THE DARK CITY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.



 
HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityRegisterLog in

 

 Nines swarming the base of my flyer

Go down 
+3
Seshiru
tlronin
Crazy_Ivan
7 posters
AuthorMessage
Crazy_Ivan
Wych
Crazy_Ivan

Posts : 515
Join date : 2012-04-10
Location : Wellingborough

Nines swarming the base of my flyer Empty
PostSubject: Nines swarming the base of my flyer   Nines swarming the base of my flyer I_icon_minitimeFri Feb 01 2013, 17:17

Had a game last week against my friend who plays nids, he swarmed the base of my flyer so I could not turn it. Can he do this? As its a flyer surely you pick it up and turn it as its not actually on the ground.
Back to top Go down
tlronin
Wych
avatar

Posts : 818
Join date : 2011-06-23
Location : The Netherlands

Nines swarming the base of my flyer Empty
PostSubject: Re: Nines swarming the base of my flyer   Nines swarming the base of my flyer I_icon_minitimeFri Feb 01 2013, 18:06

No such restriction in the book as far as I know. So, no... He can't.

_________________
Archon of the kabal of The Bleeding Hand.
Member of local Dutch community: http://www.sweetlakesentinels.nl
Back to top Go down
Seshiru
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 408
Join date : 2012-07-03

Nines swarming the base of my flyer Empty
PostSubject: Re: Nines swarming the base of my flyer   Nines swarming the base of my flyer I_icon_minitimeFri Feb 01 2013, 19:03

It specifically says flyers can move over models as long as there aren't any models within 1" ate the END of your movement. So no unless there isn't any place to land you can move freely.

_________________
The worst sort of protection is confidence. The best defense is suspicion.
Back to top Go down
Druchii
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 62
Join date : 2012-09-12

Nines swarming the base of my flyer Empty
PostSubject: Re: Nines swarming the base of my flyer   Nines swarming the base of my flyer I_icon_minitimeMon Feb 04 2013, 06:39

@Seshiru wrote:
It specifically says flyers can move over models as long as there aren't any models within 1" ate the END of your movement. So no unless there isn't any place to land you can move freely.

I would say that he can, in theory at least.Mainly due to the form of the flyer base and the "not within 1" to enemy model" rule on page 80 in the small rule book . "enemy models must still remain 1" away from the base of the flyer".
If the flyer base is swarmed, staying 1" away from the flyer base, and no room is left for the flyer to pivot then the flyer can't turn(?).


Back to top Go down
Vasara
Incognito assault marine
Vasara

Posts : 1160
Join date : 2012-08-22
Location : Vantaa

Nines swarming the base of my flyer Empty
PostSubject: Re: Nines swarming the base of my flyer   Nines swarming the base of my flyer I_icon_minitimeMon Feb 04 2013, 06:54

@Druchii wrote:
@Seshiru wrote:
It specifically says flyers can move over models as long as there aren't any models within 1" ate the END of your movement. So no unless there isn't any place to land you can move freely.

I would say that he can, in theory at least.Mainly due to the form of the flyer base and the "not within 1" to enemy model" rule on page 80 in the small rule book . "enemy models must still remain 1" away from the base of the flyer".
If the flyer base is swarmed, staying 1" away from the flyer base, and no room is left for the flyer to pivot then the flyer can't turn(?).



No because the turning is movement it can be done over other models. Only the end position matters related to other models.
Back to top Go down
Mushkilla
Arena Champion
Mushkilla

Posts : 4017
Join date : 2012-07-16
Location : Toroid Arena

Nines swarming the base of my flyer Empty
PostSubject: Re: Nines swarming the base of my flyer   Nines swarming the base of my flyer I_icon_minitimeMon Feb 04 2013, 07:26

@Vasara wrote:
No because the turning is movement it can be done over other models. Only the end position matters related to other models.

Agreed, it's only the final position that matters, so the tyranid player can't do that unfortunately for him.

_________________
Latest Report: BR4: The Repugnant Ramblers Vs Imperial Knights - 1250pts
Pragmatic Realspace Raider Series


“Even the Black Buzzards thought highly of him, and those maniacs were renowned for hating everyone.” - Tantalus, by Braden Campbell
Back to top Go down
Druchii
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 62
Join date : 2012-09-12

Nines swarming the base of my flyer Empty
PostSubject: Re: Nines swarming the base of my flyer   Nines swarming the base of my flyer I_icon_minitimeMon Feb 04 2013, 07:44

You guys are probably right. I'll agree on you on this but there are still a tad vague if you ask me ^^
But that's probably due to GWs rule writing I guess, or my weird way of reading rules. =)

This is how I see it.
"enemy models must still remain 1" away from the base of the flyer, AND the flyer cannot end its move with its base within 1" of another enemy model" p80.
If the fact was that you can pivot freely during the movement phase regardless of enemy models 1" away, the first part of the sentence would be unnecessary wouldn't it?



Back to top Go down
tlronin
Wych
avatar

Posts : 818
Join date : 2011-06-23
Location : The Netherlands

Nines swarming the base of my flyer Empty
PostSubject: Re: Nines swarming the base of my flyer   Nines swarming the base of my flyer I_icon_minitimeMon Feb 04 2013, 07:54

@tlronin wrote:
No such restriction in the book as far as I know. So, no... He can't.

I'll just repeat what I said then, because I already gave the answer.

@Druchii: As for your question (didn't see it before I posted), see mushkilla's reply. The rules you quote there are for the end position and for when a flyer enters ' hover' mode (because you can actually assault them then ' cause they function as a skimmer). Hope this clears it up.

_________________
Archon of the kabal of The Bleeding Hand.
Member of local Dutch community: http://www.sweetlakesentinels.nl
Back to top Go down
Seshiru
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 408
Join date : 2012-07-03

Nines swarming the base of my flyer Empty
PostSubject: Re: Nines swarming the base of my flyer   Nines swarming the base of my flyer I_icon_minitimeMon Feb 04 2013, 15:54

@Druchii wrote:
This is how I see it.
"enemy models must still remain 1" away from the base of the flyer, AND the flyer cannot end its move with its base within 1" of another enemy model" p80.
If the fact was that you can pivot freely during the movement phase regardless of enemy models 1" away, the first part of the sentence would be unnecessary wouldn't it?

The first part of this states what enemy models must do, so your opponent cannot just move himself within an inch of your base

_________________
The worst sort of protection is confidence. The best defense is suspicion.
Back to top Go down
Crazy_Ivan
Wych
Crazy_Ivan

Posts : 515
Join date : 2012-04-10
Location : Wellingborough

Nines swarming the base of my flyer Empty
PostSubject: Re: Nines swarming the base of my flyer   Nines swarming the base of my flyer I_icon_minitimeMon Feb 04 2013, 21:57

I thought this was dodgey when he did this, will provoke an interesting conversation next time we play if he tries it again.
Back to top Go down
ThePhish
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 66
Join date : 2011-06-17
Location : Birmingham, AL

Nines swarming the base of my flyer Empty
PostSubject: Re: Nines swarming the base of my flyer   Nines swarming the base of my flyer I_icon_minitimeWed Feb 06 2013, 18:42

The pivot rules specifically say what happens when the model pivots. Enemey models that are in base to base are removed, the model pivots, and the enemy models are placed back in base to base. I don't have my book on hand to reference page number.

Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




Nines swarming the base of my flyer Empty
PostSubject: Re: Nines swarming the base of my flyer   Nines swarming the base of my flyer I_icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
Nines swarming the base of my flyer
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: