THE DARK CITY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.



 
HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityRegisterLog in

 

 Assaulting a dead enemy

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Scorpion
Master of Mandrakes
avatar

Posts : 254
Join date : 2012-07-31

Assaulting a dead enemy Empty
PostSubject: Assaulting a dead enemy   Assaulting a dead enemy I_icon_minitimeTue Aug 28 2012, 23:00

If you kill a unit in shooting phase, can you then assault another? The book says that I can ONLY assault the unit I shot at...But if the unit dies by shooting then what?
Back to top Go down
Darkgreen Pirate
Sybarite
Darkgreen Pirate

Posts : 302
Join date : 2012-01-06
Location : The Great White North

Assaulting a dead enemy Empty
PostSubject: Re: Assaulting a dead enemy   Assaulting a dead enemy I_icon_minitimeTue Aug 28 2012, 23:35

afaik, you are boned. At least thats how its played around here.

_________________
“If an injury is to be done to an enemy, it should be so severe that his vengeance need not be feared”
- Archon Niccolò Machiavelli
Back to top Go down
Enfernux
Wych
Enfernux

Posts : 823
Join date : 2012-05-31
Location : Hungary, Szeged

Assaulting a dead enemy Empty
PostSubject: Re: Assaulting a dead enemy   Assaulting a dead enemy I_icon_minitimeWed Aug 29 2012, 00:32

if the unit dies to shooting, then you dont assault. Its that simple, and its in the book. You cant assault a unite that isnt there - like you can declare you want to assault the drop pod that isnt in play, but in reserve and will come on.
Q: is it on the field?
a)Yes. - Shoot it
b)No. - do nothing
a)Q: did you kill the unite?
a)Yes. - tough luck
b)No. - assault!
b)Q? are you kiddin' me?!

_________________


Back to top Go down
https://www.facebook.com/enfer.nux?ref=tn_tnmn
Shadows Revenge
Hierarch of Tactica
Shadows Revenge

Posts : 2587
Join date : 2011-08-10
Location : Bmore

Assaulting a dead enemy Empty
PostSubject: Re: Assaulting a dead enemy   Assaulting a dead enemy I_icon_minitimeWed Aug 29 2012, 03:54

you can only assault the unit you shot, so if you think you will whipe them out, dont shoot.

_________________
Status:
Usurping Kabal leadership for his Patriarch

Current List:
First 2k GSC List
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
Count Adhemar

Posts : 7568
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

Assaulting a dead enemy Empty
PostSubject: Re: Assaulting a dead enemy   Assaulting a dead enemy I_icon_minitimeWed Aug 29 2012, 09:43

There was a big argument about this on Bolter & Chainsword forums a year or so ago because someone decided that the way the 5e rules were formatted (not even written - formatted) meant that the restriction on only assaulting the unit that you shot didn't apply. He was in a minority of one though.

Short answer, if you shoot at a unit in the shooting phase and kill it you cannot assault anything. Only exception is that if you destroy a transport by shooting you can asault the unit that was embarked in it.

_________________
Assaulting a dead enemy YhBv3Wk
You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Seshiru
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 408
Join date : 2012-07-03

Assaulting a dead enemy Empty
PostSubject: Re: Assaulting a dead enemy   Assaulting a dead enemy I_icon_minitimeWed Aug 29 2012, 16:38

Where can you find said exception?

_________________
The worst sort of protection is confidence. The best defense is suspicion.
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
Count Adhemar

Posts : 7568
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

Assaulting a dead enemy Empty
PostSubject: Re: Assaulting a dead enemy   Assaulting a dead enemy I_icon_minitimeWed Aug 29 2012, 16:52

Don't have rulebook with me I'm afraid but it will probably be in the assault section, or possibly in the transport section.

_________________
Assaulting a dead enemy YhBv3Wk
You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Massaen
Klaivex
Massaen

Posts : 2268
Join date : 2011-07-05
Location : Western Australia

Assaulting a dead enemy Empty
PostSubject: Re: Assaulting a dead enemy   Assaulting a dead enemy I_icon_minitimeWed Aug 29 2012, 17:52

you can indeed charge a unit that has had its transport destroyed - page 80, right hand column, 3rd paragraph

_________________
Objective Secured - Western Australia's Premier 40k Event Organisers and Website
OBJECTIVE SECURED
Back to top Go down
http://objectivesecured.com.au/
Evil Space Elves
Haemonculus Ancient
Evil Space Elves

Posts : 3717
Join date : 2011-07-13
Location : Santa Cruz, ca

Assaulting a dead enemy Empty
PostSubject: Re: Assaulting a dead enemy   Assaulting a dead enemy I_icon_minitimeWed Aug 29 2012, 17:59

@Massaen wrote:
you can indeed charge a unit that has had its transport destroyed - page 80, right hand column, 3rd paragraph

How had I not noticed this before?! affraid Useful, useful stuff, though I tend to try to blow up transports from a distance. Awesome.

_________________
Assaulting a dead enemy JVMWVbU
"Solutions are good, how many dark eldar archons can you find sitting in their throne rooms whining that they used to rule the universe? Exactly."  -The Burning Eye
Splintermind: The Dark Eldar Podcast
My Dark Eldar Project Log
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
Count Adhemar

Posts : 7568
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

Assaulting a dead enemy Empty
PostSubject: Re: Assaulting a dead enemy   Assaulting a dead enemy I_icon_minitimeWed Aug 29 2012, 18:56

@Evil Space Elves wrote:
@Massaen wrote:
you can indeed charge a unit that has had its transport destroyed - page 80, right hand column, 3rd paragraph

How had I not noticed this before?! affraid Useful, useful stuff, though I tend to try to blow up transports from a distance. Awesome.

This was also the case in 5th edition by the way. Not to rub salt in the wounds or anything. Very Happy

_________________
Assaulting a dead enemy YhBv3Wk
You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Cavash
Lord of the Chat
Cavash

Posts : 3237
Join date : 2012-04-15
Location : Stuck in an air vent spying on plotters

Assaulting a dead enemy Empty
PostSubject: Re: Assaulting a dead enemy   Assaulting a dead enemy I_icon_minitimeWed Aug 29 2012, 19:08

Wow, I didn't actually know that... I'm glad I know now, though! Very Happy

_________________

Assaulting a dead enemy YiVCUio
Back to top Go down
Crimson Dom
Slave
Crimson Dom

Posts : 8
Join date : 2012-08-09
Location : Bristol

Assaulting a dead enemy Empty
PostSubject: Re: Assaulting a dead enemy   Assaulting a dead enemy I_icon_minitimeWed Aug 29 2012, 19:17

Yes, that rule is brilliant; especially combined with the ability to throw grenades at vehicles. I threw HWG at a rhino, knocked the last hull point off then charged the marines as they fell out.

_________________
Armies:
Dark Eldar - My first army since the dark days of 3rd Ed.
Vanilla Marines - Built for 4th Ed and going strong
Grey Knights - More a fun inquisitorial force; now with Guard allies!
Back to top Go down
tlronin
Wych
avatar

Posts : 818
Join date : 2011-06-23
Location : The Netherlands

Assaulting a dead enemy Empty
PostSubject: Re: Assaulting a dead enemy   Assaulting a dead enemy I_icon_minitimeThu Aug 30 2012, 13:16

Every time I throw a bloody grenade it scatters on my own head! Stupid scatter...

_________________
Archon of the kabal of The Bleeding Hand.
Member of local Dutch community: http://www.sweetlakesentinels.nl
Back to top Go down
Enfernux
Wych
Enfernux

Posts : 823
Join date : 2012-05-31
Location : Hungary, Szeged

Assaulting a dead enemy Empty
PostSubject: Re: Assaulting a dead enemy   Assaulting a dead enemy I_icon_minitimeThu Aug 30 2012, 13:35

@tlronin: "what is love?" well what your scatter feals for you isnt ^^

_________________


Back to top Go down
https://www.facebook.com/enfer.nux?ref=tn_tnmn
tlronin
Wych
avatar

Posts : 818
Join date : 2011-06-23
Location : The Netherlands

Assaulting a dead enemy Empty
PostSubject: Re: Assaulting a dead enemy   Assaulting a dead enemy I_icon_minitimeThu Aug 30 2012, 13:41

Exactly. No love from my scatter dice man.

_________________
Archon of the kabal of The Bleeding Hand.
Member of local Dutch community: http://www.sweetlakesentinels.nl
Back to top Go down
Seshiru
Sybarite
avatar

Posts : 408
Join date : 2012-07-03

Assaulting a dead enemy Empty
PostSubject: Re: Assaulting a dead enemy   Assaulting a dead enemy I_icon_minitimeThu Aug 30 2012, 15:45

thank you, and yes i knew it was that way in 5th, but for some reason I was under the impression it wasn't that way in 6th

_________________
The worst sort of protection is confidence. The best defense is suspicion.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




Assaulting a dead enemy Empty
PostSubject: Re: Assaulting a dead enemy   Assaulting a dead enemy I_icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
Assaulting a dead enemy
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: