THE DARK CITY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.



 
HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityRegisterLog in

 

 Drazhar - can he use his own powers?

Go down 
AuthorMessage
xerxeshavelock
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 31
Join date : 2011-05-14

Drazhar - can he use his own powers? Empty
PostSubject: Drazhar - can he use his own powers?   Drazhar - can he use his own powers? I_icon_minitimeMon Oct 24 2011, 14:36

Really nitpicky I know - but the powers refer to an Incubus or Klaivex using them. He doesn't have anything describing him as actually being an Incubus, and specify he is NOT a Klaivex. In all honesty I can't see any but the strongest RAW player using this, but what do you guys think?

Mark
Back to top Go down
Massaen
Klaivex
Massaen

Posts : 2268
Join date : 2011-07-05
Location : Western Australia

Drazhar - can he use his own powers? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Drazhar - can he use his own powers?   Drazhar - can he use his own powers? I_icon_minitimeMon Oct 24 2011, 15:45

Its like the phoenix lords not being able to use their powers... its a dread sock moment... with a 90's dread...

_________________
Objective Secured - Western Australia's Premier 40k Event Organisers and Website
OBJECTIVE SECURED
Back to top Go down
http://objectivesecured.com.au/
Local_Ork
Fleshsculptor
Local_Ork

Posts : 1500
Join date : 2011-05-26
Location : Near good fight!

Drazhar - can he use his own powers? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Drazhar - can he use his own powers?   Drazhar - can he use his own powers? I_icon_minitimeMon Oct 24 2011, 16:39

No special rule - no power.

LAAAAAAAAAME!


[edit]
Oh wait, he have them.

_________________
Drazhar - can he use his own powers? TattoosigtlDrazhar - can he use his own powers? TattoosigseDrazhar - can he use his own powers? Tattoosigow
"Most vile thing you can read. Ever." - Our Forum Rules


Last edited by Local_Ork on Tue Oct 25 2011, 07:31; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
Raneth
Sybarite
Raneth

Posts : 467
Join date : 2011-06-12
Location : ridin' the Razor, cussin' at my Wyches

Drazhar - can he use his own powers? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Drazhar - can he use his own powers?   Drazhar - can he use his own powers? I_icon_minitimeMon Oct 24 2011, 17:11

I never noticed, this is quite funny Razz

_________________
...........
~ Drazhar, Master of Blades
Back to top Go down
Phototoxin
Kabalite Warrior
Phototoxin

Posts : 191
Join date : 2011-09-11
Location : Southampton, UK

Drazhar - can he use his own powers? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Drazhar - can he use his own powers?   Drazhar - can he use his own powers? I_icon_minitimeMon Oct 24 2011, 17:51

Is this like how Demon Prices aren't Daemons and and Orc Warboss is not an Ork?
Back to top Go down
http://www.joerogers.info
Thor665
Archon
Thor665

Posts : 5526
Join date : 2011-06-10
Location : Venice, FL

Drazhar - can he use his own powers? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Drazhar - can he use his own powers?   Drazhar - can he use his own powers? I_icon_minitimeMon Oct 24 2011, 19:24

Definitely a bit of a gray area.

That said I would say it's pretty easy to debate that he has them just as easy as to say he doesn't. If he doesn't count as a Klaivex within the text of the powers when he has them, then there was no purpose for GW to give him both powers and they should have only given him the one.

Also, the Klaivex powers refer to 'the Klaivex' not the unit 'Klaivex' making it clear that when they use 'the Klaivex' it's a synonym for 'the unit with this power'. I definitely see it as possible to be argued - but, frankly, the only time this will come up is at tourneys - so I'd advocate checking with the TO before any list submission, 99% of the time I predict they allow him to use the powers normally and no worries.

Also, anyone competitive and aggressive enough to actually argue this will probably also have already brought a list that can handle Drazhar Wink

_________________
Drazhar - can he use his own powers? K93hWhs
Drazhar - can he use his own powers? L1RsnGX
The Title Troupe! - Nom fellow posters for custom titles.
Back to top Go down
Tiri Rana
Sybarite
Tiri Rana

Posts : 441
Join date : 2011-06-16
Location : Essen, Germany

Drazhar - can he use his own powers? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Drazhar - can he use his own powers?   Drazhar - can he use his own powers? I_icon_minitimeMon Oct 24 2011, 20:04

@Phototoxin wrote:
Is this like how Demon Prices aren't Daemons and and Orc Warboss is not an Ork?

Not quite, but similar.

DE_Codex p.52 wrote:

...Drazhar also has the Klaivex powers 'Onslaught' and 'Murderous Assault' (see page 31).

so let's look at page 31:

DE_Codex p.31 wrote:

Onslaught: [...] In an assault, any to wound roll of a 6 made by the Klaivex or an Incubus in his unit [...]

Murderous Assault: [...] The Klaivex has Preffered Enemy when attacking that model.

So it seems clear, that these rules only work for Klaivexes and or Incubi in their units.

The next question is, if Drazhar is either an Incubus or a Klaivex.

Does he have a special rule or clarification in his unit entry, that says he is? ... No

Is he part of an Incubi unit, bought by the unit entry Incubi? ... No

Did you pay 15 points to upgrade him to a Klaivex? ... No


He does wear an an Incubus Warsuite and is at least described as Incubi-like in his fluff.
But Fluffwise Khymerae are more demon, than Mandrakes, but the former don't coun't as demons for GK, while the later do.

I think this is just one part ignorance and one part laziness, by GW. If they actually used some time, to check the wording of their special rules, befor slapping them onto something these things wouldn't happen.

_________________
Drazhar - can he use his own powers? Tdcawardssigbestrules
I must rule with eye and claw — as the hawk among lesser birds.
Back to top Go down
Massaen
Klaivex
Massaen

Posts : 2268
Join date : 2011-07-05
Location : Western Australia

Drazhar - can he use his own powers? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Drazhar - can he use his own powers?   Drazhar - can he use his own powers? I_icon_minitimeTue Oct 25 2011, 01:19

Its the same for the phoenix lords... they all say exarch or aspect warrior when the phoenix lord is neither...

_________________
Objective Secured - Western Australia's Premier 40k Event Organisers and Website
OBJECTIVE SECURED
Back to top Go down
http://objectivesecured.com.au/
Aroshamash
Sybarite
Aroshamash

Posts : 326
Join date : 2011-05-14
Location : Sydney

Drazhar - can he use his own powers? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Drazhar - can he use his own powers?   Drazhar - can he use his own powers? I_icon_minitimeTue Oct 25 2011, 04:26

Well, Phoenix Lords are Aspect Warriors. It's their whole point, they created the Aspect, they are the Aspect.

As for Drazhar, I second the idea that anyone who seriously argues this deserves a Dreadsock to the head. Hard. With spikes attached (we are Dark Eldar after all. Hmm... maybe we can develop the old metal Talosock...)

_________________
It's our galaxy, you just die in it...
Back to top Go down
Massaen
Klaivex
Massaen

Posts : 2268
Join date : 2011-07-05
Location : Western Australia

Drazhar - can he use his own powers? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Drazhar - can he use his own powers?   Drazhar - can he use his own powers? I_icon_minitimeTue Oct 25 2011, 13:18

While in the fluff they may be aspect warriors, they are not listed as such when it comes to the rules... exactly like Drazhar

I like the idea of a talosock!!!

_________________
Objective Secured - Western Australia's Premier 40k Event Organisers and Website
OBJECTIVE SECURED
Back to top Go down
http://objectivesecured.com.au/
Todo13
Kabalite Warrior
Todo13

Posts : 196
Join date : 2011-05-19
Location : Canada

Drazhar - can he use his own powers? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Drazhar - can he use his own powers?   Drazhar - can he use his own powers? I_icon_minitimeTue Oct 25 2011, 22:58

I would tend to believe that he can use them…

_________________
Why do we ride atop these elegant craft? The better to hear the screams of our prey as we ride them down, to savour the fear etched on their faces, to taste the tantalising tang of their blood in the air as an appetiser before the feast -Dariaq Bladetongue of the Pierced Eye
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




Drazhar - can he use his own powers? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Drazhar - can he use his own powers?   Drazhar - can he use his own powers? I_icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
Drazhar - can he use his own powers?
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: