THE DARK CITY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.



 
HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityRegisterLog in

 

 New guy question on reaver turboboost and move 2D6 inches to cover

Go down 
+4
Hess
Mushkilla
Massaen
Sathonyx
8 posters
AuthorMessage
Sathonyx
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 78
Join date : 2012-12-01
Location : southeast New Hampshire

New guy question on reaver turboboost and move 2D6 inches to cover Empty
PostSubject: New guy question on reaver turboboost and move 2D6 inches to cover   New guy question on reaver turboboost and move 2D6 inches to cover I_icon_minitimeSat Dec 29 2012, 07:14

A buddy of mine who plays DE told me that DE jetbikes can still make that 2D6" move to cover AFTER you also turboboosted 36". I know the turboboost rule says if you elect to turboboost, you can't take/make/do any further voluntary action for the rest of the turn. A paragraph or 2 later it says "in addition to all the rules above, a DE reaver can make a 2D6" move to cover. My understanding is that the 2D6" move to cover can only be used if the bike moved 12" then shot, THEN make 2D6" move to cover.....BUT NOT if you turboboosted. Is my experienced buddy right in saying you can move 2D6" to cover AFTER turboboosting or am I right that if you turboboost, thats it for the turn?
Back to top Go down
Massaen
Klaivex
Massaen

Posts : 2268
Join date : 2011-07-05
Location : Western Australia

New guy question on reaver turboboost and move 2D6 inches to cover Empty
PostSubject: Re: New guy question on reaver turboboost and move 2D6 inches to cover   New guy question on reaver turboboost and move 2D6 inches to cover I_icon_minitimeSat Dec 29 2012, 08:22

Nope, no 2d6 after turbo boost. It specifically says no voluntary actions after a turbo boost. As you are not required to assault move the 2d6 (Ie the extra move is voluntary) you are not permitted to

_________________
Objective Secured - Western Australia's Premier 40k Event Organisers and Website
OBJECTIVE SECURED
Back to top Go down
http://objectivesecured.com.au/
Mushkilla
Arena Champion
Mushkilla

Posts : 4017
Join date : 2012-07-16
Location : Toroid Arena

New guy question on reaver turboboost and move 2D6 inches to cover Empty
PostSubject: Re: New guy question on reaver turboboost and move 2D6 inches to cover   New guy question on reaver turboboost and move 2D6 inches to cover I_icon_minitimeSat Dec 29 2012, 10:49

Quote :
Bikes and Jetbikes therefore cannot shoot, charge or execute any other voluntary action for the rest of the turn after turbo-boosting - BRB page 45 Under Turno-Boost

Sorry to disappoint you, the rules clearly state you cannot perform "any other voluntary action for the rest of the turn", the eldar jetbike move is a voluntary action, so it's about as clear as rules get. Anything else is just wishful thinking.

Hope that helps. Very Happy

_________________
Latest Report: BR4: The Repugnant Ramblers Vs Imperial Knights - 1250pts
Pragmatic Realspace Raider Series


“Even the Black Buzzards thought highly of him, and those maniacs were renowned for hating everyone.” - Tantalus, by Braden Campbell
Back to top Go down
Hess
Hellion
Hess

Posts : 66
Join date : 2012-11-18
Location : Bodymoore, MURDAHLAND

New guy question on reaver turboboost and move 2D6 inches to cover Empty
PostSubject: Re: New guy question on reaver turboboost and move 2D6 inches to cover   New guy question on reaver turboboost and move 2D6 inches to cover I_icon_minitimeSat Dec 29 2012, 11:01

I still disagree. The "additionally" part makes me think you can do it. It's the difference between us and other bikes.

_________________
Newly DE player since December.
Back to top Go down
http://www.mein.dk
SleepyPillow
Kabalite Warrior
SleepyPillow

Posts : 188
Join date : 2012-04-07
Location : Germany

New guy question on reaver turboboost and move 2D6 inches to cover Empty
PostSubject: Re: New guy question on reaver turboboost and move 2D6 inches to cover   New guy question on reaver turboboost and move 2D6 inches to cover I_icon_minitimeSat Dec 29 2012, 11:28

@Hess wrote:
I still disagree. The "additionally" part makes me think you can do it. It's the difference between us and other bikes.

Occupy the 1%.

_________________
Once committed, fear not the blade.
Back to top Go down
Mushkilla
Arena Champion
Mushkilla

Posts : 4017
Join date : 2012-07-16
Location : Toroid Arena

New guy question on reaver turboboost and move 2D6 inches to cover Empty
PostSubject: Re: New guy question on reaver turboboost and move 2D6 inches to cover   New guy question on reaver turboboost and move 2D6 inches to cover I_icon_minitimeSat Dec 29 2012, 11:33

@Hess wrote:
I still disagree. The "additionally" part makes me think you can do it. It's the difference between us and other bikes.

Answer me this: Is the extra 2d6 move in the assault phase a voluntary action?

_________________
Latest Report: BR4: The Repugnant Ramblers Vs Imperial Knights - 1250pts
Pragmatic Realspace Raider Series


“Even the Black Buzzards thought highly of him, and those maniacs were renowned for hating everyone.” - Tantalus, by Braden Campbell
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
Count Adhemar

Posts : 7568
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

New guy question on reaver turboboost and move 2D6 inches to cover Empty
PostSubject: Re: New guy question on reaver turboboost and move 2D6 inches to cover   New guy question on reaver turboboost and move 2D6 inches to cover I_icon_minitimeSat Dec 29 2012, 11:40

If we read what the rules actually say rather than a paraphrased version of what we'd like them to say we can clearly see that this is not open to debate.

Quote :
In additlon to following all the rules for Jetbikes, Eldar Jetbikes may move up to 2D6" in the Assault phase

What are the rules for Jetbikes?

Quote :
Bikes and Jetbikes therefore cannot shoot, charge or execute any other voluntary action for the rest of the turn after Turbo-boosting

_________________
New guy question on reaver turboboost and move 2D6 inches to cover YhBv3Wk
You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Seelenberührer
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 40
Join date : 2011-12-15
Location : Berlin

New guy question on reaver turboboost and move 2D6 inches to cover Empty
PostSubject: Re: New guy question on reaver turboboost and move 2D6 inches to cover   New guy question on reaver turboboost and move 2D6 inches to cover I_icon_minitimeSat Dec 29 2012, 12:25

Yeah. If it had said something like "...even if they turboboosted that turn", then it would be different. But the jetbike rules actively preclude them from doing it. The "additionally" is because that is an extra ability, as in, other people can't do that.

@SleepyPillow wrote:

Occupy the 1%.

Word
Back to top Go down
bleum937
Slave
avatar

Posts : 21
Join date : 2012-09-19

New guy question on reaver turboboost and move 2D6 inches to cover Empty
PostSubject: Re: New guy question on reaver turboboost and move 2D6 inches to cover   New guy question on reaver turboboost and move 2D6 inches to cover I_icon_minitimeSat Dec 29 2012, 13:50

Oops, I just realised I may have mistakenly taken that jetbike move after a turbo-boost a couple times. Embarassed I really need to read my rules more carefully!

At least, I don't think the move was very important, as I usually turbo-boost into cover anyway.

_________________
Kabal of the Crystal Fang | Cult of the Shattered Tear
4W| 4D | 3L
Back to top Go down
Seelenberührer
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 40
Join date : 2011-12-15
Location : Berlin

New guy question on reaver turboboost and move 2D6 inches to cover Empty
PostSubject: Re: New guy question on reaver turboboost and move 2D6 inches to cover   New guy question on reaver turboboost and move 2D6 inches to cover I_icon_minitimeSat Dec 29 2012, 14:15

I don't think it's very helpfully phrased in the book. I can totally understand why people might have made this mistake. I've made this mistake myself. It would be a bit more generously written if it just had some parenthetical remark such as "(unless, of course, they turboboosted in this turn)".
Back to top Go down
Sathonyx
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 78
Join date : 2012-12-01
Location : southeast New Hampshire

New guy question on reaver turboboost and move 2D6 inches to cover Empty
PostSubject: Re: New guy question on reaver turboboost and move 2D6 inches to cover   New guy question on reaver turboboost and move 2D6 inches to cover I_icon_minitimeMon Dec 31 2012, 01:14

I thought the rule was clear! My "experienced veteran" DE buddy will be greatly disappointed. I HIGHLY suspected him of twisting things to his own liking.......but afterall, he is a DE general......mwahahaha. Thanks for POSITIVE clarification guys.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




New guy question on reaver turboboost and move 2D6 inches to cover Empty
PostSubject: Re: New guy question on reaver turboboost and move 2D6 inches to cover   New guy question on reaver turboboost and move 2D6 inches to cover I_icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
New guy question on reaver turboboost and move 2D6 inches to cover
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: