THE DARK CITY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.



 
HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityRegisterLog in

 

 Cant they embark? (w/ picture)

Go down 
AuthorMessage
WeeDawgNYC
In Exile
avatar

Posts : 66
Join date : 2011-06-10

Cant they embark? (w/ picture) Empty
PostSubject: Cant they embark? (w/ picture)   Cant they embark? (w/ picture) I_icon_minitimeSat Jun 11 2011, 00:55

Ok so below is my example:

Haemonculus (red) leaves unit of Incubi (white) & moves withing 2" of Raider (empty) & embarks.
Now Warrior unit (blue) move up to within 2" & wish to embark...can they?

My opponent says that you can only embark 1 unit per turn, I say that I can emabrk both because:
a) I have room
b) Blue have no attched character
c) The Raider has not moved yet

can anyone please lend their expertise to the matter?


Cant they embark? (w/ picture) Cantheyembark

Thank you.
Back to top Go down
abjectus
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 225
Join date : 2011-06-09
Location : rural area outside of Chicago, IL

Cant they embark? (w/ picture) Empty
PostSubject: Re: Cant they embark? (w/ picture)   Cant they embark? (w/ picture) I_icon_minitimeSat Jun 11 2011, 01:24

if warriors move, embark, and the homunculus embarks and joins them, it is only one unit.
I don't remember a limit on units per turn being stated anywhere. No reason to since you can only carry one unit at a time with non-super heavies, Don't have rule book with me at moment, if anything prevents what you have pictured it would be details of exact wording. I my opinion to make a claim on technicality like that he/she should have pointed to exact section of book when making claim, or point it out after game if he didn't want to slow game down with rule debate. to each there own
Back to top Go down
WeeDawgNYC
In Exile
avatar

Posts : 66
Join date : 2011-06-10

Cant they embark? (w/ picture) Empty
PostSubject: Re: Cant they embark? (w/ picture)   Cant they embark? (w/ picture) I_icon_minitimeSat Jun 11 2011, 01:50

His claim is that the IC is its own unit if not combined with the warriors, But I did agreee with him on that but also explained that they become one unit once embarked but he wasnt having it & quit..
Back to top Go down
Lysis
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 34
Join date : 2011-05-30
Location : St. Louis, MO. USA

Cant they embark? (w/ picture) Empty
PostSubject: Re: Cant they embark? (w/ picture)   Cant they embark? (w/ picture) I_icon_minitimeSat Jun 11 2011, 03:29

Look under "Transport Vehicles" for Independent Characters embarking and disembarking... In the little book, it's pg67

Quote :
If either an independent character or a unit is already in a vehicle, the other may join them by embarking too (assuming, of course, that there is enough space left)...

_________________
Lysis

"Build a man a fire, and he will be warm for the night.
Set a man on fire and he will be warm for the rest of his life."
Back to top Go down
abjectus
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 225
Join date : 2011-06-09
Location : rural area outside of Chicago, IL

Cant they embark? (w/ picture) Empty
PostSubject: Re: Cant they embark? (w/ picture)   Cant they embark? (w/ picture) I_icon_minitimeSat Jun 11 2011, 03:47

that pretty black and white. page numbers match in both rule books if I remember correct, extra pages are all at the back.
WeeDawgNYC, did I understand correctly, your opponent quit mid-game over a that little rule dispute?
Back to top Go down
WeeDawgNYC
In Exile
avatar

Posts : 66
Join date : 2011-06-10

Cant they embark? (w/ picture) Empty
PostSubject: Re: Cant they embark? (w/ picture)   Cant they embark? (w/ picture) I_icon_minitimeSat Jun 11 2011, 05:12

@abjectus wrote:
that pretty black and white. page numbers match in both rule books if I remember correct, extra pages are all at the back.
WeeDawgNYC, did I understand correctly, your opponent quit mid-game over a that little rule dispute?

YES!! bottom of turn 3 & without giving me the opportunity to reference the rulebook.. Mad
Back to top Go down
abjectus
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 225
Join date : 2011-06-09
Location : rural area outside of Chicago, IL

Cant they embark? (w/ picture) Empty
PostSubject: Re: Cant they embark? (w/ picture)   Cant they embark? (w/ picture) I_icon_minitimeSat Jun 11 2011, 06:05

That is bizarre. I have never seen anyone with a rule issue quit without checking the rulebook. I've seen people arguing with rulebooks in hand about coma placement before storming off.
Back to top Go down
WeeDawgNYC
In Exile
avatar

Posts : 66
Join date : 2011-06-10

Cant they embark? (w/ picture) Empty
PostSubject: Re: Cant they embark? (w/ picture)   Cant they embark? (w/ picture) I_icon_minitimeSat Jun 11 2011, 06:09

well I play Vassal 40k (online) & its common for ppl to rage quit. & there was alot of rules quarrel, he made his return after about a year in hiatus.
Back to top Go down
abjectus
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 225
Join date : 2011-06-09
Location : rural area outside of Chicago, IL

Cant they embark? (w/ picture) Empty
PostSubject: Re: Cant they embark? (w/ picture)   Cant they embark? (w/ picture) I_icon_minitimeSat Jun 11 2011, 06:49

Well, that explains a little. I have seen people quit online games for weird reasons. A lot easier to storm off when they don't have to repack. Still ridiculous to quit over that in my opinion. I have only seen 1 person rage quit in face to face game. 2vs2 2000pt each two of the other players argued about the effect of coma placement in a codex till they were yelling at top of lungs. One left, and game ended as 2vs1. It was back in 3rd edition, so I don't remember any other details.
Back to top Go down
WeeDawgNYC
In Exile
avatar

Posts : 66
Join date : 2011-06-10

Cant they embark? (w/ picture) Empty
PostSubject: Re: Cant they embark? (w/ picture)   Cant they embark? (w/ picture) I_icon_minitimeSat Jun 11 2011, 07:00

OMGoodness are you serious..over a coma?! Thats funny...
Back to top Go down
abjectus
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 225
Join date : 2011-06-09
Location : rural area outside of Chicago, IL

Cant they embark? (w/ picture) Empty
PostSubject: Re: Cant they embark? (w/ picture)   Cant they embark? (w/ picture) I_icon_minitimeSat Jun 11 2011, 09:19

well, it was an important coma. It altered the meaning of a rule enough it could change the outcome of game. I think it may have made on of the armies an illegal list, or wiped out hundreds of points, don't remember.
It was something on the scale of every model in grey knight army needs leadership vs crucible of malediction , and assorted wargear puts tests at -3 ld, or 1 model per squad at ld -1. Very weird case made exact meaning of comma determine who was right. It was before codex:demonhunters came out, but it was something with that kind of effect on the guy that lefts army. They should have flipped a coin (they both had very good cases for being right) before it came to yelling.
Back to top Go down
WeeDawgNYC
In Exile
avatar

Posts : 66
Join date : 2011-06-10

Cant they embark? (w/ picture) Empty
PostSubject: Re: Cant they embark? (w/ picture)   Cant they embark? (w/ picture) I_icon_minitimeSat Jun 11 2011, 16:43

A roll-off is good to determine these things.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




Cant they embark? (w/ picture) Empty
PostSubject: Re: Cant they embark? (w/ picture)   Cant they embark? (w/ picture) I_icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
Cant they embark? (w/ picture)
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: