The only stuff I could find in FAQ's and designer commentary was regarding abilities that state "loses a wound". This might be me applying faulty logic, but from what I was reading and from AoS rulesets, loses a wound means after damage on d3/d6 damage is rolled and applied to models, while suffers a wound would occur before damage on dx attacks is rolled, but after any armor/invul saves. The idea being the unit has suffered an unsaved wounding blow at that point, whereas the wound on the model isn't lost until after d3/d6 rolls have occurred and wounds have been allocated to models.
Like you were saying the confusion is due to "wound" being used for two different concepts. I could also be completley wrong here, but I was working off the fact that no "suffers" worded abilities have ever been mentioned in any errata that I can find and that mortal wound saves in particular are supposed to be exceptionally rare and only granted if specified.