Subject: Cult of Strife Wyches Fighting first Tue Mar 30 2021, 17:43
I know there is a section in the Rare rules about fighting order, which says, if a unit who has ability to fight first was charged, they fight staring from the player whose turn is taking place. But I’m kind of confused by the wording of the Cult of Strife ability. As I read this rule, it says, that I can fight first at the start of the fight phase. That means I can make my attacks before my opponent can pick a unit to fight. Probably everything written above is just a misunderstanding. So the question is referred more to the linguistics, than to the rules. English speaking guys help!
Subject: Re: Cult of Strife Wyches Fighting first Thu Apr 01 2021, 13:37
Basically the order of the fight phase goes like this:
1) THE UNITS WHO FIGHT BEFORE ALL OTHERS Units that charged and units who fight first (alternating between the two players starting with the player whose turn is taking place) (so if someone charges you but you have your Cult of Strife units able to "fight first", the active player will go first and pick one one of his charging units to fight you, but immediately after he has done so you'll be able to select one of your Cult of Strife unit to fight, and then the active player will be able to select another of his charging units to fight you, and then you'll able to select another of your Cult of Strife unit etc ...) Basically, whenever a charging unit meets a "fight first" unit, you can think of the "fight first" ability as a free use of the universal 2CP counter-offensive stratagem.
2) THE OTHER UNITS WHO GET TO SWING AFTER THE FIRST CATEGORY Units that didn't charge on that turn and don't have a "fight first" ability (alternating between the two players starting with the player whose turn is NOT taking place, so same deal as above BUT the order is reversed)
3) UNITS WHO FIGHT LAST, AFTER EVERYONE ELSE Units under a "fight last" ability.
And lastly there's the weird case of someone applying a "fight last" ability on a "fight first" unit, in which case the "fight first" unit is to be treated as if it had neither of the two abilities applied on itself.
Posts : 1777 Join date : 2016-02-18
Subject: Re: Cult of Strife Wyches Fighting first Thu Apr 01 2021, 13:58
@Karr4x has it exactly. Supposidly there is an article on Goonhammer that goes thru it.
Incredibly confusing, its like they are trying to bring back the Initiative step, but doing it in the worst way possible XD
Long story short, Fight First does not mean you actually get to fight first. And Fight Last doesnt actually make you fight last XD
When someone charges your CoS Wyches, they still get to fight first, but you get a "free interupt" with that unit after their first unit swings. When you charge them, you still get to fight first (which you would already do)
Posts : 12 Join date : 2021-01-25
Subject: Re: Cult of Strife Wyches Fighting first Thu Apr 01 2021, 15:51
As a note, you can still use the 2 CP stratagem on a unit (say, incubi) after the first unit that charged swings, and then pick one of your fights first units to swing and get 2 activations before any other chargers can go (unless I missremember how the new stratagem is phrased)
Posts : 1777 Join date : 2016-02-18
Subject: Re: Cult of Strife Wyches Fighting first Thu Apr 01 2021, 19:15
Hmm, that sounds possible, but I would recomend you have some back-up if you intend to use that strategy.
Posts : 617 Join date : 2018-03-04 Location : maybe
Subject: Re: Cult of Strife Wyches Fighting first Mon Apr 05 2021, 20:17