THE DARK CITY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.



 
HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityRegisterLog in

 

 Champion of Ynnead

Go down 
AuthorMessage
The Red King
Hekatrix
The Red King

Posts : 1239
Join date : 2013-07-09

Champion of Ynnead Empty
PostSubject: Champion of Ynnead   Champion of Ynnead I_icon_minitimeWed Jun 21 2017, 15:44

So I'm honestly unsure about the wording of the prophet/ champion of ynnead rules.

It says if a model dies than you roll a dice and regain a wound on a 4+. Period. It then says if the model was a psyker/ character (respectively) the character gains another psychic power/ attack.

My uncertainty stems from the separation of the two. Does one need to succeed at regaining a wound in order to trigger the "if the model was a character or psyker" check.

Perhaps I'm thinking too much in coding language but there doesn't appear to be any direct link linguistically between that dice roll and whether or not the model in question was a psyker/ character.

I'm not trying to be gamey and with the stakes being either 1 other power or 2 more attacks maximum I don't think it's going to break my game in any case, it's just been nagging at me.

It seems like it would have been simple enough to say "if you succeed and the model was..." or simply put a comma instead of a period.
Back to top Go down
Faitherun
Sybarite
Faitherun

Posts : 297
Join date : 2017-02-13

Champion of Ynnead Empty
PostSubject: Re: Champion of Ynnead   Champion of Ynnead I_icon_minitimeWed Jun 21 2017, 16:19

You roll for the model dying to regenerate a wound. Then, pass or fail, you move on to the next sentence
Back to top Go down
Jimsolo
Dracon
Jimsolo

Posts : 3212
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

Champion of Ynnead Empty
PostSubject: Re: Champion of Ynnead   Champion of Ynnead I_icon_minitimeWed Jun 21 2017, 16:29

The second bonus is independent. It happens regardless, is my reading.
Back to top Go down
The Red King
Hekatrix
The Red King

Posts : 1239
Join date : 2013-07-09

Champion of Ynnead Empty
PostSubject: Re: Champion of Ynnead   Champion of Ynnead I_icon_minitimeWed Jun 21 2017, 20:04

I'm glad that's a common interpretation. That's how I read it but I worry I'm too competitive at times.

Side note the Visarch has quite a bit of synergy with Sslyth.

To elaborate; the size of their base protects him in CC because the enemy is more than an inch away.

Their death triggers his bonus and soulburst, doubling his attacks whenever one of them goes down due to being individual characters themselves.
Back to top Go down
Jimsolo
Dracon
Jimsolo

Posts : 3212
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

Champion of Ynnead Empty
PostSubject: Re: Champion of Ynnead   Champion of Ynnead I_icon_minitimeThu Jun 22 2017, 00:25

Noice...
Back to top Go down
Barrywise
Wych
Barrywise

Posts : 621
Join date : 2012-11-14
Location : Illinois

Champion of Ynnead Empty
PostSubject: Re: Champion of Ynnead   Champion of Ynnead I_icon_minitimeThu Jun 22 2017, 01:08

Yeah, couldn't you do some serious shenanigans with the DE Archon court and Ynnari stuff?

_________________
Want to chat in real time with your fellow archons? Join our Discord channel -> https://discord.gg/5yhRP7v
Back to top Go down
Massaen
Klaivex
Massaen

Posts : 2268
Join date : 2011-07-05
Location : Western Australia

Champion of Ynnead Empty
PostSubject: Re: Champion of Ynnead   Champion of Ynnead I_icon_minitimeThu Jun 22 2017, 04:18

I actually think its implied to be tied to the 4+ roll myself but can see how you can read it as not being.

Each time another aeldari model is slain within 7" of the visarch, roll a d6.

On a 4+, the visarch immediately regains a lost wound.

If the slain model was a character, add 1 to the visarchs attacks characteristic for the rest of the battle (to a max attacks characteristic of 7).

I can see how this can be read as independent of the D6 but if you take out the middle sentence to make the 3rd stand alone, why do I roll the D6? they seem intrinsically linked on the roll for reward

_________________
Objective Secured - Western Australia's Premier 40k Event Organisers and Website
OBJECTIVE SECURED
Back to top Go down
http://objectivesecured.com.au/
Sponsored content




Champion of Ynnead Empty
PostSubject: Re: Champion of Ynnead   Champion of Ynnead I_icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
Champion of Ynnead
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: