THE DARK CITY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.



 
HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityRegisterLog in

 

 Can Eviscerating Flyby target a Character?

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Creeping Darkness
Wych
Creeping Darkness

Posts : 555
Join date : 2012-11-21

Can Eviscerating Flyby target a Character? Empty
PostSubject: Can Eviscerating Flyby target a Character?   Can Eviscerating Flyby target a Character? I_icon_minitimeTue Apr 17 2018, 01:00

Reading through the revised Character targeting rules, it struck me that the restriction only applies in the Shooting phase.

Since Eviscerating Flyby does damage in the movement phase, does that mean you can target a character that you have flown over? If so, it seems to me that 12 reavers could become quite an effectve sniper unit.

Related question, does 'over' imply moving in a direct, straight line between the start point and end point, with the unit (character?) in question along that line, or would a loop suffice, so long as the arc length of the loop is equal to or less than their movement characteristic?

_________________
The Dark Eldar and Dissynergy.
3d printed Dark Eldar bits on Shapeways.
Can Eviscerating Flyby target a Character? Malys_10
Back to top Go down
http://thecreepingdarkness.blogspot.com
Kantalla
Wych
Kantalla

Posts : 874
Join date : 2015-12-21

Can Eviscerating Flyby target a Character? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Can Eviscerating Flyby target a Character?   Can Eviscerating Flyby target a Character? I_icon_minitimeTue Apr 17 2018, 01:48

Yes, it does work on characters. Likewise for a unit locked in combat.

A loop move seems legal too.

_________________
From a midnight sky, there is a searing flash, a boom, a brief moment of destruction, and then it is gone.
Kabal of Lightning Strikes - Project Log
Drukhari damage output analysis
Back to top Go down
dumpeal
Hekatrix
dumpeal

Posts : 1255
Join date : 2015-02-13
Location : Québec

Can Eviscerating Flyby target a Character? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Can Eviscerating Flyby target a Character?   Can Eviscerating Flyby target a Character? I_icon_minitimeTue Apr 17 2018, 02:43

hellion flocks, here they come!
Back to top Go down
Creeping Darkness
Wych
Creeping Darkness

Posts : 555
Join date : 2012-11-21

Can Eviscerating Flyby target a Character? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Can Eviscerating Flyby target a Character?   Can Eviscerating Flyby target a Character? I_icon_minitimeTue Apr 17 2018, 02:54

Thanks, I wondered if I was missing something!

_________________
The Dark Eldar and Dissynergy.
3d printed Dark Eldar bits on Shapeways.
Can Eviscerating Flyby target a Character? Malys_10
Back to top Go down
http://thecreepingdarkness.blogspot.com
Lord Asvaldir
Hekatrix
Lord Asvaldir

Posts : 1157
Join date : 2015-12-06

Can Eviscerating Flyby target a Character? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Can Eviscerating Flyby target a Character?   Can Eviscerating Flyby target a Character? I_icon_minitimeTue Apr 17 2018, 05:15

Yeah using that stratagem on a character seems mean, say you've got 10 models flying over an infantry character and that's 3 mortal wounds.

_________________
The Night is Dark and Full of Terrors...
Back to top Go down
shadowseercB
Wych
shadowseercB

Posts : 550
Join date : 2012-10-21

Can Eviscerating Flyby target a Character? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Can Eviscerating Flyby target a Character?   Can Eviscerating Flyby target a Character? I_icon_minitimeTue Apr 17 2018, 07:57

Yes it works, you just cant target a character in the shooting phase. This stratagem happens in the movement phase.

_________________
15,000 Dark Eldar
20,000 Eldar
7,000 Mechanicum
3,500 Harlequin
Back to top Go down
Creeping Darkness
Wych
Creeping Darkness

Posts : 555
Join date : 2012-11-21

Can Eviscerating Flyby target a Character? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Can Eviscerating Flyby target a Character?   Can Eviscerating Flyby target a Character? I_icon_minitimeWed Apr 18 2018, 01:15

Come to think of it, there doesn't seem to be any restriction to stop the Eviscerating Flyby from targeting a unit that's in combat?

So you can flyover an existing melee and help your guys out by eviscerating their opponents?

_________________
The Dark Eldar and Dissynergy.
3d printed Dark Eldar bits on Shapeways.
Can Eviscerating Flyby target a Character? Malys_10
Back to top Go down
http://thecreepingdarkness.blogspot.com
Ikol
Wych
Ikol

Posts : 571
Join date : 2017-03-20
Location : Perth

Can Eviscerating Flyby target a Character? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Can Eviscerating Flyby target a Character?   Can Eviscerating Flyby target a Character? I_icon_minitimeWed Apr 18 2018, 03:08

Seems fair, you’re flying into melee, hitting them with your melee, and then leaving.

_________________
This world exists because of the things we have done, forever branching to the decisions we make and twisting to what we do not.

”Woe to our enemies.  We'll tear them apart regardless.” ~Barrywise
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




Can Eviscerating Flyby target a Character? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Can Eviscerating Flyby target a Character?   Can Eviscerating Flyby target a Character? I_icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
Can Eviscerating Flyby target a Character?
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: