THE DARK CITY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.



 
HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityRegisterLog in

 

 Question Concerning Taxi

Go down 
+2
tlronin
Phrack
6 posters
AuthorMessage
Phrack
Slave
avatar

Posts : 8
Join date : 2012-01-17

Question Concerning Taxi  Empty
PostSubject: Question Concerning Taxi    Question Concerning Taxi  I_icon_minitimeTue Jan 17 2012, 03:34

So I have a quick question concerning taxi's and reserved troops.

Say I have a 3 man wrack squad set to be in reserve. (Objective Games)
Say I also purchase a raider for some more AT.
If I had the wracks placed in reserve, would I have to place the raider in reserve as well?

Or could I say the wracks are in reserve, then place the raider in my deployment for use of a taxi service?

Thank You,
Phrack
Back to top Go down
tlronin
Wych
avatar

Posts : 818
Join date : 2011-06-23
Location : The Netherlands

Question Concerning Taxi  Empty
PostSubject: Re: Question Concerning Taxi    Question Concerning Taxi  I_icon_minitimeTue Jan 17 2012, 10:50

If I can recall correctly the unit has to start the game with the dedicated transport you purchased for that unit (hence the word dedicated).

So, in your example the Raider is placed in reserve with the Wracks in it.

_________________
Archon of the kabal of The Bleeding Hand.
Member of local Dutch community: http://www.sweetlakesentinels.nl
Back to top Go down
Tiri Rana
Sybarite
Tiri Rana

Posts : 441
Join date : 2011-06-16
Location : Essen, Germany

Question Concerning Taxi  Empty
PostSubject: Re: Question Concerning Taxi    Question Concerning Taxi  I_icon_minitimeTue Jan 17 2012, 12:21

Not completely correct.

If and only if a squad is embarked in the raider on deployment, then it must be the wracks. If you decide to deploy them seperately they count as two seperate units for all purposses.

BRB p.67 wrote:

The only limitation of a dedicated transport is that
when it is deployed it can only carry the unit it
was selected with [...] After the game begins, it can then
transport any friendly infantry unit...

_________________
Question Concerning Taxi  Tdcawardssigbestrules
I must rule with eye and claw — as the hawk among lesser birds.
Back to top Go down
tlronin
Wych
avatar

Posts : 818
Join date : 2011-06-23
Location : The Netherlands

Question Concerning Taxi  Empty
PostSubject: Re: Question Concerning Taxi    Question Concerning Taxi  I_icon_minitimeTue Jan 17 2012, 14:07

I don't have the rulebook with me and I'm a little bit rusty on the rules I'll admit.

But are you saying here you could for example purchase a Raider for a squad of 10 Warriors and then deploy at the beginning of the game the 10 Warriors in a ruïn and an empty Raider on the table?

'Cause as far as I've always thought the Raider is deployed with the 10 Warriors embarked in it. Period.

_________________
Archon of the kabal of The Bleeding Hand.
Member of local Dutch community: http://www.sweetlakesentinels.nl
Back to top Go down
Local_Ork
Fleshsculptor
Local_Ork

Posts : 1500
Join date : 2011-05-26
Location : Near good fight!

Question Concerning Taxi  Empty
PostSubject: Re: Question Concerning Taxi    Question Concerning Taxi  I_icon_minitimeTue Jan 17 2012, 14:22

Nope. They can be deployed and reserved like they would be separate units. You can also treat them as one unit IF You decide they ride inside.

_________________
Question Concerning Taxi  TattoosigtlQuestion Concerning Taxi  TattoosigseQuestion Concerning Taxi  Tattoosigow
"Most vile thing you can read. Ever." - Our Forum Rules
Back to top Go down
Phrack
Slave
avatar

Posts : 8
Join date : 2012-01-17

Question Concerning Taxi  Empty
PostSubject: Re: Question Concerning Taxi    Question Concerning Taxi  I_icon_minitimeTue Jan 17 2012, 14:33

Ok so If I am reading this correctly then, I could reserve the wracks, then have a spair raider running around for some more AT and a taxi service turn 1.
Back to top Go down
tlronin
Wych
avatar

Posts : 818
Join date : 2011-06-23
Location : The Netherlands

Question Concerning Taxi  Empty
PostSubject: Re: Question Concerning Taxi    Question Concerning Taxi  I_icon_minitimeTue Jan 17 2012, 15:16

Read this question on other fora and I must admit, this is the concensus. It seemed wrong to me. But yeah... difference between reading and interpreting I suppose. Wink

_________________
Archon of the kabal of The Bleeding Hand.
Member of local Dutch community: http://www.sweetlakesentinels.nl
Back to top Go down
Dez
Kabalite Warrior
Dez

Posts : 168
Join date : 2011-10-07

Question Concerning Taxi  Empty
PostSubject: Re: Question Concerning Taxi    Question Concerning Taxi  I_icon_minitimeTue Jan 17 2012, 15:49

I would often use this for Orks as well, because footsloggin' Burna Boyz are no good! You could also use this trick to use Raiders as mobile terrain/Line of Site blocking for another unit you wanted to protect.
Back to top Go down
Shadows Revenge
Hierarch of Tactica
Shadows Revenge

Posts : 2587
Join date : 2011-08-10
Location : Bmore

Question Concerning Taxi  Empty
PostSubject: Re: Question Concerning Taxi    Question Concerning Taxi  I_icon_minitimeTue Jan 17 2012, 16:25

remember though you cant start another unit in another unit's dedicated transport. But you can of course walk them into it and then go flying off.

_________________
Status:
Usurping Kabal leadership for his Patriarch

Current List:
First 2k GSC List
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




Question Concerning Taxi  Empty
PostSubject: Re: Question Concerning Taxi    Question Concerning Taxi  I_icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
Question Concerning Taxi
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: