THE DARK CITY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.



 
HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityRegisterLog in

 

 moving flat out and then charging

Go down 
+6
Count Adhemar
The Red King
Kantalla
Squidmaster
aurynn
sumguy777
10 posters
Go to page : Previous  1, 2
AuthorMessage
aurynn
Incubi
avatar

Posts : 1626
Join date : 2013-04-23

moving flat out and then charging - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: moving flat out and then charging   moving flat out and then charging - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeFri Jan 20 2017, 06:30

I dont have the small book. Assault vehicle rule is under Vehicles - Open-topped vehicles - Assault vehicle in the Big Book.

"You can charge out of an assault vehicle" is a short version. But everybody should be aware of the restrictions of making a charge. From normal transport you cannot disembark and charge the same turn. From Assault vehicle you CAN disembark and charge the same turn.

And "seems to know every rule by heart" often means "He reads internet a lot".

Okay I will try to explain it like this. Placing models from inside of the vehicle to the outside of the vehicle is a special action called "disembarkation". It has its own rules and restrictions (Vehicles - Embarking and Disembarking).
Quote :
Models can only voluntarily embark or disembark in the Movement phase. They cannot voluntarily embark and disembark in the same turn. However, they can embark and then be forced to disembark if their Transport is destroyed.
Even if the vehicle is destroyed (involuntary disembarkation) under the unit, they still follow disembarkation procedures. So, if you want to charge "out of the vehicle", you likewise have to follow disembarkation procedure and THEN you are allowed to charge. Disembarkation happens in Movement phase as it is specifically stated that with disembarkation "the model makes normal move" (Transports - Embarking and Disembarking). It has to spend its normal move allowance to disembark.

As for the movement - (Transports - Embarking and Disembarking)
Quote :
If the vehicle had not moved before the unit disembarked, the vehicle can then move normally. If the vehicle had already moved before the unit disembarked, the vehicle cannot move further that turn (including pivoting on the spot, moving Flat Out, Running or charging). In addition, a vehicle cannot Tank Shock or Ram on a turn that a unit disembarks from it.

And Count is right - you cannot draw LOS from vehicle for any other purpose than shooting or witchfires. Even our Archon in Purge Coterie cannot use his rule from inside of the vehicle because he cannot draw LOS. Yes, it is illogical, but it is a rule.

NOTE: You cannot Tank Shock with our vehicles at all unless you buy them the Chain Snares upgrade. They are not Tanks.


Last edited by aurynn on Fri Jan 20 2017, 09:35; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
Archon Vitcus
Kabalite Warrior
Archon Vitcus

Posts : 145
Join date : 2016-02-04
Location : Glasgow

moving flat out and then charging - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: moving flat out and then charging   moving flat out and then charging - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeFri Jan 20 2017, 08:06

I think you should sit down and read the rule book dude. It's pretty clear on the sequence of events and several people here have told you the correct way.
Back to top Go down
Squidmaster
Klaivex
Squidmaster

Posts : 2123
Join date : 2013-12-18
Location : Hampshire, England

moving flat out and then charging - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: moving flat out and then charging   moving flat out and then charging - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeFri Jan 20 2017, 09:26

Rulebook FAQ/Transports
Question 4: When a unit embarks on a vehicle it is taken off the battlefield and does not interact with anything on the battlefield. However, certain rules may create exceptions to this rule, with the most obvious examples being Fire Points, psychic powers and Transports. If a unit's rules are meant to apply even when embarked on a Transport, they will specify this.

A unit embarked can not interact with the battlefield unless a rule specifically says it can.
Raiders have no such rule. They have Assault Vehicle, which allows their passengers to Charge after disembarking, but only AFTER disembarking.

_________________
Kabal of the Eternal NightModelling Blog
The Squidmaster DistractathonNotes on being an RPG Gamesmaster
Back to top Go down
http://www.escelionfilms.com
sumguy777
Kabalite Warrior
sumguy777

Posts : 215
Join date : 2017-01-15

moving flat out and then charging - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: moving flat out and then charging   moving flat out and then charging - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeFri Jan 20 2017, 10:08

idk maybe he was wrong it just doesnt make logical sense to me why they couldn't do such an action. i mean if i was a guy tryng to charge something from my ship would be the place i do it from. not outside to ship and then charge? If i was in a armored car getting out mgiht be a little trickier. but a boat i live and sleep on and have gottten into and out of 100 times that i can just jump down from the railing seem illogical that i couldn't do it. anyway thanks for the help.
aurynn i ment the 6" rule about moving.
Back to top Go down
Count Adhemar
Dark Lord of Granbretan
Count Adhemar

Posts : 7568
Join date : 2012-04-26
Location : London

moving flat out and then charging - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: moving flat out and then charging   moving flat out and then charging - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeFri Jan 20 2017, 10:13

He was definitely wrong and trying to apply logical sense to a game of giant robots, space aliens and daemons isn't going to get you very far. Even trying to apply it to the rules of that game won't do you much good with GW! Very Happy

_________________
moving flat out and then charging - Page 2 YhBv3Wk
You have been weighed, you have been measured, and you have been found wanting. In what world could you possibly beat me?
Back to top Go down
Massaen
Klaivex
Massaen

Posts : 2268
Join date : 2011-07-05
Location : Western Australia

moving flat out and then charging - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: moving flat out and then charging   moving flat out and then charging - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeFri Jan 20 2017, 10:43

While you say you could leap out and charge - that's whats happening!

The raider moves up into position (in the move phase), the warriors leap OUT OF THE RAIDER (disembark in the move phase and move), and then charge the enemy (in the assault phase)

_________________
Objective Secured - Western Australia's Premier 40k Event Organisers and Website
OBJECTIVE SECURED
Back to top Go down
http://objectivesecured.com.au/
sumguy777
Kabalite Warrior
sumguy777

Posts : 215
Join date : 2017-01-15

moving flat out and then charging - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: moving flat out and then charging   moving flat out and then charging - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeFri Jan 20 2017, 10:50

@Count Adhemar wrote:
He was definitely wrong and trying to apply logical sense to a game of giant robots, space aliens and daemons isn't going to get you very far. Even trying to apply it to the rules of that game won't do you much good with GW! Very Happy

lol, i guess so its not the first time someone has told me a wrong rulling at the store. he was very knowledgeable though to his credit i never had to look up 1 chart or anything and i think the only ability he didnt know they whole time i played wiht him (we played teams) was rampage. many players asked him several questions as well. idk i guess everyone gets things wrong sometimes.

Back to top Go down
aurynn
Incubi
avatar

Posts : 1626
Join date : 2013-04-23

moving flat out and then charging - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: moving flat out and then charging   moving flat out and then charging - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeFri Jan 20 2017, 11:37

True that.

As for the logic of the rules - you have to account for that this is a game. If it were totally realistic, it would never, never be fair. There would be no fair matchup. Thats why we impose limits on the game like points costs and maximum allowances, etc. Thats why disembarkation is limited to the movement phase. To at least try and make the game somewhat balanced - which means restricted for everyone somehow. You cannot charge from the vehicle not because your junkie space elves are clumsy or dont know their boats, but because there are rules of the game to follow. :-)
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




moving flat out and then charging - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: moving flat out and then charging   moving flat out and then charging - Page 2 I_icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
moving flat out and then charging
Back to top 
Page 2 of 2Go to page : Previous  1, 2

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: