THE DARK CITY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.



 
HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityRegisterLog in

 

 The Duke and his Ride

Go down 
5 posters
AuthorMessage
Bookkeeper
Hellion
Bookkeeper

Posts : 40
Join date : 2012-09-14
Location : The Puzzle Box

The Duke and his Ride Empty
PostSubject: The Duke and his Ride   The Duke and his Ride I_icon_minitimeTue Feb 05 2013, 21:38

Straightforward query: If Duke Sliscus goes with a unit in a Venom, does his Serpent's Venom ability affect the Splinter Cannon(s) of the Venom, so long as it's a dedicated transport?
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
Count Adhemar

Posts : 7568
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

The Duke and his Ride Empty
PostSubject: Re: The Duke and his Ride   The Duke and his Ride I_icon_minitimeTue Feb 05 2013, 23:01

No. The rule very clearly defines who benefits from the 3+ poison.

_________________
The Duke and his Ride YhBv3Wk
You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Bookkeeper
Hellion
Bookkeeper

Posts : 40
Join date : 2012-09-14
Location : The Puzzle Box

The Duke and his Ride Empty
PostSubject: Re: The Duke and his Ride   The Duke and his Ride I_icon_minitimeTue Feb 05 2013, 23:13

When you say clearly...

"All splinter weapons in that unit..." is what's throwing me. Is a dedicated transport part of the unit? Can someone point me to a yes-or-no answer on that?
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
Count Adhemar

Posts : 7568
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

The Duke and his Ride Empty
PostSubject: Re: The Duke and his Ride   The Duke and his Ride I_icon_minitimeTue Feb 05 2013, 23:59

They are separate units. There is nowhere to really point you to to clarify that as it does not state anywhere that they are not separate units. This in itself should be enough to prove the point though.

_________________
The Duke and his Ride YhBv3Wk
You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
tlronin
Wych
avatar

Posts : 818
Join date : 2011-06-23
Location : The Netherlands

The Duke and his Ride Empty
PostSubject: Re: The Duke and his Ride   The Duke and his Ride I_icon_minitimeWed Feb 06 2013, 11:51

IMHO the confusion stems from the reserves rules. Only when considering if you've put 50% on the table, and 50% in reserves (as per the rules) you should count the dedicated transport and the embarked unit as 1 unit.

For all other purposes in the game (except moving obviously) they count as seperate units. Why? Point me to a rule in the rulebook to say they are not seperate units.

Therefor count adhemar answered your question quite simple with a: "No." As the Duke's rule only affects the unit he joined.

And you know what makes a transport dedicated right? Only restriction you' ll find in the rulebook is that the transport must be deployed at the start of the game with the unit it was purchased for. This is what makes it dedicated apparantly.

_________________
Archon of the kabal of The Bleeding Hand.
Member of local Dutch community: http://www.sweetlakesentinels.nl
Back to top Go down
RabbitMaster
Hellion
RabbitMaster

Posts : 56
Join date : 2013-02-06
Location : Marseille

The Duke and his Ride Empty
PostSubject: Re: The Duke and his Ride   The Duke and his Ride I_icon_minitimeWed Feb 06 2013, 13:19

In addition to everything that was said, there is also this sentence in the big book (p127, under "primary objective") :
Quote :
Remember that Independent Characters and Dedicated Transports are individual units [...]
Back to top Go down
Vasara
Incognito assault marine
Vasara

Posts : 1160
Join date : 2012-08-22
Location : Vantaa

The Duke and his Ride Empty
PostSubject: Re: The Duke and his Ride   The Duke and his Ride I_icon_minitimeThu Feb 07 2013, 06:15

@tlronin wrote:


And you know what makes a transport dedicated right? Only restriction you' ll find in the rulebook is that the transport must be deployed at the start of the game with the unit it was purchased for. This is what makes it dedicated apparantly.

Not exactly. It says only modelst that it bought for can embark on it at deployment. And joined IC. Nothing about deploying together.
Back to top Go down
tlronin
Wych
avatar

Posts : 818
Join date : 2011-06-23
Location : The Netherlands

The Duke and his Ride Empty
PostSubject: Re: The Duke and his Ride   The Duke and his Ride I_icon_minitimeThu Feb 07 2013, 07:07

@Vasara wrote:
@tlronin wrote:


And you know what makes a transport dedicated right? Only restriction you' ll find in the rulebook is that the transport must be deployed at the start of the game with the unit it was purchased for. This is what makes it dedicated apparantly.

Not exactly. It says only modelst that it bought for can embark on it at deployment. And joined IC. Nothing about deploying together.

That is what I mean. But thanks for pointing it out.

_________________
Archon of the kabal of The Bleeding Hand.
Member of local Dutch community: http://www.sweetlakesentinels.nl
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




The Duke and his Ride Empty
PostSubject: Re: The Duke and his Ride   The Duke and his Ride I_icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
The Duke and his Ride
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: