THE DARK CITY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.



 
HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityRegisterLog in

 

 My review of all of our units in 6th Ed.

Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3
AuthorMessage
Ruke
Wych
Ruke

Posts : 731
Join date : 2012-02-18
Location : WayX

My review of all of our units in 6th Ed. - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: My review of all of our units in 6th Ed.   My review of all of our units in 6th Ed. - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeSat Jul 14 2012, 22:41

I understand that, but, its not a standard wound. If a weapon wounded against strength or initiative, it would make sense that you used the targets strength or initiative in determining whether or not the model is instagibbed.

_________________
No tears, please. It's a waste of good suffering.
Back to top Go down
HERO
Hekatrix
HERO

Posts : 1057
Join date : 2012-04-13

My review of all of our units in 6th Ed. - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: My review of all of our units in 6th Ed.   My review of all of our units in 6th Ed. - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeSat Jul 14 2012, 22:52

What more can I say? C'est la vie!

Vect is still worth the points though imo.

_________________
https://www.twitch.tv/lkhero
Back to top Go down
Ruke
Wych
Ruke

Posts : 731
Join date : 2012-02-18
Location : WayX

My review of all of our units in 6th Ed. - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: My review of all of our units in 6th Ed.   My review of all of our units in 6th Ed. - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeSat Jul 14 2012, 22:57

That's something we can both agree on! XD

_________________
No tears, please. It's a waste of good suffering.
Back to top Go down
Ereshkigal
Kabalite Warrior
avatar

Posts : 162
Join date : 2012-06-26

My review of all of our units in 6th Ed. - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: My review of all of our units in 6th Ed.   My review of all of our units in 6th Ed. - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeSun Jul 15 2012, 02:27

I don't, but i also think archon and succubus are overpriced garbage in 6th. I wouldn't pay 240 pts on a SC even in a 2500 points game (hell right now i think i wouldn't pay 100). Realistically in a game a single venom with 5 warriors (125 pts) will outperform vect by a large margin.
Back to top Go down
Starstrider
Kabalite Warrior
Starstrider

Posts : 109
Join date : 2012-07-11

My review of all of our units in 6th Ed. - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: My review of all of our units in 6th Ed.   My review of all of our units in 6th Ed. - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeSun Jul 15 2012, 11:03

@Ruke wrote:

@Starstriker: I think it was in relation to a throw HWG that the reroll comes up.

Ah yes, that makes sense. Thanks!

Btw, Starstrider if you please. Wink
Back to top Go down
Ruke
Wych
Ruke

Posts : 731
Join date : 2012-02-18
Location : WayX

My review of all of our units in 6th Ed. - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: My review of all of our units in 6th Ed.   My review of all of our units in 6th Ed. - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeSun Jul 15 2012, 11:10

XD sorry, it was a misstype, my appologies.

_________________
No tears, please. It's a waste of good suffering.
Back to top Go down
Shadows Revenge
Hierarch of Tactica
Shadows Revenge

Posts : 2587
Join date : 2011-08-10
Location : Bmore

My review of all of our units in 6th Ed. - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: My review of all of our units in 6th Ed.   My review of all of our units in 6th Ed. - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeMon Jul 16 2012, 16:26

@Kayto_Karite wrote:
Vects Orbs may be useful to kill but not regain wounds. Even though Vect has 4W, because of T3 he technically only has 1W. If he is still alive and needs to recover wounds that means he already lost the only thing that can keep him alive which is his 2++.

If you compare Vect to other 40k SCs in 6th Edition, you realize he lacks pretty far behind.

Vect 240 (T3, 1W due ever character will probably ID him, 3+ AP3,

The Sanguinor 275 (EW, Buffs a Sergeant, +1A to units in a 6" bubble, 2+, JP, HQ Hunter, 3++ from sheer will)
Mephiston 250 (WS 7, S6, T6, W5, 7I, 5A, 2+, 3 psi powers, HQ Hunter)
Dante (EW, A5, 2+, 4++, H&R, debuffs a HQ)
Abaddon 275 (WS7, S8, T5, I6, 4+1d6, Shred, 2+, 4++)
Ahriman 250 (can turn vect into a spawn, 5 psi powers)
Eldrad (the best psyker in the game, weapon that wounds on 2+ and ignores armor)
etc...

So I still stand my ground that Vect in this edition is not worth his points anymore. The only thing he has going for him is 2++ and 2+ Lo,S!

And lets look at your choices again here to compare against Vect

Sanguinor- No IC status means he gets shot to death before he does anything
Mephiston- Again, No IC status. Although small model does help him huff rhino fumes
Dante- super expensive captain anyone?
Abaddon- best Duelist out there, but he can stab himself...
Ahriman- now thats just funny...
Eldrad- 1 attack if you want to ignore armor (2 attacks if you just use his regular witch blade)

So lets take a look again... We have 3 guys with regular power weapons who are more expensive than vect, and only one will ID him (being Meph). Ok then... Then we have Abaddon, who while good one on one suffers from being in a terrible codex. Lastly we have Eldrad (Ahriman doesnt even worth being mentioned...) who shouldnt be in combat at all.

Overall Vect looks pretty good from your own standings. Considering out of all of these, he should be able to kill 4 on his own (Sanguinor, Dante, Ahriman, Eldrad) and Meph vs Vect would be an interesting show, although Meph should win via ID. Abaddon on the other hand should win as long as he doesnt stab himself in the back.

As for utility. Lets see...

Sanguinor- upgraded sargie??? really worth 275 pts???
Meph- could just get 2 base libbies for utility... and they can hide in squads...
Dante- Is he really worth it for just the negatives to an HQ?
Abaddon- lulz whats utility...
Ahriman- Decent, but CSM psy powers arent all that good.
Eldrad- Amazing Utility hands down
Vect- 4+ to go first if you lose the roll, pretty decent seeing as he is the only one who gets it against everything

Overall he ranks pretty high up there in utility as well. Sure, I think his weapon only being AP3 made him get hit by a huge nerf bat. That being said when you compare him to other HQs that are worth his points, he isnt bad considering.


Also on the fact of the power axe, sure we pay those points for such a high I, but atleast we are S4 with it. On top of that you talk about being IDed on a failed save. Sure, but we get termie armor save against those weapons. Normal HQs dont. Archon vs Captain w/ fist you have a high probability to win. Try him out first and you will see he isnt half bad for his points value.

_________________
Status:
Usurping Kabal leadership for his Patriarch

Current List:
First 2k GSC List
Back to top Go down
Nomic
Wych
Nomic

Posts : 559
Join date : 2011-05-27
Location : Finland

My review of all of our units in 6th Ed. - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: My review of all of our units in 6th Ed.   My review of all of our units in 6th Ed. - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeMon Jul 16 2012, 17:58

Abaddon's weapon is ap3 too, if I recall. Don't have my CSM codex wiht me, but I think Daemon Weapons are described as power weapons with special rules. Also, nowhere in Eldrad's rules does it state that his staff is a 2-handed weapon, so he does benefit from having an extra ccw with it.

_________________
Tougher than wet kittens, with armour stonger than the dampest cardboard, we are coming for you!
Kabal of Drowned Hope/Cult of the Fatal Kiss/Dark Labyrinth Coven.
Back to top Go down
Starstrider
Kabalite Warrior
Starstrider

Posts : 109
Join date : 2012-07-11

My review of all of our units in 6th Ed. - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: My review of all of our units in 6th Ed.   My review of all of our units in 6th Ed. - Page 3 I_icon_minitimeMon Jul 16 2012, 19:07

Yup, I agree with Nomic. Eldar were my first 40k army and I used Eldrad (or more specifically an Alaitoc version of Eldrad) many times. In all those times, I always considered his staff to be a special ccw that could be wielded with his shuriken pistol as nowhere does it say that the staff is 2 handed. My opponents have also agreed with this, giving Eldrad 2 attacks, or 3 on the charge.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




My review of all of our units in 6th Ed. - Page 3 Empty
PostSubject: Re: My review of all of our units in 6th Ed.   My review of all of our units in 6th Ed. - Page 3 I_icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
My review of all of our units in 6th Ed.
Back to top 
Page 3 of 3Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Drukhari Tactics
-
Jump to: