THE DARK CITY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.



 
HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityRegisterLog in

 

 Jetbike and Lord of War questions...

Go down 
+6
Massaen
DingK
Barking Agatha
spellcheck2001
Jimsolo
Siegfried VII
10 posters
AuthorMessage
Siegfried VII
Hellion
Siegfried VII

Posts : 29
Join date : 2012-11-24
Location : Greece - Athens

Jetbike and Lord of War questions... Empty
PostSubject: Jetbike and Lord of War questions...   Jetbike and Lord of War questions... I_icon_minitimeSat May 16 2015, 10:38

I have a couple of questions to bother you guys and hopefuly you'll bear with me and help. Smile


1. I haven't used the jetbikes that much in the past so my knowledge is limited. From where do we measure regarding the bikes? Is it from the bases or from the model of the bike?

2. If I use one of the new Wraithknights for example (who is now a gargantuan creature and a lord of war), am I obligated to use the rules existing on the escalation? In escalation it says that the opponent gains 1 vp for each three wounds he inflicts on a super heavy/gargantuan (with the condtion that he has no super heavies or gargantuan creatures in his army himself), get +1 on the seize the initiative rolls and a special warlord traits table.


Thanks in advance, Sieg. Smile

_________________
Embrace the Darkness...
Back to top Go down
http://valleysofeternity.blogspot.gr/
Jimsolo
Dracon
Jimsolo

Posts : 3212
Join date : 2013-10-31
Location : Illinois

Jetbike and Lord of War questions... Empty
PostSubject: Re: Jetbike and Lord of War questions...   Jetbike and Lord of War questions... I_icon_minitimeSat May 16 2015, 13:09

1. From the base, since it isn't a vehicle, game-wise. Just use the same point for start and end of movement.

2. No, I believe. WKs do not appear in Escalation, and all the rules to use them are found in Codex: Eldar and the BRB. So Escalation doesn't enter into it, I think.
Back to top Go down
spellcheck2001
Le Maitre Macabre
spellcheck2001

Posts : 1325
Join date : 2013-03-28
Location : La La Land

Jetbike and Lord of War questions... Empty
PostSubject: Re: Jetbike and Lord of War questions...   Jetbike and Lord of War questions... I_icon_minitimeSat May 16 2015, 14:33

Hmm I think I would be inclined to disagree on the second point. To me it is written that all lords of war give up the vp points, whether they are listed in the book or not. It also helps to balance te wraith knight a bit, as it is criminally under costed at present, and horrifically powerful

_________________
clown  My DE project log  jocolor :- Harlequin Carnivale - La Danse Macabre

study  My Wargaming blog   cherry  :- Objective Secured
Back to top Go down
http://www.objectivesecured.blogspot.co.uk
Barking Agatha
Wych
Barking Agatha

Posts : 839
Join date : 2012-07-02

Jetbike and Lord of War questions... Empty
PostSubject: Re: Jetbike and Lord of War questions...   Jetbike and Lord of War questions... I_icon_minitimeSat May 16 2015, 14:38

@Jimsolo wrote:
1. From the base, since it isn't a vehicle, game-wise.  Just use the same point for start and end of movement.

No, use the model. Otherwise, your opponent will argue that jetbikes can never assault, because they can never get into base-to-base contact (as the model overlaps the base). Bases on jetbikes aren't important, they're only there because the model has to be stood on something. Smile

_________________
House of the Bitter Laugh, uniting the Kabal of Scorn, the Cult of Disdain, and the Coven of Jaded Atrocities
Back to top Go down
DingK
Sybarite
DingK

Posts : 303
Join date : 2013-03-31

Jetbike and Lord of War questions... Empty
PostSubject: Re: Jetbike and Lord of War questions...   Jetbike and Lord of War questions... I_icon_minitimeSat May 16 2015, 14:44

@Barking Agatha wrote:
@Jimsolo wrote:
1. From the base, since it isn't a vehicle, game-wise.  Just use the same point for start and end of movement.

No, use the model. Otherwise, your opponent will argue that jetbikes can never assault, because they can never get into base-to-base contact (as the model overlaps the base). Bases on jetbikes aren't important, they're only there because the model has to be stood on something. Smile

Not only that, but Jetbikes would be treated differently from bikes if we were to use the bases.

On second thought, it WOULD make it much easier to survive Blast and Template weapons...
Back to top Go down
Massaen
Klaivex
Massaen

Posts : 2268
Join date : 2011-07-05
Location : Western Australia

Jetbike and Lord of War questions... Empty
PostSubject: Re: Jetbike and Lord of War questions...   Jetbike and Lord of War questions... I_icon_minitimeSat May 16 2015, 14:50

Escalation rules only apply to escalation missions...

_________________
Objective Secured - Western Australia's Premier 40k Event Organisers and Website
OBJECTIVE SECURED
Back to top Go down
http://objectivesecured.com.au/
shadowseercB
Wych
shadowseercB

Posts : 550
Join date : 2012-10-21

Jetbike and Lord of War questions... Empty
PostSubject: Re: Jetbike and Lord of War questions...   Jetbike and Lord of War questions... I_icon_minitimeSun May 17 2015, 19:00

Me and some buddies were talking about if he can add a lord of war from the escalation book.  We looked at the FAQ for Escalation and the rule book and figured he can use them in 7th edition games.  Where we wrong?

About the bikes, measure from the base.  Often enough models dont reach base contact because of terrain like a wall or blocky object but that doesnt mean they didnt reach for combat.  You are to assume they are in base contact unless your opponent is a total douche.  Even tournaments assume you are in base contact and that no one is untouchable from melee as long as you roll the correct distance.
Back to top Go down
Tittliewinks22
Hellion
avatar

Posts : 89
Join date : 2014-02-11
Location : Florida

Jetbike and Lord of War questions... Empty
PostSubject: Re: Jetbike and Lord of War questions...   Jetbike and Lord of War questions... I_icon_minitimeMon May 18 2015, 03:53

@shadowseercB wrote:
Me and some buddies were talking about if he can add a lord of war from the escalation book.  We looked at the FAQ for Escalation and the rule book and figured he can use them in 7th edition games.  Where we wrong?

The use of a Lord of War is not exclusive to Escalation games. Escalation games are only played using the Escalation missions and rule sets. The 3 HP or 3 wound = 1 VP and escalation warlord trait table are examples of rules used in the Escalation Missions from the book.
Back to top Go down
The_Burning_Eye
Trueborn
The_Burning_Eye

Posts : 2501
Join date : 2012-01-16
Location : Rutland - UK

Jetbike and Lord of War questions... Empty
PostSubject: Re: Jetbike and Lord of War questions...   Jetbike and Lord of War questions... I_icon_minitimeMon May 18 2015, 08:40

Re: the bikes part - the rules only allow you to measure from the model for vehicles. All other units you measure from the base.

_________________
Tan? You're joking, I'm a gamer, you're lucky I'm wearing deodorant!

My Blog - The Burning Eye Blog (check it out - comments always welcome)

My Project Log - Visions of the Burning Eye

My Gaming Log - Chronicles of the Burning Eye

My Club - MAD Wargaming

My Fluff - Kabal of the Burning Eye, Cult of the Shadowed Blade and Coven of Distorted Perfection
Back to top Go down
http://theburningeye.blogspot.com
Unholyllama
Sybarite
Unholyllama

Posts : 267
Join date : 2013-08-27

Jetbike and Lord of War questions... Empty
PostSubject: Re: Jetbike and Lord of War questions...   Jetbike and Lord of War questions... I_icon_minitimeMon May 18 2015, 18:48

@Massaen wrote:
Escalation rules only apply to escalation missions...

This.

I think the FAQ for the Escalation book even states that the +1VP and the warlord trait tables and such all are for the missions found with the Escalation book only and not for normal 40k play any more.

As a book, escalation has been pretty much outmoded beyond the datasheets that haven't been reprinted in codices and in the event you want to play the missions. Rules-wise, the entire book has been replaced with the 7th edition BRB which came out ~6 months after Escalation.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




Jetbike and Lord of War questions... Empty
PostSubject: Re: Jetbike and Lord of War questions...   Jetbike and Lord of War questions... I_icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
Jetbike and Lord of War questions...
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: