THE DARK CITY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.



 
HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityRegisterLog in

 

 I need some Clarification

Go down 
5 posters
AuthorMessage
Dethdispenser
Kabalite Warrior
Dethdispenser

Posts : 188
Join date : 2011-11-21

I need some Clarification Empty
PostSubject: I need some Clarification   I need some Clarification I_icon_minitimeMon Jan 30 2012, 08:45

So I guess I feel as though i was robbed in my last game. So I have a few questions:

1. If a unit of Grey Knight termies start about 3 inches away from a dangerous terrain (a blown up Raider of mine in which he used a straight piece of "river terrain, which had possibly a 3" width"). Rolls a 6 for the difficult terrain test (passes the dangerous terrain wound tests) moves over the 3" inch width of the river terrain, and then proceeds to move directly into difficult terrain ruins where a 1" inch gap is in between both terrains. I felt as though he got too much bang for his buck. I mean he rolled a six granted. However, is there a ruling for moving into two pieces of terrain? I mean, I didn't really watch him so closely when he moved them in. But namely to say he tied the game with this move, for his control point was there.

2. He ran a standard Grey Knight list with those pesky dreadnaughts with auto cannon shenanigans. 2 standard and 1 venerable. He kept all three of them in ruin cover. The windows themselves I could barely see the front or "sarcophagus" part. However, he proceeded to shoot both of his twin-linked auto-cannon shots each turn. I had to argue with him about vehicles needing to actually be covered by cover for a save to be allowed, however that is a mute point. Was he playing them right? Or was he knocking my ravagers/raiders out of sky illegally?

Back to top Go down
Aroshamash
Sybarite
Aroshamash

Posts : 326
Join date : 2011-05-14
Location : Sydney

I need some Clarification Empty
PostSubject: Re: I need some Clarification   I need some Clarification I_icon_minitimeMon Jan 30 2012, 12:43

For the cover saves, at least half the vehicle has to be covered to benefit from the cover save. However, line-of-sight with vehicles is measured from the barrel of the weapon, not the pilots "head". If he couldn't draw line-of-sight from the gun barrels to you, then he shouldn't have been able to shoot, from what I remember.

To be fair, I haven't played in ages, so I might be misremembering.

_________________
It's our galaxy, you just die in it...
Back to top Go down
Tiri Rana
Sybarite
Tiri Rana

Posts : 441
Join date : 2011-06-16
Location : Essen, Germany

I need some Clarification Empty
PostSubject: Re: I need some Clarification   I need some Clarification I_icon_minitimeMon Jan 30 2012, 13:16

Long story short: You were robbed.

Why?

1.:
BRB p.14 wrote:
If a unit starts its move outside difficult terrain, the
player must declare if he wants his unit to try to enter
difficult terrain as part of their move. If he chooses not
to, the unit moves as normal but may not enter difficult
terrain. If he chooses that they will do so, the unit must
take a difficult terrain test as described above. Even if
the distance rolled is too short for any of the models to
reach the difficult terrain, the unit is still slowed down
as described above. We assume that they are cautiously
approaching the terrain, using their sensors to ascertain
that no enemy is hiding in there.

So instead of moving 3" to reach the river, roll a 6 and move another 6" he should have declared to try to walk through the river, rolled a 6 and then moved 6" ending his movement at the edge of the river. Moving through difficult terrain can never lead to moving more than less.

2.:
BRB p.72 wrote:
When firing a walker’s weapons, pivot the walker on
the spot so that its guns are aimed at the target
(assume that all weapons mounted on a walker can
swivel 45º, like hull-mounted weapons) and then
measure the range from the weapon itself and line of
sight from the mounting point of the weapon and
along its barrel, as normal for vehicles.

So, if he can draw LoS to the dreadnaught's sarcophagus, he can see them, but to shoot he has to check LoS from the weapon. If the weapons can't 'see' their target, they can't fire.
But, some kind of shenanigans, multiple vehicle weapons are fired like a squad of troopers, so if one autocannon peaks out of the building and one is behind a wall, he can shoot both at you, but you get a coversave (from both, of course).

_________________
I need some Clarification Tdcawardssigbestrules
I must rule with eye and claw — as the hawk among lesser birds.
Back to top Go down
Dethdispenser
Kabalite Warrior
Dethdispenser

Posts : 188
Join date : 2011-11-21

I need some Clarification Empty
PostSubject: Re: I need some Clarification   I need some Clarification I_icon_minitimeMon Jan 30 2012, 17:40

Thanks. I will put a score point on the board for myself.


So i guess i have another question:

Let's say scenario 1 was different. As if the termies started at the edge of the river. Rolled the 6 to enter the terrain and there is a second piece of terrain with a 1" gap in between. Would he have to test to enter the second piece of terrain or would that 6 carry him over the 3" width of the crater + 1" gap between terrain pieces + get carry his unit 2 inches into the difficult terrain?

Oh, another funny thing is. I should of made him test twice. 1 for entering the dangerous terrain and another time for leaving it.
Back to top Go down
Archon Mephitic
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 73
Join date : 2011-09-18
Location : Cornwall, UK

I need some Clarification Empty
PostSubject: Re: I need some Clarification   I need some Clarification I_icon_minitimeMon Jan 30 2012, 18:09

As far as I understand it, infantry only need to roll once per phase for difficult and dangerous terrain. Jump infantry have to roll every time the leave or enter.
Back to top Go down
Tiri Rana
Sybarite
Tiri Rana

Posts : 441
Join date : 2011-06-16
Location : Essen, Germany

I need some Clarification Empty
PostSubject: Re: I need some Clarification   I need some Clarification I_icon_minitimeMon Jan 30 2012, 19:53

Short answer: You always roll only once!

Long answer:
You decide if you want to move through difficult terrain at the start of your unit's movement phase. If you decided to move through difficult terrain, you roll and may move up to the rolled distance, anywhere you like, into difficult terrain, out of it or through, even through one and into another, or even through more areas of difficult terrain. only rule is you can't move farther than rolled and can't move through impassable terrain.
If you don't want to roll, you can still move, but can't enter, leave or move through difficult terrain at all.

P.S.:
The paragraph about jump infantry is about dangerous terrain, not difficult, granted it often comes hand in hand, but they also don't roll twice.

BRB p.14 wrote:
DANGEROUS TERRAIN
As mentioned previously, some terrain features will be
dangerous to move through. This is represented by the
dangerous terrain test. Roll a D6 for every model that
has entered, left or moved through one or more areas
of dangerous terrain
during its move. On the roll of a
1, the model suffers a wound, with no armour or cover
saves allowed (wounds and saves are explained in the
next section).

_________________
I need some Clarification Tdcawardssigbestrules
I must rule with eye and claw — as the hawk among lesser birds.
Back to top Go down
tlronin
Wych
avatar

Posts : 818
Join date : 2011-06-23
Location : The Netherlands

I need some Clarification Empty
PostSubject: Re: I need some Clarification   I need some Clarification I_icon_minitimeTue Jan 31 2012, 08:08

I've been struggling with it too once with a mate of mine. Thank you all for the answers, because... I think I finally get it now. The order in which stuff happened was wrong, correct?

The order should've been:

1) You declare you want to enter difficult terrain (regardless of dangerous terrain or whatever in between). You roll D6's and get lucky, you get 6".

2) You pick up your models and try to walk those 6" towards the difficult terrain, but... Oops! Dangerous terrain in the way. You need to roll a D6 for every model. Life's a bitch.

Right? When you get it, it's actually simple. Rolling Eyes

_________________
Archon of the kabal of The Bleeding Hand.
Member of local Dutch community: http://www.sweetlakesentinels.nl
Back to top Go down
Tiri Rana
Sybarite
Tiri Rana

Posts : 441
Join date : 2011-06-16
Location : Essen, Germany

I need some Clarification Empty
PostSubject: Re: I need some Clarification   I need some Clarification I_icon_minitimeTue Jan 31 2012, 22:03

@tlronin wrote:
...1) You declare you want to enter difficult terrain (regardless of dangerous terrain or whatever in between). You roll D6's and get lucky, you get 6".

Right. You always roll, if you want to cross difficult terrain, even if you are severel inches away from it. Because if you don't roll, you can't enter difficult terrain this round. And if you roll less than the distance needed to enter the terrain, you still move only up to the distance rolled, but if the distance rolled is sufficent to cross one area of difficult terrain you are free to enter another.

@tlronin wrote:
2) You pick up your models and try to walk those 6" towards the difficult terrain, but... Oops! Dangerous terrain in the way. You need to roll a D6 for every model. Life's a bitch...

Not completely. You move and when you entered, left or moved through one (or more) area of dangerous terrain after you finished moving you roll a dangerous terrain test for every model involved.

P.S.: Keep in mind, that difficult terrain rolls are binding for all models in a unit, even if they don't move through difficult terrain, while dangerous terrain rolls are only made for those models, that actually touched dangerous terrain.

_________________
I need some Clarification Tdcawardssigbestrules
I must rule with eye and claw — as the hawk among lesser birds.
Back to top Go down
tlronin
Wych
avatar

Posts : 818
Join date : 2011-06-23
Location : The Netherlands

I need some Clarification Empty
PostSubject: Re: I need some Clarification   I need some Clarification I_icon_minitimeWed Feb 01 2012, 07:16

Ah ok, gotcha. Thnx!

_________________
Archon of the kabal of The Bleeding Hand.
Member of local Dutch community: http://www.sweetlakesentinels.nl
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




I need some Clarification Empty
PostSubject: Re: I need some Clarification   I need some Clarification I_icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
I need some Clarification
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: