperial Knights - 1250pts
Pragmatic Realspace Raider Series


“Even the Black Buzzards thought highly of him, and those maniacs were renowned for hating everyone.” - Tantalus, by Braden Campbell
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




Gambling Shadow Field Empty
PostSubject: Re: Gambling Shadow Field   Gambling Shadow Field I_icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
Gambling Shadow Field
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: