THE DARK CITY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.



 
HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityRegisterLog in

 

 Does Codex FAQ trump Rulebook FAQ?

Go down 
5 posters
AuthorMessage
Squidmaster
Klaivex
Squidmaster

Posts : 2123
Join date : 2013-12-18
Location : Hampshire, England

Does Codex FAQ trump Rulebook FAQ? Empty
PostSubject: Does Codex FAQ trump Rulebook FAQ?   Does Codex FAQ trump Rulebook FAQ? I_icon_minitimeThu May 02 2019, 10:37

So, a while back, I think it was a Big FAQ which put in the rule that you can only generate one new Command Point per Battle Round.
BUT, after the recent FAQ updates on 29th April, the Drukhari FAQ still reads:

Quote :
"Labyrinthine Cunning - Change the rules text to read: Whilst your Warlord is on the battlefield, roll a d6 each time you or your opponent spends a Command Point to use a Stratagem; you gain a Command Point for each roll of 6."

So, if Codex trumps rulebook, and presumably Codex trumps Chapter Approved too, then does Codex FAQ trump rulebook FAQ or updates?

_________________
Kabal of the Eternal NightModelling Blog
The Squidmaster DistractathonNotes on being an RPG Gamesmaster
Back to top Go down
http://www.escelionfilms.com
Gizamaluke
Sybarite
Gizamaluke

Posts : 398
Join date : 2013-10-28

Does Codex FAQ trump Rulebook FAQ? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Does Codex FAQ trump Rulebook FAQ?   Does Codex FAQ trump Rulebook FAQ? I_icon_minitimeThu May 02 2019, 10:40

FAQ also finalised the 1cp per turn rule and gave the exemptions so I dont think so
Back to top Go down
Squidmaster
Klaivex
Squidmaster

Posts : 2123
Join date : 2013-12-18
Location : Hampshire, England

Does Codex FAQ trump Rulebook FAQ? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Does Codex FAQ trump Rulebook FAQ?   Does Codex FAQ trump Rulebook FAQ? I_icon_minitimeThu May 02 2019, 11:41

@Gizamaluke wrote:
FAQ also finalised the 1cp per turn rule and gave the exemptions so I dont think so

Yeah, the update finalised it. But on the same day they updated all the Codex FAQs.
And the Drukhari one still includes the above quote.
And Codex trumps Rulebook.

I can completely see that they maybe wanted to or forgot to update that one line in the Druklhari8 FAQ, but as is currently written, I think it can be argued the Codex FAQ trumps even the Update, because the Update is a Rulebook one.

_________________
Kabal of the Eternal NightModelling Blog
The Squidmaster DistractathonNotes on being an RPG Gamesmaster
Back to top Go down
http://www.escelionfilms.com
Siticus the Ancient
Wych
Siticus the Ancient

Posts : 936
Join date : 2011-09-10
Location : Riga, Latvia

Does Codex FAQ trump Rulebook FAQ? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Does Codex FAQ trump Rulebook FAQ?   Does Codex FAQ trump Rulebook FAQ? I_icon_minitimeThu May 02 2019, 13:26

Keep in mind that the big FAQ states this for Matched play. The codex FAQ states this for general use (open and narrative). Therefore, for matched play, the big FAQ takes precedence.

_________________
Siticus Empyrean Vision - my Facebook page with various painting projects
Siticus' Empyrean Visions log - the project log for my Aeldari works and beyond
Back to top Go down
Squidmaster
Klaivex
Squidmaster

Posts : 2123
Join date : 2013-12-18
Location : Hampshire, England

Does Codex FAQ trump Rulebook FAQ? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Does Codex FAQ trump Rulebook FAQ?   Does Codex FAQ trump Rulebook FAQ? I_icon_minitimeThu May 02 2019, 13:29

@Siticus the Ancient wrote:
Keep in mind that the big FAQ states this for Matched play. The codex FAQ states this for general use (open and narrative). Therefore, for matched play, the big FAQ takes precedence.

I'm not sure I get the distinction.
Codex FAQ applies to all, including Matched Play.
So if both Big FAQ and Drukhari FAQ count for Matched, doesn't Codex trump Rulebook in this case?

I may be playing devils advocate at this point, but Codex FAQ does apply to matched too.

_________________
Kabal of the Eternal NightModelling Blog
The Squidmaster DistractathonNotes on being an RPG Gamesmaster
Back to top Go down
http://www.escelionfilms.com
Siticus the Ancient
Wych
Siticus the Ancient

Posts : 936
Join date : 2011-09-10
Location : Riga, Latvia

Does Codex FAQ trump Rulebook FAQ? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Does Codex FAQ trump Rulebook FAQ?   Does Codex FAQ trump Rulebook FAQ? I_icon_minitimeThu May 02 2019, 13:57

The Tactical Restraint rule is specific to the Matched Play format. It very clearly defines you cannot gain more than one CP per turn and very explicitly notes a few exceptions to the rule such as Agents of Vect or Player of the Twilight warlord trait. If you play Matched Play, you follow this rule, it's as simple as that.

_________________
Siticus Empyrean Vision - my Facebook page with various painting projects
Siticus' Empyrean Visions log - the project log for my Aeldari works and beyond
Back to top Go down
Squidmaster
Klaivex
Squidmaster

Posts : 2123
Join date : 2013-12-18
Location : Hampshire, England

Does Codex FAQ trump Rulebook FAQ? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Does Codex FAQ trump Rulebook FAQ?   Does Codex FAQ trump Rulebook FAQ? I_icon_minitimeThu May 02 2019, 14:29

@Siticus the Ancient wrote:
The Tactical Restraint rule is specific to the Matched Play format. It very clearly defines you cannot gain more than one CP per turn and very explicitly notes a few exceptions to the rule such as Agents of Vect or Player of the Twilight warlord trait. If you play Matched Play, you follow this rule, it's as simple as that.

My point is that if you play Matched play, you ALSO use the Labyrinthine Cunning rule as given in the Drukhari FAQ. And that FAQ was also updated on April 29th, and reads as I quoted.

_________________
Kabal of the Eternal NightModelling Blog
The Squidmaster DistractathonNotes on being an RPG Gamesmaster
Back to top Go down
http://www.escelionfilms.com
Burnage
Hekatrix
Burnage

Posts : 1421
Join date : 2017-09-12

Does Codex FAQ trump Rulebook FAQ? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Does Codex FAQ trump Rulebook FAQ?   Does Codex FAQ trump Rulebook FAQ? I_icon_minitimeThu May 02 2019, 15:30

@Squidmaster wrote:
@Siticus the Ancient wrote:
The Tactical Restraint rule is specific to the Matched Play format. It very clearly defines you cannot gain more than one CP per turn and very explicitly notes a few exceptions to the rule such as Agents of Vect or Player of the Twilight warlord trait. If you play Matched Play, you follow this rule, it's as simple as that.

My point is that if you play Matched play, you ALSO use the Labyrinthine Cunning rule as given in the Drukhari FAQ. And that FAQ was also updated on April 29th, and reads as I quoted.

They're not mutually exclusive.

You gain a command point for each roll of 6.
You can gain a maximum of one command point this way each round.

You could replace the value in the second rule with any other number and the two rules would both still be in effect.
Back to top Go down
Myrvn
Wych
avatar

Posts : 500
Join date : 2012-08-05

Does Codex FAQ trump Rulebook FAQ? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Does Codex FAQ trump Rulebook FAQ?   Does Codex FAQ trump Rulebook FAQ? I_icon_minitimeThu May 02 2019, 21:10

Wasn't the Labyrinthine update to clarify the language? It wasn't intended to tweak the ability after the FAQ. It's the same language as pre-big FAQ. So this shouldn't affect the matched play requirements.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




Does Codex FAQ trump Rulebook FAQ? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Does Codex FAQ trump Rulebook FAQ?   Does Codex FAQ trump Rulebook FAQ? I_icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
Does Codex FAQ trump Rulebook FAQ?
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: