THE DARK CITY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.



 
HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityRegisterLog in

 

 Charging Beasts

Go down 
AuthorMessage
BlckRven
Kabalite Warrior
BlckRven

Posts : 115
Join date : 2011-09-17
Location : The Netherlands

Charging Beasts Empty
PostSubject: Charging Beasts   Charging Beasts I_icon_minitimeFri Jul 06 2012, 22:40

So, basicly if you charge through terrain you are slowed by terrain and fight at initiative step 1.

If beast are not slowed by terrain. It would suggest that you can move 2D6, obiously.
But it can also be understood as not slowed. initiative is a number that shows how fast you are in close combat... Does this mean beasts fight with their own Initiative?

_________________
Charging Beasts Signat10
Back to top Go down
BlckRven
Kabalite Warrior
BlckRven

Posts : 115
Join date : 2011-09-17
Location : The Netherlands

Charging Beasts Empty
PostSubject: Re: Charging Beasts   Charging Beasts I_icon_minitimeMon Jul 09 2012, 19:54

hmm, bit disappointing.

If it is an obvious queston for you 10 seconds of you time would suffice in typing a simple no or yes.

If it isn't obvious I expected a discussion or something....

_________________
Charging Beasts Signat10
Back to top Go down
foeofnight
Hellion
foeofnight

Posts : 64
Join date : 2011-11-04

Charging Beasts Empty
PostSubject: Re: Charging Beasts   Charging Beasts I_icon_minitimeTue Jul 10 2012, 19:52

The way I read it is this:

"They are not slowed by difficult terrain" they are able to move freely and dont have to roll to see the distance they can move. Also with move through cover they pass dangerous terrain tests. This is the extent that those rules give us.

Pg22 of BRB states "if at least one model in the charging unit moved through difficult terrain as part of its charge move, all of the units models must attack at initiiative step 1, regardless of other initiative modifiers

So for me its pretty clear that us charging through terrain without the baron for the grenades would result in us being initiative 1.
Back to top Go down
BlckRven
Kabalite Warrior
BlckRven

Posts : 115
Join date : 2011-09-17
Location : The Netherlands

Charging Beasts Empty
PostSubject: Re: Charging Beasts   Charging Beasts I_icon_minitimeTue Jul 10 2012, 20:57

Okay, thanks.

there is indeed little arguing in that.

_________________
Charging Beasts Signat10
Back to top Go down
ShadowSpirit
Slave
ShadowSpirit

Posts : 20
Join date : 2011-06-02
Location : Budapest, Hungary

Charging Beasts Empty
PostSubject: Re: Charging Beasts   Charging Beasts I_icon_minitimeTue Jul 31 2012, 12:21

I think Beast effectively ignore Difficult Terrain as their rule states "they are never slowed by Difficult Terrain (even when charging)". So, they charge simply 2D6" with no effects from terrain.
Since the rule explicitly states that they are never slowed down by difficult terrain, it could mean that
1) they ignore difficult terrain alltogether
2) they are not slowed but otherwise they are at I1.

Similar problem with Reaver Jetbikes: Bikes are never slowed by Diff. Terrain, but they have to tka Dangerous Terrain tests - which Reavers pass automatically because of Skilled Rider. So, are Reavers at I1 when charging through cover - that they effectively ignore for all movement purposes - or do they strike at normal I since they never make any terrain tests?

How does Hammer of Wrath interact with charging through terrain? Is it always I10?

thanks.
Back to top Go down
The_Burning_Eye
Trueborn
The_Burning_Eye

Posts : 2501
Join date : 2012-01-16
Location : Rutland - UK

Charging Beasts Empty
PostSubject: Re: Charging Beasts   Charging Beasts I_icon_minitimeTue Jul 31 2012, 12:49

Reavers charge over cover not through it, hence why they are not slowed by it.
Hammer of wrath is an impact hit not an attack, so I would always consider it to be I10.

_________________
Tan? You're joking, I'm a gamer, you're lucky I'm wearing deodorant!

My Blog - The Burning Eye Blog (check it out - comments always welcome)

My Project Log - Visions of the Burning Eye

My Gaming Log - Chronicles of the Burning Eye

My Club - MAD Wargaming

My Fluff - Kabal of the Burning Eye, Cult of the Shadowed Blade and Coven of Distorted Perfection
Back to top Go down
http://theburningeye.blogspot.com
Kayto_Karite
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 84
Join date : 2011-07-30
Location : Norfolk, VA

Charging Beasts Empty
PostSubject: Re: Charging Beasts   Charging Beasts I_icon_minitimeWed Aug 01 2012, 12:09

During the Assault Phase all bikes charge moves are not slowed by difficult terrain. THis just means you don't have to roll 3D6 and drop the highest. Even though you are rolling your normal 2d6 charge move you are still charging through terrain and follow all other rules.

Also HoW doesn't state it's a Impact Hit. If you re-read HoW you will notice that it does say "...additonal Attack..." this attack will still be I10 because its a set modifier, same as the I1 for charging into terrain.

_________________
”We the unwilling, led by the ungrateful, are doing the impossible. We've done so much, for so long, with so little, that we are now qualified to do something with nothing." - Konstantin Josef Jireček

My Dark Eldar Blog: The Shardnet and Impaler - Dark Eldar Lists
Back to top Go down
http://www.theshardnetandimpaler.com/
The_Burning_Eye
Trueborn
The_Burning_Eye

Posts : 2501
Join date : 2012-01-16
Location : Rutland - UK

Charging Beasts Empty
PostSubject: Re: Charging Beasts   Charging Beasts I_icon_minitimeWed Aug 01 2012, 22:47

Yup, it's an additional attack that hits automatically, so it's a hit. I agree with you though, it's resolved at I10 (hence why I described it as an impact hit, because it occurs at the impact stage of the fight, cinematically of course)

_________________
Tan? You're joking, I'm a gamer, you're lucky I'm wearing deodorant!

My Blog - The Burning Eye Blog (check it out - comments always welcome)

My Project Log - Visions of the Burning Eye

My Gaming Log - Chronicles of the Burning Eye

My Club - MAD Wargaming

My Fluff - Kabal of the Burning Eye, Cult of the Shadowed Blade and Coven of Distorted Perfection
Back to top Go down
http://theburningeye.blogspot.com
Kayto_Karite
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 84
Join date : 2011-07-30
Location : Norfolk, VA

Charging Beasts Empty
PostSubject: Re: Charging Beasts   Charging Beasts I_icon_minitimeThu Aug 02 2012, 02:30

I understand. This is just one of my personal gripes. It bothers me when someone tries to mix rules with fluff or real life.

_________________
”We the unwilling, led by the ungrateful, are doing the impossible. We've done so much, for so long, with so little, that we are now qualified to do something with nothing." - Konstantin Josef Jireček

My Dark Eldar Blog: The Shardnet and Impaler - Dark Eldar Lists
Back to top Go down
http://www.theshardnetandimpaler.com/
Mushkilla
Arena Champion
Mushkilla

Posts : 4017
Join date : 2012-07-16
Location : Toroid Arena

Charging Beasts Empty
PostSubject: Re: Charging Beasts   Charging Beasts I_icon_minitimeThu Aug 02 2012, 07:57

@Kayto_Karite wrote:
I understand. This is just one of my personal gripes. It bothers me when someone tries to mix rules with fluff or real life.

When the rule is a much a mess as this one HoW it gives us the best idea of how they intended it to be used. Why they didn't word it similarly to fantasy is beyond me. I'm sure they will be say something like "of course it isn't affected by X Y and Z you numpties!" in the FAQ (they are alwaya extra patronising when covering up their poorest rule writing)

_________________
Latest Report: BR4: The Repugnant Ramblers Vs Imperial Knights - 1250pts
Pragmatic Realspace Raider Series


“Even the Black Buzzards thought highly of him, and those maniacs were renowned for hating everyone.” - Tantalus, by Braden Campbell
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




Charging Beasts Empty
PostSubject: Re: Charging Beasts   Charging Beasts I_icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
Charging Beasts
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: