THE DARK CITY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.



 
HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityRegisterLog in

 

 Questions about premeasuring and multi-assault.

Go down 
4 posters
AuthorMessage
Ruke
Wych
Ruke

Posts : 731
Join date : 2012-02-18
Location : WayX

Questions about premeasuring and multi-assault. Empty
PostSubject: Questions about premeasuring and multi-assault.   Questions about premeasuring and multi-assault. I_icon_minitimeTue Jul 17 2012, 07:13

Ok, first off: When are you allowed to premeasure? During a game tonight, I premeasured my splinter cannons during my movement phase, and my opponent told me that it wasn't allowed. He said that its ok to premeasure in your shooting phase, and for assaults, but not in the movement phase. Looking through the book, I didn't see any mention of being able to premeasure in the movement phase, but was hoping I just overlooked it.

Secondly, I went to do a multi assault with my harlies against some lootas and gitboyz. While I got plenty of models in base contact with the lootas, I only got 2 in base contact with the Gitz, but had two models within 2" of the models in b2b with the gits (these 2 models were in base contact with the lootas). The question came up of whether or not I could allocate the attacks from the two harlies in b2b with the lootas (but within range to attack the Gitz) to the Gitz, since that how it played out in 5th, and it's rather vague about multi-assaults in 6th. My opponent said no go, so I ended up overassaulting the lootas, and underassaulting the gitz and losing about half the squad of harlies as a result. What do you all think of this?

_________________
No tears, please. It's a waste of good suffering.
Back to top Go down
Mr Believer
Wych
Mr Believer

Posts : 727
Join date : 2011-09-11
Location : Nottinghamshire, UK

Questions about premeasuring and multi-assault. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Questions about premeasuring and multi-assault.   Questions about premeasuring and multi-assault. I_icon_minitimeTue Jul 17 2012, 11:41

"You can always check any distance at any time" (BRB, page 4). So if you want to check something is going to be in range after you've moved, but before you've moved any models, they can't stop you. Even if they say you have to wait until the appropriate phase or whatever, measure the distance between the two units and use the excuse that you're just making absolutely sure that you're not going to move them closer than is allowed and are very bad at estimating distances...

In the multi-assault, if the Harlies were in base contact with the lootas, they would have to attack them, even if they were within two inches of a model in base contact with the gitz. If they had somehow made it into base contact with both units, or were not in base contact but within two inches of models that were with both, then they could choose where they directed their attacks.

_________________
My other car is a Ravager
Back to top Go down
Allandrel
Kabalite Warrior
Allandrel

Posts : 211
Join date : 2012-02-25
Location : Ohio

Questions about premeasuring and multi-assault. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Questions about premeasuring and multi-assault.   Questions about premeasuring and multi-assault. I_icon_minitimeTue Jul 17 2012, 12:06

"Any distance at any time" means exactly that. You don't need any excuse, and your opponent only has reason to complain if you slow up the game with excess time spent measuring.
Back to top Go down
mukslinger
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 48
Join date : 2011-08-02

Questions about premeasuring and multi-assault. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Questions about premeasuring and multi-assault.   Questions about premeasuring and multi-assault. I_icon_minitimeTue Jul 17 2012, 13:19

mrbeliever and allandrel are correct.

pre measuring (page 4 brb): any distance at any time.

multi assault (page 28 brb): the diagram at the top shows an exact example of what you described. note that A, B, and F can only attack the guardians. D and E can only attack the fire dragons. C, G, and H can attack which ever unit they like. Specific to your case are models B and D. Each are in base contact with a unit and within 2 inches of model C, who is in base contact with another unit. B and D, although technically engaged with two units, they may only attack the unit they are in base contact with.
Back to top Go down
Ruke
Wych
Ruke

Posts : 731
Join date : 2012-02-18
Location : WayX

Questions about premeasuring and multi-assault. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Questions about premeasuring and multi-assault.   Questions about premeasuring and multi-assault. I_icon_minitimeTue Jul 17 2012, 18:46

Ok, I thought you could premeasure at any time, but didn't know the specific reference to point it out, and it wasn't a real issue anyway, but I did want to clarify.

As far as multi-assault goes, I had a 10" charge range, so plenty of room to get anything I wanted in to b2b with anything else, just didn't understand how those rules had changed (as I read the entry and didn't even think to look at the diagram, derp)...Oh well, c'est la vie

Thanks for the responses everyone.

_________________
No tears, please. It's a waste of good suffering.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




Questions about premeasuring and multi-assault. Empty
PostSubject: Re: Questions about premeasuring and multi-assault.   Questions about premeasuring and multi-assault. I_icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
Questions about premeasuring and multi-assault.
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: