THE DARK CITY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.



 
HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityRegisterLog in

 

 deepstriking flyers....again

Go down 
+3
pehldog63
Dra'al Nacht
dvs1
7 posters
AuthorMessage
dvs1
Slave
avatar

Posts : 11
Join date : 2013-01-27

deepstriking flyers....again Empty
PostSubject: deepstriking flyers....again   deepstriking flyers....again I_icon_minitimeSun Jan 27 2013, 03:43

I know this has been posted before, but I still don't see much response to it. The 6th ed FAQ states that flyers with the deep strike rule may still do so. What it doesn't say is its 'mode' while doing so. Does it count as zooming either at combat or cruising speed? Or maybe something completely different? It cannot hover, so it retains its flyer type, but what else? I just want to know how many guns I can shoot while deep striking, and if I can still 'evade'. Much appreciated
Back to top Go down
Dra'al Nacht
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 103
Join date : 2012-12-09
Location : Perth, Australia

deepstriking flyers....again Empty
PostSubject: Re: deepstriking flyers....again   deepstriking flyers....again I_icon_minitimeSun Jan 27 2013, 04:16

A Deep Striking vehicle is considered to be moving at Cruising Speed (BRB pg 36), so 36" if it suffers a locked velocity result. Zooming Flyers can fire up to 4 weapons at Combat or Cruising speeds (BRB pg 80). Yes, you can evade, but I recommend taking a flickerfield so you can still fire normally in your next turn.
Back to top Go down
pehldog63
Kabalite Warrior
pehldog63

Posts : 100
Join date : 2012-07-17

deepstriking flyers....again Empty
PostSubject: Re: deepstriking flyers....again   deepstriking flyers....again I_icon_minitimeTue Jan 29 2013, 00:49

A stupid question about deep striking flyer. How do you work deep strike mishap with a flyer? I am assuming it is like any other unit that has to roll on the mishap table.
Back to top Go down
Mushkilla
Arena Champion
Mushkilla

Posts : 4017
Join date : 2012-07-16
Location : Toroid Arena

deepstriking flyers....again Empty
PostSubject: Re: deepstriking flyers....again   deepstriking flyers....again I_icon_minitimeTue Jan 29 2013, 06:43

Yup, you mishap if you go off the board or land within 1" of an enemy unit.

_________________
Latest Report: BR4: The Repugnant Ramblers Vs Imperial Knights - 1250pts
Pragmatic Realspace Raider Series


“Even the Black Buzzards thought highly of him, and those maniacs were renowned for hating everyone.” - Tantalus, by Braden Campbell
Back to top Go down
Saintspirit
Court of Cruelty
Saintspirit

Posts : 1002
Join date : 2011-05-19
Location : Sweden

deepstriking flyers....again Empty
PostSubject: Re: deepstriking flyers....again   deepstriking flyers....again I_icon_minitimeTue Jan 29 2013, 09:03

A bit odd really - why shouldn't you be able to fly over the enemies? Then again, I suppose that if you deepstrike just above someone else, it might make for some mistakes... Rolling Eyes

_________________
Kabal of the Shadow Phoenix - Background
Kabal of the Shadow Phoenix - Painting Blog
Modelled: 2753 pts
Painted: 2263pts

shamroll wrote:
Dang! I was hoping Tyranids followed the Pokemon naming idea. A big Carnifex running around just yelling "Carnifex! Carni-Carnifex!" followed by a squad of termagants all saying "Termagant" to each other.
Back to top Go down
Shadows Revenge
Hierarch of Tactica
Shadows Revenge

Posts : 2587
Join date : 2011-08-10
Location : Bmore

deepstriking flyers....again Empty
PostSubject: Re: deepstriking flyers....again   deepstriking flyers....again I_icon_minitimeTue Jan 29 2013, 15:19

there is an arguement with deepstriking flyers dont roll the mishap due to the wording of how placing flyers 1" away from the enemy if they must land on them... but that is for a different discussion

_________________
Status:
Usurping Kabal leadership for his Patriarch

Current List:
First 2k GSC List
Back to top Go down
Mushkilla
Arena Champion
Mushkilla

Posts : 4017
Join date : 2012-07-16
Location : Toroid Arena

deepstriking flyers....again Empty
PostSubject: Re: deepstriking flyers....again   deepstriking flyers....again I_icon_minitimeTue Jan 29 2013, 15:25

@Shadows Revenge wrote:
there is an arguement with deepstriking flyers dont roll the mishap due to the wording of how placing flyers 1" away from the enemy if they must land on them... but that is for a different discussion

I thought I had read that somewhere but couldn't find it, got a page number?

_________________
Latest Report: BR4: The Repugnant Ramblers Vs Imperial Knights - 1250pts
Pragmatic Realspace Raider Series


“Even the Black Buzzards thought highly of him, and those maniacs were renowned for hating everyone.” - Tantalus, by Braden Campbell
Back to top Go down
Tiri Rana
Sybarite
Tiri Rana

Posts : 441
Join date : 2011-06-16
Location : Essen, Germany

deepstriking flyers....again Empty
PostSubject: Re: deepstriking flyers....again   deepstriking flyers....again I_icon_minitimeTue Jan 29 2013, 18:38

Can't find it either. The only two things I found are that a mishap occurs, if a model is partially or fully of the table, in impassible terrain, on top of friendly models or on top of or within 1" of enemy models, and that flyers can be physically above friendly or enemy models, but thy can't end their move with their base within 1" of enemy models.
So it seems like there is nothing to argue about. Flyers can't be placed within 1" of enemy models and if a deep striking model can't be placed a mishap occurs.

_________________
deepstriking flyers....again Tdcawardssigbestrules
I must rule with eye and claw — as the hawk among lesser birds.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




deepstriking flyers....again Empty
PostSubject: Re: deepstriking flyers....again   deepstriking flyers....again I_icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
deepstriking flyers....again
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: