THE DARK CITY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.



 
HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityRegisterLog in

 

 ROW vs SITW

Go down 
5 posters
AuthorMessage
Mt252368
Hellion
Mt252368

Posts : 38
Join date : 2012-11-13
Location : Canada, NS

ROW vs SITW Empty
PostSubject: ROW vs SITW   ROW vs SITW I_icon_minitimeThu Jan 17 2013, 01:42

Hey guys I have 2 questions.

What happens when a farseer with runes of witnessing casts a psychic power when within 12 inches of a tyranid with the shadow in the warp special rule.

Is it 4d6 discard the highest, then take the 2 lowest. Suffering perils of the warp on any roll of double 1's or double 6's.
So say if you rolled a 2, 6, 6, 6. Then you would discard a 6. The psychic test would be passed from the two lowest (2 and 6) but because the extra dice is a 6 you suffer perils.

This was what was suggested to me.

But both of the rules state that the psychic test be taken on 3d6. If the rules stated 'roll an extra d6' then I would think you would stack, to 4d6.


The second question I have is about the flyrants wings. If I am in range of just the flyrants wing am I able to shoot at it? The discussion was that when shooting at the tyrant, the wings are completely ignored.

These are just 2 things that came up during a game!

Thanks
Back to top Go down
Massaen
Klaivex
Massaen

Posts : 2268
Join date : 2011-07-05
Location : Western Australia

ROW vs SITW Empty
PostSubject: Re: ROW vs SITW   ROW vs SITW I_icon_minitimeThu Jan 17 2013, 03:53

From memory the RoW thing is in the FAQ. I need to get back to my pc to check.

As for the wings, LOS could not be drawn to them to the best of my memory

_________________
Objective Secured - Western Australia's Premier 40k Event Organisers and Website
OBJECTIVE SECURED
Back to top Go down
http://objectivesecured.com.au/
Thor665
Archon
Thor665

Posts : 5526
Join date : 2011-06-10
Location : Venice, FL

ROW vs SITW Empty
PostSubject: Re: ROW vs SITW   ROW vs SITW I_icon_minitimeThu Jan 17 2013, 04:06

RoW + Shadow - both powers have been FAQed to 'roll an extra die' I would tend to believe you guys played that correctly. It should be 4d6, discard the highest, and then see if you have any double ones or sixes.

As far as wings go, the answer your looking for is in the core rulebook, page 8, 'line of sight' second column and second paragraph. Short answer - you ignore wings.

_________________
ROW vs SITW K93hWhs
ROW vs SITW L1RsnGX
The Title Troupe! - Nom fellow posters for custom titles.
Back to top Go down
Mt252368
Hellion
Mt252368

Posts : 38
Join date : 2012-11-13
Location : Canada, NS

ROW vs SITW Empty
PostSubject: Re: ROW vs SITW   ROW vs SITW I_icon_minitimeThu Jan 17 2013, 04:08

Ok, thanks guys!


Edit: I will try to search the relevant FAQ's and rulebook more in depth next time.
Back to top Go down
Massaen
Klaivex
Massaen

Posts : 2268
Join date : 2011-07-05
Location : Western Australia

ROW vs SITW Empty
PostSubject: Re: ROW vs SITW   ROW vs SITW I_icon_minitimeThu Jan 17 2013, 05:24

I thought ROW went back to 3d6 in the latest FAQ

_________________
Objective Secured - Western Australia's Premier 40k Event Organisers and Website
OBJECTIVE SECURED
Back to top Go down
http://objectivesecured.com.au/
Thor665
Archon
Thor665

Posts : 5526
Join date : 2011-06-10
Location : Venice, FL

ROW vs SITW Empty
PostSubject: Re: ROW vs SITW   ROW vs SITW I_icon_minitimeThu Jan 17 2013, 06:27

You would be remembering that wrong, the Jan13 FAQ is 'add an extra die'.

_________________
ROW vs SITW K93hWhs
ROW vs SITW L1RsnGX
The Title Troupe! - Nom fellow posters for custom titles.
Back to top Go down
Massaen
Klaivex
Massaen

Posts : 2268
Join date : 2011-07-05
Location : Western Australia

ROW vs SITW Empty
PostSubject: Re: ROW vs SITW   ROW vs SITW I_icon_minitimeThu Jan 17 2013, 07:31

It's runes of warding I am thinking of maybe

_________________
Objective Secured - Western Australia's Premier 40k Event Organisers and Website
OBJECTIVE SECURED
Back to top Go down
http://objectivesecured.com.au/
Shadows Revenge
Hierarch of Tactica
Shadows Revenge

Posts : 2587
Join date : 2011-08-10
Location : Bmore

ROW vs SITW Empty
PostSubject: Re: ROW vs SITW   ROW vs SITW I_icon_minitimeThu Jan 17 2013, 14:57

Quote :
Page 26 – Runes of Warding.
Change the last sentence to: “All enemy Psykers must roll an
extra dice when taking Psychic tests, suffering Perils of the
Warp on any roll of 12 or above.”

Page 26 – Runes of Witnessing.
Change the last two sentences to: “A Farseer with runes of
witnessing must roll an extra dice when taking Psychic tests and
discards the highest result.

Q: What happens when a Farseer with Runes of Witnessing rolls for his
Psychic test when there is an enemy Farseer with Runes of Warding on
the battlefield? (p26)
A: The two pieces of wargear cancel each other out; neither
takes effect..

Q: Are the effects of the multiple Runes of Warding cumulative (i.e. two
Runes of Warding in range would cause the character to roll 4D6 when
taking psychic tests)? (p26)
A: No.

Now lets look at the Tyranid FAQ

Quote :
Page 33 – Shadow in the Warp, second paragraph.
Change to “Any enemy psyker within 12” of a Tyranid with the
Shadow in the Warp special rule must roll an extra dice when
taking Psychic tests, and will suffer a Perils of the Warp attack
on the roll of any double 1 or double 6.

So for me, since Shadows and RoW sound the same (adding another die to the psychic test) then I feel that RoWi + Shadows would work the same as RoW + RoWi, which would be just roll two dice, and ofc add in you suffer perils on double 1s or 6s

_________________
Status:
Usurping Kabal leadership for his Patriarch

Current List:
First 2k GSC List
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
Count Adhemar

Posts : 7568
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

ROW vs SITW Empty
PostSubject: Re: ROW vs SITW   ROW vs SITW I_icon_minitimeThu Jan 17 2013, 15:09

As Tyranids cannot ally with anyone, the only way you're going to have this occur is the pretty unlikely case of an army that is allies of convenience or desparate allies with Eldar casting a psychic power whilst an allied Farseer with RoW is on the table and whilst within 12" of a Tyranid with SitW.

Personally, if I bring allies with RoW or a similar ability, I make sure I don't have psychic powers and/or they are Battle Brothers as I don't want them nerfing my own abilities.

_________________
ROW vs SITW YhBv3Wk
You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




ROW vs SITW Empty
PostSubject: Re: ROW vs SITW   ROW vs SITW I_icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
ROW vs SITW
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: