THE DARK CITY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.



 
HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityRegisterLog in

 

 Grisly Trophies, Vehicle Wrecked, and Pinning Tests

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Czahkiswashi
Slave
avatar

Posts : 1
Join date : 2013-05-23

Grisly Trophies, Vehicle Wrecked, and Pinning Tests Empty
PostSubject: Grisly Trophies, Vehicle Wrecked, and Pinning Tests   Grisly Trophies, Vehicle Wrecked, and Pinning Tests I_icon_minitimeThu May 23 2013, 10:33

If a raider with the Grisly Trophies upgrade is Wrecked, can the unit inside re-roll their pinning test after disembarking?

The rule for wrecked transports on page 80 of the codex is the rule in question.

I read this as saying that the unit first disembarks, next they take a pinning test, the finally the vehicle is wrecked, so they can re-roll their pinning test if they fail, since the vehicle was not yet wrecked when they took the test.

My friend disagrees, and says that the transport is already wrecked - after all, a wrecked result was rolled on the table - , and so it cannot help the unit.

What do you guy think?
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
Count Adhemar

Posts : 7568
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

Grisly Trophies, Vehicle Wrecked, and Pinning Tests Empty
PostSubject: Re: Grisly Trophies, Vehicle Wrecked, and Pinning Tests   Grisly Trophies, Vehicle Wrecked, and Pinning Tests I_icon_minitimeThu May 23 2013, 10:55

The wording, whilst slightly counter-intuitive, does seem clear. The passengers first disembark, then they take a pinning test "After this, the vehicle becomes a wreck".

_________________
Grisly Trophies, Vehicle Wrecked, and Pinning Tests YhBv3Wk
You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Ollelta
Kabalite Warrior
Ollelta

Posts : 133
Join date : 2013-01-06
Location : Kent

Grisly Trophies, Vehicle Wrecked, and Pinning Tests Empty
PostSubject: Re: Grisly Trophies, Vehicle Wrecked, and Pinning Tests   Grisly Trophies, Vehicle Wrecked, and Pinning Tests I_icon_minitimeThu May 23 2013, 10:58

Edit: beat me to it..

From BRB p80: The passengers must immediately disembark ... The unit must then take a Pinning test. After this, the vehicle becomes a wreck.

So yea, the vehicle is wrecked after (and only after) the pinning test has been taken.

I suppose the argument would be that the wrecked result on the chart doesn't mean the vehicle is wrecked, it means "follow the rules for the process of wrecking a vehicle". Otherwise you might as well argue that if he gets an explodes result, you don't have to actually resolve an explosion, because you've already rolled that it has exploded, and it cant then explode again after that...
Back to top Go down
tlronin
Wych
avatar

Posts : 818
Join date : 2011-06-23
Location : The Netherlands

Grisly Trophies, Vehicle Wrecked, and Pinning Tests Empty
PostSubject: Re: Grisly Trophies, Vehicle Wrecked, and Pinning Tests   Grisly Trophies, Vehicle Wrecked, and Pinning Tests I_icon_minitimeThu May 23 2013, 11:48

Good question though. 'Cause it is indeed pretty counter-intuitive...

_________________
Archon of the kabal of The Bleeding Hand.
Member of local Dutch community: http://www.sweetlakesentinels.nl
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




Grisly Trophies, Vehicle Wrecked, and Pinning Tests Empty
PostSubject: Re: Grisly Trophies, Vehicle Wrecked, and Pinning Tests   Grisly Trophies, Vehicle Wrecked, and Pinning Tests I_icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
Grisly Trophies, Vehicle Wrecked, and Pinning Tests
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: