THE DARK CITY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.



 
HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityRegisterLog in

 

 questions about haywire blasters

Go down 
+5
DominicJ
Tiri Rana
cuchulain84
Erebus
thor6269
9 posters
AuthorMessage
thor6269
Slave
avatar

Posts : 4
Join date : 2013-02-01
Location : ohio

questions about haywire blasters Empty
PostSubject: questions about haywire blasters   questions about haywire blasters I_icon_minitimeThu Apr 11 2013, 17:57

relatively new to warhammer and dark eldar. Was wonderiong about haywire blasters?
The rulebook says they get d6 roll for effects but the codex says you roll normal armor effects then a d6 special roll for haywire
which is the case.
can you target a vehicle that is impossible to effect with the S and Ap but still get the haywire wound
Back to top Go down
Erebus
HTMLaemonculus
Erebus

Posts : 376
Join date : 2013-02-13
Location : Your nightmares

questions about haywire blasters Empty
PostSubject: Re: questions about haywire blasters   questions about haywire blasters I_icon_minitimeThu Apr 11 2013, 18:33

Yes. To get the effects of Haywire, you only need to score a hit on the vehicle, which is determine by the firer's ballistics skill. For all intents and purposes, the Haywire is effectively replacing the S and AP when used against vehicles (unless their armour is 10, and even then you need a 6 just to glance).

_________________
Taming the shadows with questionable wit.
Back to top Go down
cuchulain84
Slave
cuchulain84

Posts : 19
Join date : 2013-03-06

questions about haywire blasters Empty
PostSubject: Re: questions about haywire blasters   questions about haywire blasters I_icon_minitimeThu Apr 11 2013, 19:01

I've not used Haywire Blasters before and I found the entry a little confusing as well.

Say if you are shooting at av10. Let's say you hit it, then you roll a 6, which is a glance, then you roll for haywire and get another 6, so a pen.

Does the pen replace the original glance or is it seperate, so you would end up with one glance and a pen?

_________________
My Dark Eldar blog.
Back to top Go down
http://dark-eldar.blogspot.co.uk/
Tiri Rana
Sybarite
Tiri Rana

Posts : 441
Join date : 2011-06-16
Location : Essen, Germany

questions about haywire blasters Empty
PostSubject: Re: questions about haywire blasters   questions about haywire blasters I_icon_minitimeThu Apr 11 2013, 19:23

In our codex the Haywire Blaster didn't have the Haywire special rule, so they could roll for AP with their strength of 4 and got the Haywire roll in addition.

With the new rulebook it got updated to have the Haywire special rule (see p.415), so it has to use the rulebook text and can't produce two glances anymore.

_________________
questions about haywire blasters Tdcawardssigbestrules
I must rule with eye and claw — as the hawk among lesser birds.
Back to top Go down
Erebus
HTMLaemonculus
Erebus

Posts : 376
Join date : 2013-02-13
Location : Your nightmares

questions about haywire blasters Empty
PostSubject: Re: questions about haywire blasters   questions about haywire blasters I_icon_minitimeThu Apr 11 2013, 20:00

The Haywire Blasters haven't been FAQed, and since Codex trumps rulebook, I'd argue that Haywire Blasters get the roll for AP (at least against AV10) as well as the haywire.

cuchulain84 wrote:

Does the pen replace the original glance or is it seperate, so you would end up with one glance and a pen?
Assuming the Haywire Blasters get to roll for both AP and Haywire, it would be the latter - so remove 2 hull points and roll on the vehicle damage table.

_________________
Taming the shadows with questionable wit.
Back to top Go down
DominicJ
Wych
avatar

Posts : 662
Join date : 2013-01-23

questions about haywire blasters Empty
PostSubject: Re: questions about haywire blasters   questions about haywire blasters I_icon_minitimeThu Apr 11 2013, 22:02

I'd play it as roll to hit, then roll on the haywire table

_________________
The Cult of the bloody disaster
https://www.thedarkcity.net/t7466-cult-of-the-bloody-disaster
Back to top Go down
Timatron
Sybarite
Timatron

Posts : 443
Join date : 2013-03-12
Location : Brighton

questions about haywire blasters Empty
PostSubject: Re: questions about haywire blasters   questions about haywire blasters I_icon_minitimeFri Apr 12 2013, 00:58

It's true, codex always trumps brb. I always use the old rules from the codex, 5 scourges with 2 haywire blasters can therefore strip 4 hp from armour 10. You might say that is op, I say, excuse me? These suckers cost more than a Grey Knight each, you're joking yeah? lol jocolor
Back to top Go down
Mushkilla
Arena Champion
Mushkilla

Posts : 4017
Join date : 2012-07-16
Location : Toroid Arena

questions about haywire blasters Empty
PostSubject: Re: questions about haywire blasters   questions about haywire blasters I_icon_minitimeFri Apr 12 2013, 07:03

I use the rule book rules, as that's what Haywire will be changed to when the new Dark Eldar codex comes out, might as well get used to it now.

_________________
Latest Report: BR4: The Repugnant Ramblers Vs Imperial Knights - 1250pts
Pragmatic Realspace Raider Series


“Even the Black Buzzards thought highly of him, and those maniacs were renowned for hating everyone.” - Tantalus, by Braden Campbell
Back to top Go down
Timatron
Sybarite
Timatron

Posts : 443
Join date : 2013-03-12
Location : Brighton

questions about haywire blasters Empty
PostSubject: Re: questions about haywire blasters   questions about haywire blasters I_icon_minitimeFri Apr 12 2013, 14:55

That might not be for a good few years yet! Personally I'm gonna use any possible particle in the meantime! jocolor
Back to top Go down
Balisong
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 324
Join date : 2012-09-05

questions about haywire blasters Empty
PostSubject: Re: questions about haywire blasters   questions about haywire blasters I_icon_minitimeFri Apr 12 2013, 20:03

Haywire rule in the Rules Book specifically states it replaces and Armour Penetration Roll, so you can no longer use them to do 2 Hull Points.

Str. 4 is vs non-vehicle targets.

Back to top Go down
Erebus
HTMLaemonculus
Erebus

Posts : 376
Join date : 2013-02-13
Location : Your nightmares

questions about haywire blasters Empty
PostSubject: Re: questions about haywire blasters   questions about haywire blasters I_icon_minitimeFri Apr 12 2013, 20:33

Page 7 of the rulebook:

"On rare occasions, a conflict will arise between a rule in this rulebook, and one printed in a codex. Where this occurs, the rule printed in the codex always takes precedence."

So, despite clearly not being intended given our codex pre-dates the current rulebook, it is technically legal should that incredibly rare chance occur.

_________________
Taming the shadows with questionable wit.
Back to top Go down
Shadows Revenge
Hierarch of Tactica
Shadows Revenge

Posts : 2587
Join date : 2011-08-10
Location : Bmore

questions about haywire blasters Empty
PostSubject: Re: questions about haywire blasters   questions about haywire blasters I_icon_minitimeFri Apr 12 2013, 23:42

the question comes down to whether you consider the weapon profile's in the BYB to be a FAQ or not... personally I dont believe so because of GW's poor writing and just copy/pasting stuff, but that is just me.

_________________
Status:
Usurping Kabal leadership for his Patriarch

Current List:
First 2k GSC List
Back to top Go down
Timatron
Sybarite
Timatron

Posts : 443
Join date : 2013-03-12
Location : Brighton

questions about haywire blasters Empty
PostSubject: Re: questions about haywire blasters   questions about haywire blasters I_icon_minitimeSat Apr 13 2013, 00:14

I dunno if it's that rare, I use scourges a lot to deepstrike and regularly get in back armour with them. Sometimes playing the codex rule has bitten me in the arse though, when you roll a 6 on the first roll that is a glance, obviously, whereas on the haywire roll it's a pen. So can be a double-edged sword if you then roll a 1 on the haywire roll!
jocolor
Back to top Go down
DominicJ
Wych
avatar

Posts : 662
Join date : 2013-01-23

questions about haywire blasters Empty
PostSubject: Re: questions about haywire blasters   questions about haywire blasters I_icon_minitimeSun Apr 14 2013, 19:43

I'm just reading up on the Reaper, it is a different weapon, but, the Haywire effect in on top of the normal Strength, rather than in place of.
So yeah, from now on, I'm taking my chances at glancing A10

_________________
The Cult of the bloody disaster
https://www.thedarkcity.net/t7466-cult-of-the-bloody-disaster
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




questions about haywire blasters Empty
PostSubject: Re: questions about haywire blasters   questions about haywire blasters I_icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
questions about haywire blasters
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: