THE DARK CITY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.



 
HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityRegisterLog in

 

 pariah preview

Go down 
Go to page : 1, 2  Next
AuthorMessage
DevilDoll
Sybarite
DevilDoll

Posts : 386
Join date : 2013-08-16

pariah preview Empty
PostSubject: pariah preview   pariah preview I_icon_minitimeSat Apr 04 2020, 15:28

So did anyone catch it? They revealed Ephrael Stern and an new harlequin model (!!!) which looks to be nothing more than her sidekick as mentioned in the preview "you’ll be able to field her alongside the Sisters of Battle, or with any Imperium force, and she’ll be accompanied by her Harlequin companion, Kyganil".
So after so much time we get a new model and it looks like you wont be able to field it in a halequin army at all ROFL
And to top it all off they mentioned that halequins along with deathwatch WILL NO BE IN THE BOOK and they will just get a white dwarf update (and we all know how this turned out for the ynnari)...
So yeah talk about spitting in their fans faces...
Back to top Go down
velaresh
Hellion
velaresh

Posts : 47
Join date : 2019-04-28

pariah preview Empty
PostSubject: Re: pariah preview   pariah preview I_icon_minitimeSat Apr 04 2020, 16:32

harlequins and deathwatch announced that they come out in the white dwarf
Besides that the drukhari psychic awakening was the worst, harlequins to the whitedwarf?
Back to top Go down
amishprn86
Archon
amishprn86

Posts : 4211
Join date : 2014-10-04
Location : Ohio

pariah preview Empty
PostSubject: Re: pariah preview   pariah preview I_icon_minitimeSat Apr 04 2020, 19:50

Yep, i'm really mad, i already expressed this someone else. But they basically said F' quins and DW.

_________________
New to Blogging, just starting https://maddpaint.blogspot.com/

Harlequins 5k+
Dark Eldar 10k+
AoS: BoC 8k, CoS 3k
Back to top Go down
Soulless Samurai
Hekatrix
Soulless Samurai

Posts : 1197
Join date : 2018-04-02

pariah preview Empty
PostSubject: Re: pariah preview   pariah preview I_icon_minitimeSun Apr 05 2020, 10:47

Regarding that Harlequin model, is the guy even meant to be an Eldar? It just looks like a normal human squeezed into a Harlequin suit.

(Not saying that this makes it any better, just that from a design perspective there's nothing about the model that makes me think 'Eldar' and not 'human'.)

Honestly, it wouldn't surprise me if GW completely forgot about Harlequins and have only now remembered, months after all the books went to print.

'Oh crap! Er, just tell them we'll shove something in White Dwarf. And then tell the team to get cracking on the most important thing - a Harlequin name generator.'

_________________
@TeenageAngst wrote:
Never trust the French.
Back to top Go down
amishprn86
Archon
amishprn86

Posts : 4211
Join date : 2014-10-04
Location : Ohio

pariah preview Empty
PostSubject: Re: pariah preview   pariah preview I_icon_minitimeSun Apr 05 2020, 16:38

He is for sure a harlequins, but he is... basically works for the imperial.

And i think they forgot too..... They get their PA in a WD... wtf.

_________________
New to Blogging, just starting https://maddpaint.blogspot.com/

Harlequins 5k+
Dark Eldar 10k+
AoS: BoC 8k, CoS 3k
Back to top Go down
Archon_91
Wych
Archon_91

Posts : 630
Join date : 2017-01-03

pariah preview Empty
PostSubject: Re: pariah preview   pariah preview I_icon_minitimeSun Apr 05 2020, 17:32

This is odd though, because this is an example of GW saying "frak it" to a power armor army ... and those are supposed to be their babies... so I wonder if this is basically them going "PA was a mistake and we need to rush through it as fast as possible to start shoving out the next Edition and Codexs
Back to top Go down
Dreadblizzaard
Hellion
Dreadblizzaard

Posts : 39
Join date : 2020-03-31
Location : Texas

pariah preview Empty
PostSubject: Re: pariah preview   pariah preview I_icon_minitimeMon Apr 06 2020, 03:35

I'm not crazy about no PA book but WD is a quarter of the price, so there is that. Also not crazy about the man-elf but with some bits and glue, I can fix him. My dad has a gnarly box of tools! I can fix it!

_________________
A pirates life for me!

My old name was *Blackdeath* I love you alien
Back to top Go down
DevilDoll
Sybarite
DevilDoll

Posts : 386
Join date : 2013-08-16

pariah preview Empty
PostSubject: Re: pariah preview   pariah preview I_icon_minitimeMon Apr 06 2020, 07:35

for me the biggest offender from them all (if it turns out to be true, but honestly it looks like it is) is that the first named harlequin character on the tabletop will not be able to be played with aeldari armies but with imperial ones...
If this is not major BS right there i dont know what is...
What is next? Vect as an Slaanesh demon for chaos players...?
Back to top Go down
Gelmir
Kabalite Warrior
Gelmir

Posts : 150
Join date : 2018-01-06
Location : near Rotterdam

pariah preview Empty
PostSubject: Re: pariah preview   pariah preview I_icon_minitimeMon Apr 06 2020, 08:50

@DevilDoll wrote:

What is next? Vect as an Slaanesh demon for chaos players...?

Dude, don't give them any ideas!

_________________
For my introduction and pics of some of my models:
https://www.thedarkcity.net/t17117-noob-alert
Back to top Go down
DevilDoll
Sybarite
DevilDoll

Posts : 386
Join date : 2013-08-16

pariah preview Empty
PostSubject: Re: pariah preview   pariah preview I_icon_minitimeMon Apr 06 2020, 08:54

@Gelmir wrote:
@DevilDoll wrote:

What is next? Vect as an Slaanesh demon for chaos players...?

Dude, don't give them any ideas!

haha i know right? The sad thing is that i find them perfectly capable of pulling some crap like this :/
Back to top Go down
fisheyes
Hekatrix
fisheyes

Posts : 1257
Join date : 2016-02-18

pariah preview Empty
PostSubject: Re: pariah preview   pariah preview I_icon_minitimeMon Apr 06 2020, 14:23

And we have not yet mentioned that the "Pariah" title, in "Psychic Awakening" has nothing to do with the Necron anti-psycher unit called the Pariah.

When I learned that, I face palmed so hard my head is still somewhere below the earth's mantle XD

But ya, the Imperium now has another space elf buddy besides Yvrane. Because the Imperium is all about love and inclusiveness with alien species...
Back to top Go down
amishprn86
Archon
amishprn86

Posts : 4211
Join date : 2014-10-04
Location : Ohio

pariah preview Empty
PostSubject: Re: pariah preview   pariah preview I_icon_minitimeMon Apr 06 2020, 18:34

Its GW reusing names, this character kinda has been around for a bit. GW reuses names all the time.


But as a Quin player, i am extremely pissed off, No real PA, no real character for Quins, and if they even can use it, quins DONT NEED MORE CHARACTERS.

Its just a triple slap in the face for quin players.

_________________
New to Blogging, just starting https://maddpaint.blogspot.com/

Harlequins 5k+
Dark Eldar 10k+
AoS: BoC 8k, CoS 3k
Back to top Go down
Soulless Samurai
Hekatrix
Soulless Samurai

Posts : 1197
Join date : 2018-04-02

pariah preview Empty
PostSubject: Re: pariah preview   pariah preview I_icon_minitimeMon Apr 06 2020, 19:21

@amishprn86 wrote:

But as a Quin player, i am extremely pissed off, No real PA...

Not that I disagree with your point, but I think it's worth remembering that getting a "real" PA book is no guarantee of a quality release.

Glances at Phoenix Rising.

_________________
@TeenageAngst wrote:
Never trust the French.
Back to top Go down
amishprn86
Archon
amishprn86

Posts : 4211
Join date : 2014-10-04
Location : Ohio

pariah preview Empty
PostSubject: Re: pariah preview   pariah preview I_icon_minitimeMon Apr 06 2020, 19:37

No, but it guarentee's it will be a 1 time release that is hard to get a hold of and most likely will fall off and not be official for long like almost all the other WD releases.

WD is a limited release of rules meant for extra, not for a full release moving into the future.

EDIT: So this either means they are limiting Quins/DW and or 9th is coming faster than they expected/pushing it up faster.

_________________
New to Blogging, just starting https://maddpaint.blogspot.com/

Harlequins 5k+
Dark Eldar 10k+
AoS: BoC 8k, CoS 3k
Back to top Go down
fisheyes
Hekatrix
fisheyes

Posts : 1257
Join date : 2016-02-18

pariah preview Empty
PostSubject: Re: pariah preview   pariah preview I_icon_minitimeMon Apr 06 2020, 19:57

Ya, my gut feeling was that 9th was here within 6 months. Now with Covid, we will probably stay in 8th for the rest of 2020.

Keep in mind that Assassins got a WD release, and they were/are super powerful. Only reason we dont see more of them is that everyone is playing Marines these days, and they dont mesh well with the keywords.

Of course you could counter with the Inquisistion WD being pretty lack luster, which I can only counter by saying that a few neat things were in there (hiding a unit like they are Characters, removing Overwatch from an enemy unit, maybe 1 more that I cant recall)
Back to top Go down
amishprn86
Archon
amishprn86

Posts : 4211
Join date : 2014-10-04
Location : Ohio

pariah preview Empty
PostSubject: Re: pariah preview   pariah preview I_icon_minitimeMon Apr 06 2020, 20:01

But assassins are not a army with a codex. Why couldn't quins just be in the DE/CWE/Ynnari book if its only going to be 4-5 pages and in a WD? And they also can Ynnari too...

_________________
New to Blogging, just starting https://maddpaint.blogspot.com/

Harlequins 5k+
Dark Eldar 10k+
AoS: BoC 8k, CoS 3k
Back to top Go down
DevilDoll
Sybarite
DevilDoll

Posts : 386
Join date : 2013-08-16

pariah preview Empty
PostSubject: Re: pariah preview   pariah preview I_icon_minitimeMon Apr 06 2020, 21:37

but did they change their minds and moved them to WD or was this their plan all along?
And if it was doesnt this mean they actually lied about PA saying that all factions will get something in this campaign or did they actually imply that getting an Imperial semiharlequin IS something?

either way this is truly disapointing treating their fans this way i mean from the 4 aeldari factions (not even counting corsairs) 2 got a WD updates and 2 got craped all over by getting almost nothing meanwhile every chapter from their precious spehs marins got their own book and is kicking asses right now

seeing how this is going i wouldnt be surprised if they unite all under Ynnari for the next edition and be done with it...
Back to top Go down
amishprn86
Archon
amishprn86

Posts : 4211
Join date : 2014-10-04
Location : Ohio

pariah preview Empty
PostSubject: Re: pariah preview   pariah preview I_icon_minitimeMon Apr 06 2020, 22:17

100% no. I've work on books in the same style before. They are planned 9-12month in advance, they are fully written and ready to be translated and sent to the printers 6 months before they even are going to be shipped to stores. It takes a couple months just to translate it all, then another few months to print them.

When we first saw the PA every books they all have been at least fully written and prep for translate/printing, most were already translated and printed.

Even the white dwarfs would take a few months (no less than 3 months), even tho they are mostly articles and pictures, you still need to translate and print them. They could take up to a month just to translate them.

So there is no way GW changed mid gears to have a WD made 4 months just to change Quins/DW.

Especially when they had the models made, the models take longer to make.

_________________
New to Blogging, just starting https://maddpaint.blogspot.com/

Harlequins 5k+
Dark Eldar 10k+
AoS: BoC 8k, CoS 3k
Back to top Go down
sekac
Sybarite
sekac

Posts : 366
Join date : 2017-06-03

pariah preview Empty
PostSubject: Re: pariah preview   pariah preview I_icon_minitimeTue Apr 07 2020, 08:40

@Archon_91 wrote:
This is odd though, because this is an example of GW saying "frak it" to a power armor army ... and those are supposed to be their babies... so I wonder if this is basically them going "PA was a mistake and we need to rush through it as fast as possible to start shoving out the next Edition and Codexs

I think calling PA a "mistake" is overly generous. If so, it is a mistake they have routinely made with every edition of every game system they've made.

Some level of power creep is inevitable in almost every game system. What GW has consistently done is ramped the power creep to 11 towards the end of an edition so everyone gets sick of it and is begging for the next edition.

This is no more a mistake than End Times was for Warhammer Fantasy, all of the absurd formations in 7th, grey knights and necrons in 5th.

People are never eager to overhaul for a new edition, so they manufacture excitement by intentionally imbalancing the game to the point where continuing is worse than an edition change.

I don't like it, but it definitely works.
Back to top Go down
Burnage
Hekatrix
Burnage

Posts : 1279
Join date : 2017-09-12

pariah preview Empty
PostSubject: Re: pariah preview   pariah preview I_icon_minitimeTue Apr 07 2020, 11:55

@DevilDoll wrote:
either way this is truly disapointing treating their fans this way i mean from the 4 aeldari factions (not even counting corsairs) 2 got a WD updates and 2 got craped all over by getting almost nothing meanwhile every chapter from their precious spehs marins got their own book and is kicking asses right now

seeing how this is going i wouldnt be surprised if they unite all under Ynnari for the next edition and be done with it...

The last twelve months have felt absolutely frak brutal for Eldar players.

Doom/Jinx nerf.
Ynnari nerf.
Blood of the Phoenix being a disappointingly expensive box.
Phoenix Rising being mediocre at best, and nerfing Jain Zar for no real reason.
Harlequins apparently not getting an actual Psychic Awakening book.
The first ever Harlequins special character and it looks like Eldar armies aren't going to be allowed to run him.

Just, Jesus GW. Stop already.
Back to top Go down
Soulless Samurai
Hekatrix
Soulless Samurai

Posts : 1197
Join date : 2018-04-02

pariah preview Empty
PostSubject: Re: pariah preview   pariah preview I_icon_minitimeTue Apr 07 2020, 11:57

@Burnage wrote:
@DevilDoll wrote:
either way this is truly disapointing treating their fans this way i mean from the 4 aeldari factions (not even counting corsairs) 2 got a WD updates and 2 got craped all over by getting almost nothing meanwhile every chapter from their precious spehs marins got their own book and is kicking asses right now

seeing how this is going i wouldnt be surprised if they unite all under Ynnari for the next edition and be done with it...

The last twelve months have felt absolutely frak brutal for Eldar players.

Doom/Jinx nerf.
Ynnari nerf.

It especially bugs me that our cross-army stuff was nerfed yet Imperium and Chaos are still allowed psychic powers and other abilities that work across armies.

_________________
@TeenageAngst wrote:
Never trust the French.
Back to top Go down
DevilDoll
Sybarite
DevilDoll

Posts : 386
Join date : 2013-08-16

pariah preview Empty
PostSubject: Re: pariah preview   pariah preview I_icon_minitimeTue Apr 07 2020, 13:08

@Burnage wrote:
@DevilDoll wrote:
either way this is truly disapointing treating their fans this way i mean from the 4 aeldari factions (not even counting corsairs) 2 got a WD updates and 2 got craped all over by getting almost nothing meanwhile every chapter from their precious spehs marins got their own book and is kicking asses right now

seeing how this is going i wouldnt be surprised if they unite all under Ynnari for the next edition and be done with it...

The last twelve months have felt absolutely frak brutal for Eldar players.

Doom/Jinx nerf.
Ynnari nerf.
Blood of the Phoenix being a disappointingly expensive box.
Phoenix Rising being mediocre at best, and nerfing Jain Zar for no real reason.
Harlequins apparently not getting an actual Psychic Awakening book.
The first ever Harlequins special character and it looks like Eldar armies aren't going to be allowed to run him.

Just, Jesus GW. Stop already.

you forgot the unnecessary nerfs to ravagers and razorwings (you know ...our ONLY options) in the CA... but yeah
Back to top Go down
yellabelly
Sybarite
yellabelly

Posts : 344
Join date : 2017-11-16

pariah preview Empty
PostSubject: Re: pariah preview   pariah preview I_icon_minitimeWed Apr 08 2020, 10:13

Craftworlds are in a really strong spot, competitively speaking. I don't think anyone can complain about their power level. The win % for craftworlds since Phoenix Rising has been very high, and if Space Marines hadn't been public enemy number one and taking all the attention, Craftworlds would be the bogey man of the current meta. They had a 60%+ win rate vs non-marine armies not too long ago.

Edit// Asuryani are sitting at a 52% win rate through 2020. One of the Stat Centre podcasts discussed their poor record vs marines, and their absolutely excellent record vs anything non-marines. Discounting marine match-ups they shot up to something oppressively high vs everyone else.

_________________
Do you fight for the Dark Gods? The Drukhari gave birth to one of them. By partying.
Back to top Go down
Soulless Samurai
Hekatrix
Soulless Samurai

Posts : 1197
Join date : 2018-04-02

pariah preview Empty
PostSubject: Re: pariah preview   pariah preview I_icon_minitimeWed Apr 08 2020, 10:18

@yellabelly wrote:
Craftworlds are in a really strong spot, competitively speaking. I don't think anyone can complain about their power level. The win % for craftworlds since Phoenix Rising has been very high, and if Space Marines hadn't been public enemy number one and taking all the attention, Craftworlds would be the bogey man of the current meta. They had a 60%+ win rate vs non-marine armies not too long ago.

You'd almost think there were benefits to having excellent HQ choices with toolbox abilities, lots of options to tailor around different builds, and an army that wasn't pointlessly split into 4 subfactions with 0 synergy. Wink

_________________
@TeenageAngst wrote:
Never trust the French.


Last edited by Soulless Samurai on Wed Apr 08 2020, 14:48; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
amishprn86
Archon
amishprn86

Posts : 4211
Join date : 2014-10-04
Location : Ohio

pariah preview Empty
PostSubject: Re: pariah preview   pariah preview I_icon_minitimeWed Apr 08 2020, 14:22

@Soulless Samurai wrote:
@yellabelly wrote:
Craftworlds are in a really strong spot, competitively speaking. I don't think anyone can complain about their power level. The win % for craftworlds since Phoenix Rising has been very high, and if Space Marines hadn't been public enemy number one and taking all the attention, Craftworlds would be the bogey man of the current meta. They had a 60%+ win rate vs non-marine armies not too long ago.

You'd almost think there were benefits to having excellent HQ choices with toolbox abilities, lost of options to tailor around different builds, and an army that wasn't pointlessly split into 4 subfactions with 0 synergy. Wink


#ShockPikachuFace

_________________
New to Blogging, just starting https://maddpaint.blogspot.com/

Harlequins 5k+
Dark Eldar 10k+
AoS: BoC 8k, CoS 3k
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




pariah preview Empty
PostSubject: Re: pariah preview   pariah preview I_icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
pariah preview
Back to top 
Page 1 of 2Go to page : 1, 2  Next

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

GENERAL DRUKHARI DISCUSSION

 :: News & Rumours
-
Jump to: