THE DARK CITY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.



 
HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityRegisterLog in

 

 Please review me latest army list(recently edited)

Go down 
+2
CurstAlchemist
mabeibefunny
6 posters
AuthorMessage
mabeibefunny
Slave
mabeibefunny

Posts : 9
Join date : 2016-04-08

Please review me latest army list(recently edited) Empty
PostSubject: Please review me latest army list(recently edited)   Please review me latest army list(recently edited) I_icon_minitimeThu May 19 2016, 22:21

Original thread is below, but I recently remade an army list and would love your help:

It has been a while since I posted this and got to actually play. I am having another game this Saturday, 1250 points for me, 625 each for two other players(one AM, other Wolves). We have agreed no Fliers, LoW, D weapons. Here is my list, would love your help and feedback on it:

Succubus(WWP, Archite, in Venom with Incubix4)
Kalabitex5
Kalabitex5
Incubix4(with Venom and splinter cannon)
Mandrakesx3
Ravager(x3 dark lance)
Ravager(x3 dark lance)
Scourgesx5(haywirex4)
Raider(dark Lance)

ALLIED
Eldrad
Windriders(scatter laserx3)
WraithBlades

My logic here is that I have Haywire and lances to target tough units and vehicles, Wraithblades in the raider to fly around and assault in my backfield for defense and to protect my troops. Eldrad is a strong unit in of himself, and will help with my kalabite warriors while I deep strike my Succubus/Incubi/Venom, and infiltrate with Mandrakes to cause some trouble for the AM.

Please feel free to give me any thoughts or feedback, this is an entirely new list/concept for me and I have no idea how it will play out. Total comes out to 1247.



:::OLD POST:::


Hi guys/gals, new the forum and looking forward to playing DE!

I have been working on a list with the goal to build a 1850pt competitive DE w/ Eldar allies army, I used to be very competitive and won a lot of my local meta a year ago but stopped for a bit(I used Dark Angels w/ AM or Blood Angels allies then).

I know the points are off to start, but I wanted to share my thoughts before I start drilling down so that people can either poke holes, or help me to identify issues. Since I have not played with DE much yet, I don't know a lot of strengths and weakness, and am still reading, watching, and learning a lot about this army. Could use feedback as to strong unit compositions/builds too.

So far I am thinking:

Archon(webway portal, blaster, possibly other gear)

Kabelite(w/ raider, gear TBD as I learn more about my weaknesses)
Kabelite(w/ raider, gear TBD as I learn more about my weaknesses)
Kabelite(w/ raider, gear TBD as I learn more about my weaknesses)  

Mandrakesx5(to infiltrate and work down some weaker units with their flame and to harass)
Trueborn x5 w/ blaster & venom(with guns on them I assume)
Trueborn x5 w/ blaster & venom

Ravager w. 3xlances
Ravager w. 3xlances

Scourges w/ haywirex4
Scourges w/ haywirex4
Razorwing

ALLIES:
Eldrad(or generic HQ, still debating)
Windrider jetbikes
Wraith knight(cannon, shield, or sword shield to run down the shield, attract fire, and push targets)
Wraith Guard(D Scythe)

The points still need to be worked out along with additional gear, but that I will deal with soon. My concept is to have mandrakes pester, deepstrike Wguard at ideal targets while having the knight run up the front of the field, and have Eldrad and other Eldar use our firepower to blast opponents.

I chose 2x scourge to pick off armor and for their mobility.

I could really use the help and thoughts, any feedback would be welcome!

Thanks!!!


Last edited by mabeibefunny on Thu Sep 08 2016, 17:29; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
CurstAlchemist
Wych
CurstAlchemist

Posts : 915
Join date : 2015-05-01

Please review me latest army list(recently edited) Empty
PostSubject: Re: Please review me latest army list(recently edited)   Please review me latest army list(recently edited) I_icon_minitimeThu May 19 2016, 23:06

Are you running the DE as a CAD?

What do you hope to accomplish with the Raiders? Per the first draft of the FAQ they will be snap firing after jinking making them a gun platform really isn't viable anymore if that sticks unless you have plenty of cover to hide behind they just aren't worth it.

Trueborn, only one blaster or four? If you are taking only a single blaster no reason to upgrade them to Trueborn, save the points.

Venom should always be given double splinter cannons.
Back to top Go down
BetrayTheWorld
In Exile
avatar

Posts : 2665
Join date : 2013-04-04

Please review me latest army list(recently edited) Empty
PostSubject: Re: Please review me latest army list(recently edited)   Please review me latest army list(recently edited) I_icon_minitimeThu May 19 2016, 23:10

Yeah, you're right about points being off. Based on what you have written there, this list is like a minimum of 2000 points.

The main things I would cut from this list and why:

1. Eldrad - I actually like and use eldrad, but you're paying almost double the points for 1 additional mastery level, his warlord trait, and an AP3 weapon. 95 points for those three things isn't really worth it unless you have a very specific plan on how those abilities help your army.

2. Kabalite Trueborn - A ravager is harder to kill with a similar amount of firepower at 36" instead of 18". I'd plan on dropping all of the trueborn. There are tons of better options.

3. Archon - I'd suggest swapping out your archon for a succubus with archite glaive and WWP. Wraithguard are vulnerable in CC, and as expensive as they are, you want a good CC character to be able to get them out of any combat they find themselves locked in so they can get back to shooting.

4. Mandrakes - If you want to take some infiltrators, there are better options if you're already taking eldar allies...such as striking scorpions or even standard rangers(who are obsec in an allied detachment or a CAD).

I suggest putting a list together with actual points calculated in, and a bit of time and effort put in to making sure it's close to what you want, then post again. It's easier to help someone make someone's list better/more efficient when their list is actually defined. Wink
Back to top Go down
mabeibefunny
Slave
mabeibefunny

Posts : 9
Join date : 2016-04-08

Please review me latest army list(recently edited) Empty
PostSubject: Re: Please review me latest army list(recently edited)   Please review me latest army list(recently edited) I_icon_minitimeThu May 19 2016, 23:30

Thanks for the feedback, to reply to Curst, I was planning to run CWE as my CAD but the more I play around with how to build this, I am finding I defer to CWE more and more unfortunately. I was also planning on running the Trueborn with 4x blasters and probably splinter cannons as well.

To Betray, thanks for the feedback and I know it is frustrating without a concise list and I usually like to have everything ironed out before I post, but the initial feedback is really helping me iron out a few things. I'll drop Eldrad(any suggestions for a good HQ to replace with) but was originally thinking about using him as a buffer for the knight and to help out, I'm sure I can find a suitable replacement. Great notes on the archon versus Succubus. I was thinking a raider with him in a WWP would make the D-scythe far more mobile, and he could also separate and shoot something else, but her as a melee buffer would be amazing too.

My goal for the list was to have the Kalabite warriors with OBSEC(and windriders, with scatter I think), and with all the high priority targets in the list, I figured they would last a bit and get the benefits from a longer game. If not, it means firepower is used on them when it could be used on other targets, fine by me as well. The knight offers moving power, as it appears it would be hard to move targets off of places with just a DE codex. The points are off and I apologize again, I'll hone it in, but having some direction really helps, thank you again!
Back to top Go down
BetrayTheWorld
In Exile
avatar

Posts : 2665
Join date : 2013-04-04

Please review me latest army list(recently edited) Empty
PostSubject: Re: Please review me latest army list(recently edited)   Please review me latest army list(recently edited) I_icon_minitimeFri May 20 2016, 00:56

No problem! Good luck, and let us know what you come up with! Very Happy
Back to top Go down
mabeibefunny
Slave
mabeibefunny

Posts : 9
Join date : 2016-04-08

Please review me latest army list(recently edited) Empty
PostSubject: Re: Please review me latest army list(recently edited)   Please review me latest army list(recently edited) I_icon_minitimeThu Sep 08 2016, 17:23

I have updated my original post to reflect my latest list, would love your feedback and help!
Back to top Go down
fisheyes
Incubi
fisheyes

Posts : 1880
Join date : 2016-02-18

Please review me latest army list(recently edited) Empty
PostSubject: Re: Please review me latest army list(recently edited)   Please review me latest army list(recently edited) I_icon_minitimeThu Sep 08 2016, 19:15

Some things to note:

-Warriors should ALWAYS go in dual SC venoms. This is our bread-and-butter. Simply the best/most efficient unit in our codex

-Allies cannot start in transports. So your wraithblades will need to start on foot, then jump into the raider turn 1. If you get first turn then this doesnt affect you, but if you go second then you need to sit through a round of his firing at you before you reach the safety of your raider.

Because of this I would recommend using a squad of grotesques rather than wraithblades. Grots get an unbelieveable amount of attacks each turn, and will give AM a bad time (although a CC oriented SW unit may give you trouble).

Other than that everything looks good. Succi is equipped nicely (although I would add armor of misery if possible), scourges have their best AT weapon, ravagers dont have NS (which are a waste of points IMO).

Have fun buddy

-Fisheyes
Back to top Go down
Causalis
Kabalite Warrior
Causalis

Posts : 212
Join date : 2016-06-27

Please review me latest army list(recently edited) Empty
PostSubject: Re: Please review me latest army list(recently edited)   Please review me latest army list(recently edited) I_icon_minitimeThu Sep 08 2016, 20:10

I am all for abbreviations but... which army do you mean by AM? Astra Militarum or Adeptus Mechanicus (= Skitarii + Cult Mechanicus)? As I play Ad Mech myself I can say that we hate close combat. Our shooting hits like a nuclear ton of bricks (and every Icarus Onager will pretty much pop a vehicle per turn since it has skyfire and ignores cover) but we are very vulnerable in CC. Just stay away from the Kastelan Robots, as those are MCs and thus not easy to get down in CC. Even our dedicated assault units like Ruststalkers and Infiltrators aren't that good, since they are pretty squishy.

More advice:

-Keep the Grots away from the Vanguards, as those guys have weapons that generate two additional wounds on 6s, no matter the toughness of the target. But they are only 18" range so I would mow them down with Venoms.

-What you do want to kill with the Grots are Kataphrons, since they are bad in CC. If he has a Dominus with them, just challenge him with your Succubus. She can cut through his 2+ armour and is fast enough to kill him before he can strike back. And even if he strikes back he is only S5, so no instant death.

-Kill the Onagers! They'll rain on your parade if allowed to shoot at... pretty much anything. Use that WWP to get the Grots right in front of them to block their shots, then assault them the next round.
Back to top Go down
mabeibefunny
Slave
mabeibefunny

Posts : 9
Join date : 2016-04-08

Please review me latest army list(recently edited) Empty
PostSubject: Re: Please review me latest army list(recently edited)   Please review me latest army list(recently edited) I_icon_minitimeThu Sep 08 2016, 21:33

Sorry for the confusion, I was referring to Astra Militarum, although your advice vs Mechanicus was amazing(thank you).

The reason for the Wraithblades(I knew I couldn't deploy them right away) was that I wanted to keep them in the backfield to counter possibly deep striking wolves or people rushing my weaker units(if he does that) and hopefully have some strength around my warriors. I could also load them into the Reaver to zip them around. I was thinking about venoms for my warriors but I was A. unsure I actually had enough venoms :*( and B. The extra points to afford them. Essentially I was thinking about having them in the backfield running around for OBSEC. Alternatively, I was considering bringing an Avatar(for funsies) and drop the blades for venoms with dual splinter.
Back to top Go down
mabeibefunny
Slave
mabeibefunny

Posts : 9
Join date : 2016-04-08

Please review me latest army list(recently edited) Empty
PostSubject: Re: Please review me latest army list(recently edited)   Please review me latest army list(recently edited) I_icon_minitimeFri Sep 09 2016, 21:12

Based on advise I have tweaked my list before tomorrow, here is what I have:

HQ:
Succubus(WWP, Archite Glaive, Armor of Misery)

Troop:
Kalabite Warriors x5(Venom with Splinter Cannon x2)
Kalabite Warriors x5(Venom with Splinter Cannon x2)

Elite:
Incubix5(raider w/ Dark Lance)
Kalabite Truebornx5(blaster x4)

Heavy:
Ravager(lance x3)

Fast:
Scourgex5(Haywirex4)

ALLIED:
Farseer

Windriders(scatterlasersx3)
Wraithguard(dscythe x5)

Would love your thoughts and feedback! I am planning to DS Succubus with Wraithguard, have the Farseer get Divination with the Trueborn for that great re-roll to hit, and the rest is pretty straight forward.
Back to top Go down
Rewind
Kabalite Warrior
Rewind

Posts : 221
Join date : 2016-05-12
Location : Surrey

Please review me latest army list(recently edited) Empty
PostSubject: Re: Please review me latest army list(recently edited)   Please review me latest army list(recently edited) I_icon_minitimeFri Sep 09 2016, 21:36

@mabeibefunny wrote:
We have agreed no Fliers, LoW, D weapons.

Haven't you broken your rules with DScythes?


Last edited by Rewind on Fri Sep 09 2016, 21:37; edited 1 time in total (Reason for editing : spelling)
Back to top Go down
mabeibefunny
Slave
mabeibefunny

Posts : 9
Join date : 2016-04-08

Please review me latest army list(recently edited) Empty
PostSubject: Re: Please review me latest army list(recently edited)   Please review me latest army list(recently edited) I_icon_minitimeTue Sep 20 2016, 20:26

There was a last minute changeup as they wanted to bring a LoW(just a group of friends playing), so I ended up rotating out them and brought an Avatar of my own.

The list played well, although once they started shooting at my guys it was not pretty Sad I'll upload a modified one with new units and play style as I experiment more.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




Please review me latest army list(recently edited) Empty
PostSubject: Re: Please review me latest army list(recently edited)   Please review me latest army list(recently edited) I_icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
Please review me latest army list(recently edited)
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Army Lists
-
Jump to: