THE DARK CITY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.



 
HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityRegisterLog in

 

 Venom Blade and Huskblade

Go down 
4 posters
AuthorMessage
Bookkeeper
Hellion
Bookkeeper

Posts : 40
Join date : 2012-09-14
Location : The Puzzle Box

Venom Blade and Huskblade Empty
PostSubject: Venom Blade and Huskblade   Venom Blade and Huskblade I_icon_minitimeFri Sep 21 2012, 13:18

I saw several people describing their Archon's loadout as carrying both of these weapons. How does that work in play? It seems that, per the rules, you can't combine the effects, so do you choose each round (that is, this round I wound you on a 2+. next round, if you take a wound you die)?
Back to top Go down
tlronin
Wych
avatar

Posts : 818
Join date : 2011-06-23
Location : The Netherlands

Venom Blade and Huskblade Empty
PostSubject: Re: Venom Blade and Huskblade   Venom Blade and Huskblade I_icon_minitimeFri Sep 21 2012, 13:40

You choose each fight-subphase which weapon you use.

_________________
Archon of the kabal of The Bleeding Hand.
Member of local Dutch community: http://www.sweetlakesentinels.nl
Back to top Go down
Kayto_Karite
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 84
Join date : 2011-07-30
Location : Norfolk, VA

Venom Blade and Huskblade Empty
PostSubject: Re: Venom Blade and Huskblade   Venom Blade and Huskblade I_icon_minitimeFri Sep 21 2012, 16:00

@tlronin wrote:
You choose each fight-subphase which weapon you use.

Is correct.

Now I will explain why this is a good option. See in 5th if you had any kind of Special Weapon (exluding TH, PF, CF, and LC) you could only get +1 Attack if you also had a pistol or CCW.

5th Edition Example:
Venom Blade + Huskblade = No +1 Attack
Venom Blade + Splinter Pistol (or CCW) = +1 Attack

In 6th edition they change that rule. As long as your weapon doesn't have the Specialist rule you can always get the +1 Attack if you have any kind of pistol or Melee Weapon.

6th Example:
Venom Blade + Huskblade = +1 Attack
Power Fist (Specialist) + Bolt Pistol = No +1 Attack

So this now gives the Archon options depending what he/she has to fight. You can now go against any kind of MC and still wound a 2+ or go against a T4 or less and use the Huskblade.

_________________
”We the unwilling, led by the ungrateful, are doing the impossible. We've done so much, for so long, with so little, that we are now qualified to do something with nothing." - Konstantin Josef Jireček

My Dark Eldar Blog: The Shardnet and Impaler - Dark Eldar Lists
Back to top Go down
http://www.theshardnetandimpaler.com/
Bookkeeper
Hellion
Bookkeeper

Posts : 40
Join date : 2012-09-14
Location : The Puzzle Box

Venom Blade and Huskblade Empty
PostSubject: Re: Venom Blade and Huskblade   Venom Blade and Huskblade I_icon_minitimeFri Sep 21 2012, 18:21

Thanks for the replies! I'm assembling my Archon now, so I'm in quandary about how to arm him.
Back to top Go down
Mushkilla
Arena Champion
Mushkilla

Posts : 4017
Join date : 2012-07-16
Location : Toroid Arena

Venom Blade and Huskblade Empty
PostSubject: Re: Venom Blade and Huskblade   Venom Blade and Huskblade I_icon_minitimeFri Sep 21 2012, 18:38

I don't think you can go wrong with:

Archon, SField, STrap, HBlade, VBlade - 140pts

Husktrap archons were a lot of fun to play in 5th and now the Huskblade got better (because everything else got worse), you can use the Venom blade as a backup weapon and challenges make soul trapping easier, not to mention archons are generally more survivable this edition thanks to Look Out Sir.

_________________
Latest Report: BR4: The Repugnant Ramblers Vs Imperial Knights - 1250pts
Pragmatic Realspace Raider Series


“Even the Black Buzzards thought highly of him, and those maniacs were renowned for hating everyone.” - Tantalus, by Braden Campbell
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




Venom Blade and Huskblade Empty
PostSubject: Re: Venom Blade and Huskblade   Venom Blade and Huskblade I_icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
Venom Blade and Huskblade
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: