THE DARK CITY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.



 
HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityRegisterLog in

 

 Using Raiders as Cover

Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2
AuthorMessage
Mushkilla
Arena Champion
Mushkilla

Posts : 4017
Join date : 2012-07-16
Location : Toroid Arena

Using Raiders as Cover - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Using Raiders as Cover   Using Raiders as Cover - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeTue Feb 19, 2013 8:14 am

Gamefaqs@gwplc.com

_________________
Latest Report: BR4: The Repugnant Ramblers Vs Imperial Knights - 1250pts
Pragmatic Realspace Raider Series


“Even the Black Buzzards thought highly of him, and those maniacs were renowned for hating everyone.” - Tantalus, by Braden Campbell
Back to top Go down
tlronin
Wych
avatar

Posts : 818
Join date : 2011-06-23
Location : The Netherlands

Using Raiders as Cover - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Using Raiders as Cover   Using Raiders as Cover - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeTue Feb 19, 2013 8:17 am

Alright, me too. Just e-mailed them aswell. Wink

_________________
Archon of the kabal of The Bleeding Hand.
Member of local Dutch community: http://www.sweetlakesentinels.nl
Back to top Go down
Mushkilla
Arena Champion
Mushkilla

Posts : 4017
Join date : 2012-07-16
Location : Toroid Arena

Using Raiders as Cover - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Using Raiders as Cover   Using Raiders as Cover - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeTue Feb 19, 2013 8:20 am

It will be a miracle if they actually do anything about it. That being said if they do, that would restore some of my faith in them. Shocked

_________________
Latest Report: BR4: The Repugnant Ramblers Vs Imperial Knights - 1250pts
Pragmatic Realspace Raider Series


“Even the Black Buzzards thought highly of him, and those maniacs were renowned for hating everyone.” - Tantalus, by Braden Campbell
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
Count Adhemar

Posts : 7568
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

Using Raiders as Cover - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Using Raiders as Cover   Using Raiders as Cover - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeTue Feb 19, 2013 8:50 am

E-mail sent. Fingers crossed.

_________________
Using Raiders as Cover - Page 2 YhBv3Wk
You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Squierboy
Kabalite Warrior
Squierboy

Posts : 197
Join date : 2012-09-23

Using Raiders as Cover - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Using Raiders as Cover   Using Raiders as Cover - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeTue Feb 19, 2013 2:42 pm

Ah ha! That explains why I couldn't find anything much about it.

E-mail sent also.

_________________
The Kabal of Shadows Ascendant
"Cruelty has a Human Heart" - William Blake
99% of war is killing time. The rest is the killing time.
Back to top Go down
Barking Agatha
Wych
Barking Agatha

Posts : 839
Join date : 2012-07-01

Using Raiders as Cover - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Using Raiders as Cover   Using Raiders as Cover - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeWed Feb 20, 2013 3:04 pm

@tlronin wrote:
@OP: First and foremost, why do you abandon the idea completely? Page 20: "A unit can never declare a charge against a unit that it cannot reach, nor can it declare a charge against a unit it cannot see." Leave 1 Wych out in the open so it can draw LOS at the unit you want to charge et voila. You benefit from the cover of the Raider and be able to charge (declaring a charge happens before overwatch so...)

The point is that you don't benefit from any cover from the Raider, because everyone can see your wyches underneath it.

_________________
House of the Bitter Laugh, uniting the Kabal of Scorn, the Cult of Disdain, and the Coven of Jaded Atrocities
Back to top Go down
Seshiru
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 408
Join date : 2012-07-03

Using Raiders as Cover - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Using Raiders as Cover   Using Raiders as Cover - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeWed Feb 20, 2013 3:49 pm

As long as 25% of their bodies are obscured then you get the cover save

Edit - head covered would be enough, and it only had to be obscure from the perspective of 1 firer

_________________
The worst sort of protection is confidence. The best defense is suspicion.
Back to top Go down
DominicJ
Wych
avatar

Posts : 662
Join date : 2013-01-23

Using Raiders as Cover - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Using Raiders as Cover   Using Raiders as Cover - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeWed Feb 20, 2013 4:00 pm

@Barking Agatha wrote:
@tlronin wrote:
@OP: First and foremost, why do you abandon the idea completely? Page 20: "A unit can never declare a charge against a unit that it cannot reach, nor can it declare a charge against a unit it cannot see." Leave 1 Wych out in the open so it can draw LOS at the unit you want to charge et voila. You benefit from the cover of the Raider and be able to charge (declaring a charge happens before overwatch so...)

The point is that you don't benefit from any cover from the Raider, because everyone can see your wyches underneath it.

Is that a normal way of playing? I've always given/taken cover saves for skimmers.
Back to top Go down
Barking Agatha
Wych
Barking Agatha

Posts : 839
Join date : 2012-07-01

Using Raiders as Cover - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Using Raiders as Cover   Using Raiders as Cover - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeWed Feb 20, 2013 6:43 pm

@DominicJ wrote:
@Barking Agatha wrote:
@tlronin wrote:
@OP: First and foremost, why do you abandon the idea completely? Page 20: "A unit can never declare a charge against a unit that it cannot reach, nor can it declare a charge against a unit it cannot see." Leave 1 Wych out in the open so it can draw LOS at the unit you want to charge et voila. You benefit from the cover of the Raider and be able to charge (declaring a charge happens before overwatch so...)

The point is that you don't benefit from any cover from the Raider, because everyone can see your wyches underneath it.

Is that a normal way of playing? I've always given/taken cover saves for skimmers.

That is what I'm asking.

_________________
House of the Bitter Laugh, uniting the Kabal of Scorn, the Cult of Disdain, and the Coven of Jaded Atrocities
Back to top Go down
Seshiru
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 408
Join date : 2012-07-03

Using Raiders as Cover - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Using Raiders as Cover   Using Raiders as Cover - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeThu Feb 21, 2013 1:17 pm

The rules are very clear, if using at least 25% of your model being allocated a wound is obstructed from at least 1 firer then you get a cover save. There isn't some special rule that states skimmers are an exception to this.

And it's still possible to block line of sight completely with them (in conjuction with other items on the field)

So yes in most case being on the other side of a raider would mean a cover save of 5+

_________________
The worst sort of protection is confidence. The best defense is suspicion.
Back to top Go down
Barking Agatha
Wych
Barking Agatha

Posts : 839
Join date : 2012-07-01

Using Raiders as Cover - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Using Raiders as Cover   Using Raiders as Cover - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeSat Feb 23, 2013 1:50 am

@Seshiru wrote:
The rules are very clear, if using at least 25% of your model being allocated a wound is obstructed from at least 1 firer then you get a cover save. There isn't some special rule that states skimmers are an exception to this.

And it's still possible to block line of sight completely with them (in conjuction with other items on the field)

So yes in most case being on the other side of a raider would mean a cover save of 5+

Really?

Using Raiders as Cover - Page 2 Wychesbehindraider_zps928ebb95

Does that look like at least 25%?

_________________
House of the Bitter Laugh, uniting the Kabal of Scorn, the Cult of Disdain, and the Coven of Jaded Atrocities
Back to top Go down
Mushkilla
Arena Champion
Mushkilla

Posts : 4017
Join date : 2012-07-16
Location : Toroid Arena

Using Raiders as Cover - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Using Raiders as Cover   Using Raiders as Cover - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeSat Feb 23, 2013 6:08 am

You would still get cover Barking Agatha. As your opponent is firing through a unit.

Quote :
If a target is partially hidden from the firer's view by models from a third unit, it receives a 5+ cover save in the same way as if it was behind terrain. Similarly, if a model fires trough the gaps between models in an intervening unit, the target is in cover, even if it is completely visible to the firer. Not that this does not apply if the shot goes over the unit rather than through it. - BRB page 18

The rules are clear. However, if still you have problems with your opponent for whatever reason, you draw line of sight from the models head, so using a laser point the angle would not be the same as the photo you took. You could use the shorter raider stands, or you could tilt you raider as they have socket joints. Either of those should give you 25% cover. But like I said you don't need it as your opponent is shooting through a unit.

If your opponent pulls the, that doesn't make any sense fluff wise (some people need to have fluff justifications for everything) . The reason would be all of all the air distortion from the anti grave generators and thruster of the raider, the wyches would be like a shimmering haze, as well as the raiders varying height.

Hope that helps. Nice colour scheme btw. Very Happy

_________________
Latest Report: BR4: The Repugnant Ramblers Vs Imperial Knights - 1250pts
Pragmatic Realspace Raider Series


“Even the Black Buzzards thought highly of him, and those maniacs were renowned for hating everyone.” - Tantalus, by Braden Campbell
Back to top Go down
Barking Agatha
Wych
Barking Agatha

Posts : 839
Join date : 2012-07-01

Using Raiders as Cover - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Using Raiders as Cover   Using Raiders as Cover - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeSun Feb 24, 2013 7:22 am

That's what I needed. Thank you!!!! Very Happy

_________________
House of the Bitter Laugh, uniting the Kabal of Scorn, the Cult of Disdain, and the Coven of Jaded Atrocities
Back to top Go down
Mushkilla
Arena Champion
Mushkilla

Posts : 4017
Join date : 2012-07-16
Location : Toroid Arena

Using Raiders as Cover - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Using Raiders as Cover   Using Raiders as Cover - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeSun Feb 24, 2013 9:05 am

Glad I could help, took me a while to remember where the rule was! Smile

As a Dark Eldar player I have always felt we needed to know all the rules inside out, at least in a lot more depth than other armies in order to get the most out of our units. This edition is no exception and has made things harder by having the rules scattered all over the place!

The amount of times I have to point stuff out to my opponents in the rule book and they go "Oh I never knew that!".

_________________
Latest Report: BR4: The Repugnant Ramblers Vs Imperial Knights - 1250pts
Pragmatic Realspace Raider Series


“Even the Black Buzzards thought highly of him, and those maniacs were renowned for hating everyone.” - Tantalus, by Braden Campbell
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




Using Raiders as Cover - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Using Raiders as Cover   Using Raiders as Cover - Page 2 I_icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
Using Raiders as Cover
Back to top 
Page 2 of 2Go to page : Previous  1, 2

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: