THE DARK CITY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.



 
HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityRegisterLog in

 

 Can Soulburst override other restrictions?

Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4
AuthorMessage
mattblowers
Kabalite Warrior
mattblowers

Posts : 116
Join date : 2016-12-27

Can Soulburst override other restrictions? - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Can Soulburst override other restrictions?   Can Soulburst override other restrictions? - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeThu Feb 16 2017, 02:16

@Myrvn wrote:
I think Count is right. The language in the rule seems to be completing the current action, not a new charge. IE: Unit A kills Unit B at I6, Unit C is within 7" and charges a new unit. I don't think it is intended for Unit A to be able to charge again.

Then why bother stating "even if a unit has already done so this turn" when under that interpretation it would never be possible to charge 2x?
Back to top Go down
Jimsolo
Dracon
Jimsolo

Posts : 3212
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

Can Soulburst override other restrictions? - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Can Soulburst override other restrictions?   Can Soulburst override other restrictions? - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeThu Feb 16 2017, 02:31

Because the 'even if it has already done so' clause does benefit those who choose to move or shoot, since neither of those actions have additional restrictions forbidding them. (If you're in a situation where they WOULD, then you would still be restricted, but normally you'd be able to shoot or move even if you had already shot or moved.)
Back to top Go down
Barrywise
Wych
Barrywise

Posts : 621
Join date : 2012-11-14
Location : Illinois

Can Soulburst override other restrictions? - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Can Soulburst override other restrictions?   Can Soulburst override other restrictions? - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeThu Feb 16 2017, 02:39

It seems to me that the RAI are for extra movement not extra killing potential through multi-charges. If your reavers happen to kill a full unit at I10 through HoW's they can charge again and now fight from I9 onwards. So you can save your units that would otherwise be left out in the open through an extra move, a turbo boost or getting them back into mêlée. And if you take that formation with extra stats from multiple units fighting in one fight, it makes it much easier to proc the stat boost.

I think the change of bladevanes to HoW's was a very insightful play by GW

_________________
Want to chat in real time with your fellow archons? Join our Discord channel -> https://discord.gg/5yhRP7v
Back to top Go down
mattblowers
Kabalite Warrior
mattblowers

Posts : 116
Join date : 2016-12-27

Can Soulburst override other restrictions? - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Can Soulburst override other restrictions?   Can Soulburst override other restrictions? - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeThu Feb 16 2017, 10:36

@Barrywise wrote:
It seems to me that the RAI are for extra movement not extra killing potential through multi-charges. If your reavers happen to kill a full unit at I10 through HoW's they can charge again and now fight from I9 onwards. So you can save your units that would otherwise be left out in the open through an extra move, a turbo boost or getting them back into mêlée. And if you take that formation with extra stats from multiple units fighting in one fight,

Except no you couldn't. You can't be half-in half-out, either you can do multi charges or you cannot. The initiative thing is weird and has to be worked out, but for now we haven't even sorted out if you can or cannot.
Back to top Go down
|Meavar
Hekatrix
|Meavar

Posts : 1041
Join date : 2017-01-26

Can Soulburst override other restrictions? - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Can Soulburst override other restrictions?   Can Soulburst override other restrictions? - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeThu Feb 16 2017, 11:47

The fun thing is, the initiative thing now seems only good for 1 thing, holding up other units.
You must have two tiny units. You charge 1 at a unit of the enemy. In your cc phase you throw some dice, maybe kill something, but since you only have like 1 or 2 khymera even regular guards will kill them. So he beats you to a bloody pulp/ alternatively you win the combat and kill him when he runs away, but this is only possible if he can be a scared little wuss. Now you soulburst charge your second unit in his highly elite special deathstar, but since his initiative has already been, he now spends his complete turn fighting a crap unit. So by sacrificing 2 cheap units, you make sure his unit cannot shoot, cannot move and cannot kill anything important. You just have to make sure the unit dies when then initiative of his Deathstar has happened already.

But this would also imply we would fight at the same initiative everywhere on the board before going to the next initiative. Not sure if that is true?
Back to top Go down
Vlad
Kabalite Warrior
Vlad

Posts : 111
Join date : 2017-02-06
Location : Coventry, England

Can Soulburst override other restrictions? - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Can Soulburst override other restrictions?   Can Soulburst override other restrictions? - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeThu Feb 16 2017, 11:56

I think we can all agree this SfD rules is very open to interpretation at the moment and is not exactly clear. I, for now, am going to play it how I interpret it until there is an FAQ
Back to top Go down
Archon Vitcus
Kabalite Warrior
Archon Vitcus

Posts : 145
Join date : 2016-02-04
Location : Glasgow

Can Soulburst override other restrictions? - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Can Soulburst override other restrictions?   Can Soulburst override other restrictions? - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeThu Feb 16 2017, 13:33

I think at the minute SfD needs some common sense between players until an Faq gets out. Talk to each other before hand before deploying on what craziness you can do.
Back to top Go down
mattblowers
Kabalite Warrior
mattblowers

Posts : 116
Join date : 2016-12-27

Can Soulburst override other restrictions? - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Can Soulburst override other restrictions?   Can Soulburst override other restrictions? - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeThu Feb 16 2017, 13:44

I'm good with it no matter how it shakes out, but having a pre-game negotiation in a tournament is not gonna get far and debating over rules really slows the game. I don't think I'll play it in a tournament until it gets sorted it's just not worth the hassle.
Back to top Go down
Archon Vitcus
Kabalite Warrior
Archon Vitcus

Posts : 145
Join date : 2016-02-04
Location : Glasgow

Can Soulburst override other restrictions? - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Can Soulburst override other restrictions?   Can Soulburst override other restrictions? - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeThu Feb 16 2017, 13:57

@mattblowers

They won't be allowed on tournaments the now anyway, it usually takes a month or two for new codexs and rules to settle before most allow them to be used.
Back to top Go down
Jimsolo
Dracon
Jimsolo

Posts : 3212
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

Can Soulburst override other restrictions? - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Can Soulburst override other restrictions?   Can Soulburst override other restrictions? - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeThu Feb 16 2017, 15:10

@mattblowers wrote:
I'm good with it no matter how it shakes out, but having a pre-game negotiation in a tournament is not gonna get far and debating over rules really slows the game. I don't think I'll play it in a tournament until it gets sorted it's just not worth the hassle.

I wouldn't risk a tournament game with out a pregame negotiation. Even without the Ynnari, it's too risky.
Back to top Go down
mattblowers
Kabalite Warrior
mattblowers

Posts : 116
Join date : 2016-12-27

Can Soulburst override other restrictions? - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Can Soulburst override other restrictions?   Can Soulburst override other restrictions? - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeThu Feb 16 2017, 15:54

Other than go over lists and defining terrain what negotiations are you having? A good TO will have it spelled out.
Back to top Go down
Vlad
Kabalite Warrior
Vlad

Posts : 111
Join date : 2017-02-06
Location : Coventry, England

Can Soulburst override other restrictions? - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Can Soulburst override other restrictions?   Can Soulburst override other restrictions? - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeThu Feb 16 2017, 16:09

Quick thought on Soulburst: if an enemy unit (or indeed your own unit) deepstrikes and scatters, can't be placed because it scatters into one of your units and then roles a one and dies a horrible death, would this allow your unit a soulburst action?
Back to top Go down
dumpeal
Hekatrix
dumpeal

Posts : 1255
Join date : 2015-02-13
Location : Québec

Can Soulburst override other restrictions? - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Can Soulburst override other restrictions?   Can Soulburst override other restrictions? - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeThu Feb 16 2017, 17:02

@Vlad wrote:
Quick thought on Soulburst: if an enemy unit (or indeed your own unit) deepstrikes and scatters, can't be placed because it scatters into one of your units and then roles a one and dies a horrible death, would this allow your unit a soulburst action?

I think they won't be considered "on the field" and thus, won't trigger soulburst.
Back to top Go down
mattblowers
Kabalite Warrior
mattblowers

Posts : 116
Join date : 2016-12-27

Can Soulburst override other restrictions? - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Can Soulburst override other restrictions?   Can Soulburst override other restrictions? - Page 4 I_icon_minitimeThu Feb 16 2017, 17:58

It's definitely 'on the field' since you place it and then roll for scatter.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




Can Soulburst override other restrictions? - Page 4 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Can Soulburst override other restrictions?   Can Soulburst override other restrictions? - Page 4 I_icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
Can Soulburst override other restrictions?
Back to top 
Page 4 of 4Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: