THE DARK CITY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.



 
HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityRegisterLog in

 

 Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising

Go down 
+55
The Strange Dark One
withershadow
Gherma
Tiax_Dalrok
Bad-baden-baden
TeenageAngst
Rodi Sikni
Faitherun
Lord Weston
Elfric
velaresh
Red Corsair
Vailex
Count Adhemar
Darklord
Devilogical
Ragnos
wormfromhell
Gorgon
Logan Frost
colinsherlow
TSkouboe
Gizamaluke
False Son
Sarcron
Koldan
Dark Elf Dave
SK-84
nerdelemental
Cerve
Genomir
GreyArea
Karr4x
Ollie
Azdrubael
sweetbacon
Skulnbonz
AzraeI
Archon Rievect
Ikol
Pilosocereus
yellabelly
Lord Asvaldir
CurstAlchemist
Vael Galizur
Soulless Samurai
amishprn86
DevilDoll
Serpent Fly
Archon_91
TheBaconPope
dumpeal
Burnage
krayd
Squidmaster
59 posters
Go to page : Previous  1 ... 10 ... 16, 17, 18 ... 24 ... 31  Next
AuthorMessage
Logan Frost
Sybarite
Logan Frost


Posts : 465
Join date : 2016-01-25

Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising - Page 17 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising   Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising - Page 17 I_icon_minitimeThu Oct 10 2019, 18:52

Onslaught would statistically compensate for 1s, so it would be 12 hits fighting twice.
Back to top Go down
Elfric
Kabalite Warrior
Elfric


Posts : 100
Join date : 2018-03-04

Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising - Page 17 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising   Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising - Page 17 I_icon_minitimeThu Oct 10 2019, 19:04

Okay yeah it's double hits on hit rolls of 6's not all hit rolls. I guess that strat works better on a ten man incubi unit with a greater likely hold of rolling 6's
Back to top Go down
Gizamaluke
Sybarite
Gizamaluke


Posts : 398
Join date : 2013-10-28

Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising - Page 17 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising   Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising - Page 17 I_icon_minitimeThu Oct 10 2019, 19:24

Where are you getting 24 attacks from am I missing something???
Back to top Go down
amishprn86
Archon
amishprn86


Posts : 4436
Join date : 2014-10-04
Location : Ohio

Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising - Page 17 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising   Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising - Page 17 I_icon_minitimeThu Oct 10 2019, 20:40

Gizamaluke wrote:
Where are you getting 24 attacks from am I missing something???


https://www.warhammer-community.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/10/JZvsDZ-Oct09-DZProfile.jpg

https://www.warhammer-community.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/10/JZvsDZ-Oct09-DZWeapons-krler.jpg


He get 4 attacks base, take the Dual blades for additional 2 attacks per attack, (4x3 is 12) attack twice for 12 more.

_________________
New to Blogging, just starting https://maddpaint.blogspot.com/

Drukhari: 10k+
SoB: 3k
AoS: BoC 9k, CoS 3k
Back to top Go down
Cerve
Hekatrix
Cerve


Posts : 1272
Join date : 2014-10-05
Location : Ferrara - Emiglia Romagna

Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising - Page 17 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising   Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising - Page 17 I_icon_minitimeThu Oct 10 2019, 20:43

No no wait. Dual Blades add 2 attacks. Not 2 attacks for any attack.

4+2=6. Attack twice, 6x2=12
Back to top Go down
amishprn86
Archon
amishprn86


Posts : 4436
Join date : 2014-10-04
Location : Ohio

Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising - Page 17 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising   Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising - Page 17 I_icon_minitimeThu Oct 10 2019, 20:44

Delete

_________________
New to Blogging, just starting https://maddpaint.blogspot.com/

Drukhari: 10k+
SoB: 3k
AoS: BoC 9k, CoS 3k


Last edited by amishprn86 on Thu Oct 10 2019, 20:53; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
amishprn86
Archon
amishprn86


Posts : 4436
Join date : 2014-10-04
Location : Ohio

Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising - Page 17 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising   Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising - Page 17 I_icon_minitimeThu Oct 10 2019, 20:51

Actually i might be wrong, looking at all other weapons that adds attacks, they never say add, they say "X attacks instead of". I looked at 7 units.

And looking at wyches and wraiths, they are just add 1 "Each time the bearer fights, it can make 1 additional attack with this weapon"

So i believe you are correct, it would be 4+2 for 6, attack twice for 12.

_________________
New to Blogging, just starting https://maddpaint.blogspot.com/

Drukhari: 10k+
SoB: 3k
AoS: BoC 9k, CoS 3k
Back to top Go down
Ollie
Hellion
Ollie


Posts : 43
Join date : 2018-10-07
Location : Whanganui

Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising - Page 17 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising   Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising - Page 17 I_icon_minitimeThu Oct 10 2019, 21:30

Are we able to split our attacks? e.g. go 3 attacks with the single blade and then 1 with the dual blades to get the two bonus? or are we restricted to pick one for all of our attacks?
Back to top Go down
colinsherlow
Hekatrix
colinsherlow


Posts : 1034
Join date : 2011-11-23
Location : Vancouver BC

Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising - Page 17 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising   Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising - Page 17 I_icon_minitimeThu Oct 10 2019, 21:30

amishprn86 wrote:
Actually i might be wrong, looking at all other weapons that adds attacks, they never say add, they say "X attacks instead of". I looked at 7 units.

And looking at wyches and wraiths, they are just add 1 "Each time the bearer fights, it can make 1 additional attack with this weapon"

So i believe you are correct, it would be 4+2 for 6, attack twice for 12.


Yeah Drazar just add 2 additional attacks with his weapon. Not X2.

12attacks hitting on 2s with +1 to wound is pretty dope.

_________________
There are two things that I love. Kicking ass and chewing bubble gum... And I'm allllll out of bubble gum!
Back to top Go down
colinsherlow
Hekatrix
colinsherlow


Posts : 1034
Join date : 2011-11-23
Location : Vancouver BC

Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising - Page 17 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising   Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising - Page 17 I_icon_minitimeThu Oct 10 2019, 21:32

Ollie wrote:
Are we able to split our attacks?  e.g. go 3 attacks with the single blade and then 1 with the dual blades to get the two bonus? or are we restricted to pick one for all of our attacks?

You choose a profile to fight with. AMD it's one weapon. Of you had two actual different weapons I believe you could split. But that is not the case with Drazar.

_________________
There are two things that I love. Kicking ass and chewing bubble gum... And I'm allllll out of bubble gum!
Back to top Go down
Burnage
Incubi
Burnage


Posts : 1501
Join date : 2017-09-12

Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising - Page 17 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising   Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising - Page 17 I_icon_minitimeThu Oct 10 2019, 21:39

I'm thinking the real power combo is going to be with Ynnari Incubi.

Use the Shrine of the Whispering God strat to give them Strength from Death, they're all hitting on 2s. Ancestor's Grace or the Visarch allows them to reroll to hit rolls of 1. Drazhar gives them +1 to wound (although he has to be taken in a different detachment). The Inevitable Fate strat or psychic power gives them reroll all failed wounds.

It's a ton of investment, but add that up and it leads to one of hell of a choppy set of units.
Back to top Go down
Faitherun
Sybarite
Faitherun


Posts : 297
Join date : 2017-02-13

Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising - Page 17 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising   Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising - Page 17 I_icon_minitimeThu Oct 10 2019, 21:55

Something to note - units change their keywords when becoming Ynnari. More than likely, Draz will no longer be able to buff Ynnari Incubi as they would be Reborn Drukari, not Drukari... just depends how his rule is written.

That being said, the biggest two changes I'd love to see with Ynnari here would be if (1) You only needed one Ynnari special character per Army, not per Detachment and (2) the lifting of restriction on named characters. That alone would push them from almost good to good.
Back to top Go down
Soulless Samurai
Incubi
Soulless Samurai


Posts : 1843
Join date : 2018-04-02

Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising - Page 17 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising   Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising - Page 17 I_icon_minitimeThu Oct 10 2019, 21:56

Burnage wrote:
I'm thinking the real power combo is going to be with Ynnari Incubi.

Use the Shrine of the Whispering God strat to give them Strength from Death, they're all hitting on 2s. Ancestor's Grace or the Visarch allows them to reroll to hit rolls of 1. Drazhar gives them +1 to wound (although he has to be taken in a different detachment). The Inevitable Fate strat or psychic power gives them reroll all failed wounds.

It's a ton of investment, but add that up and it leads to one of hell of a choppy set of units.

Do you think Drazhar will be usable with Ynnari then?

_________________
TeenageAngst wrote:
Never trust the French.
Back to top Go down
Burnage
Incubi
Burnage


Posts : 1501
Join date : 2017-09-12

Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising - Page 17 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising   Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising - Page 17 I_icon_minitimeThu Oct 10 2019, 22:01

I suspect that Drazhar won't be able to be taken in a Ynnari detachment. The important point is that his aura affects Incubi (according to Warhammer Community, at least), and whether that's referencing the key word or name of the unit it's not changed when they're taken as Ynnari. Incubi don't lose any keywords and don't gain Reborn Drukhari when joining Ynnari detachments; they just gain the Ynnari key word.

As long as you run two Drukhari detachments, one Ynnari and one non-Ynnari, you'll be able to take both Drazhar and Ynnari Incubi. Cue the stacking of buffs.
Back to top Go down
Soulless Samurai
Incubi
Soulless Samurai


Posts : 1843
Join date : 2018-04-02

Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising - Page 17 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising   Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising - Page 17 I_icon_minitimeThu Oct 10 2019, 23:10

Burnage wrote:
I suspect that Drazhar won't be able to be taken in a Ynnari detachment. The important point is that his aura affects Incubi (according to Warhammer Community, at least), and whether that's referencing the key word or name of the unit it's not changed when they're taken as Ynnari. Incubi don't lose any keywords and don't gain Reborn Drukhari when joining Ynnari detachments; they just gain the Ynnari key word.

As long as you run two Drukhari detachments, one Ynnari and one non-Ynnari, you'll be able to take both Drazhar and Ynnari Incubi. Cue the stacking of buffs.

I guess that works.

Though, if GW are trying to push Ynnari, it's still a little odd to release a box with the main feature being two special characters, neither of which can ever be Ynnari. Razz

_________________
TeenageAngst wrote:
Never trust the French.
Back to top Go down
Lord Asvaldir
Hekatrix
Lord Asvaldir


Posts : 1157
Join date : 2015-12-06

Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising - Page 17 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising   Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising - Page 17 I_icon_minitimeFri Oct 11 2019, 02:26

I'm not optimistic, but I really hope GW takes the opportunity of Phoenix Rising to make some slight rebalances to Ynarri, and not just a reprint of the WD rules. While I don't play Ynarri, I think it's a cool theme and it really deserves some attention. Right now the faction that is supposed to be a mix of all eldar is just too rigid, you shouldn't be forced into take 3 rather expensive characters if you want 3 detachments.

_________________
The Night is Dark and Full of Terrors...
Back to top Go down
False Son
Sybarite
False Son


Posts : 307
Join date : 2012-12-23

Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising - Page 17 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising   Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising - Page 17 I_icon_minitimeFri Oct 11 2019, 04:05

I'm just hoping the rules show up in some form outside the box set. Other than Drazhar himself, I don't want a single model in that box.
Back to top Go down
krayd
Hekatrix
krayd


Posts : 1210
Join date : 2011-10-03
Location : Richmond, VA

Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising - Page 17 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising   Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising - Page 17 I_icon_minitimeFri Oct 11 2019, 04:59

Faitherun wrote:
Something to note - units change their keywords when becoming Ynnari. More than likely, Draz will no longer be able to buff Ynnari Incubi as they would be Reborn Drukari, not Drukari... just depends how his rule is written.

Oddly enough, 'Reborn Drukhari' replaces <KABAL> or <CULT>. They still keep the 'Drukhari' keyword. So Ynarri Incubi still have both the Drukhari and Incubi keywords.

Edit: Incubi don't have <KABAL> or <CULT> either, so they gain the Ynarri keyword, but not the 'Reborn Drukhari' keyword.
Back to top Go down
krayd
Hekatrix
krayd


Posts : 1210
Join date : 2011-10-03
Location : Richmond, VA

Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising - Page 17 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising   Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising - Page 17 I_icon_minitimeFri Oct 11 2019, 05:02

False Son wrote:
I'm just hoping the rules show up in some form outside the box set.  Other than Drazhar himself, I don't want a single model in that box.

I'm sure that he will be a hot item on ebay.
Back to top Go down
DevilDoll
Wych
DevilDoll


Posts : 523
Join date : 2013-08-16

Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising - Page 17 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising   Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising - Page 17 I_icon_minitimeFri Oct 11 2019, 07:26

Guys are we sure his +1 wound aura works on himself? There seems to be a big discussion in other forums and people are divided about this...
Back to top Go down
amishprn86
Archon
amishprn86


Posts : 4436
Join date : 2014-10-04
Location : Ohio

Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising - Page 17 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising   Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising - Page 17 I_icon_minitimeFri Oct 11 2019, 07:59

DevilDoll wrote:
Guys are we sure his +1 wound aura works on himself? There seems to be a big discussion in other forums and people are divided about this...

Yes... b.c he has the Incubi Keyword.

_________________
New to Blogging, just starting https://maddpaint.blogspot.com/

Drukhari: 10k+
SoB: 3k
AoS: BoC 9k, CoS 3k
Back to top Go down
DevilDoll
Wych
DevilDoll


Posts : 523
Join date : 2013-08-16

Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising - Page 17 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising   Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising - Page 17 I_icon_minitimeFri Oct 11 2019, 08:02

The issue is that the incubi is not written in bold or some BS like that
Back to top Go down
Sarcron
Sybarite
Sarcron


Posts : 353
Join date : 2018-11-05
Location : Studying under Mr. Rakarth Sir

Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising - Page 17 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising   Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising - Page 17 I_icon_minitimeFri Oct 11 2019, 08:31

Surely. Surely GW wouldn't make a character's aura not work on themself when they're literally just a named character version of the unit they buff.

_________________
~Kabal of the Black Dawn
~Coven of the Dark Heaven
Sarcron wrote:
Sarcron
Back to top Go down
Koldan
Kabalite Warrior
Koldan


Posts : 179
Join date : 2017-10-26

Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising - Page 17 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising   Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising - Page 17 I_icon_minitimeFri Oct 11 2019, 08:53

Xenos 2 Errata:
Page 87 – Old One Eye, Alpha Leader
Change this ability to read:
‘You can add 1 to hit rolls in the Fight phase for friendly
<Hive Fleet> Carnifex units that are within 6" of
this model."

In the original Index, it was <Hive Fleet> Carnifex, so the only errata was changing it to bold. Why change it, when it has no meaning?

I actually haven't found a faq for WH40k that says it, but i found one for AoS that keywords are always in bold and unit names normal. I think the RAI is pretty clear.
Back to top Go down
Burnage
Incubi
Burnage


Posts : 1501
Join date : 2017-09-12

Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising - Page 17 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising   Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising - Page 17 I_icon_minitimeFri Oct 11 2019, 09:00

It's dumb as hell but right now his aura doesn't work on himself. I'm guessing that'll get FAQed pretty quickly, though.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content





Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising - Page 17 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising   Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising - Page 17 I_icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
Psychic Awakening: Phoenix Rising
Back to top 
Page 17 of 31Go to page : Previous  1 ... 10 ... 16, 17, 18 ... 24 ... 31  Next
 Similar topics
-
» Psychic Awakening: New Short Story
» Phoenix Rising FAQ
» Awakening Avatar of Khaine through a ritual by the Dark Kin
» The Rising Sun
» New Kabal rising

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

GENERAL DRUKHARI DISCUSSION

 :: News & Rumours
-
Jump to: