HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityRegisterLog in

Vallejo Paint consistency?

Go down 
AuthorMessage
TheNeonArlecchino
Hellion
TheNeonArlecchino

Vallejo Paint consistency? Empty
PostSubject: Vallejo Paint consistency?   Vallejo Paint consistency? I_icon_minitimeSun Nov 16 2014, 23:18

I am completely new to painting minis so have no idea how thick paints are supposed to be when out of the bottle. The first paints I picked up all came out as a very pasty tube which lead to some problems with clumping and going places I don't want them to go.
After stripping my first attempt, I started reading how to get a proper yellow since my first attempt came out green. I found out I needed a light brown so got a bottle and today I was practicing some more and unlike the first paints, this one came out as a drop of thick liquid and was TONS easier to use.

My question is, how thick is paint supposed to be out of the bottle and how do I get the consistency of the new bottle in my old ones?
I've had the new bottle a few weeks and the other ones a month or two but both have been stored the same and all of them are from Vallejo's Model Color line.
Back to top Go down
Calyptra
Wych
Calyptra

PostSubject: Re: Vallejo Paint consistency?   Vallejo Paint consistency? I_icon_minitimeMon Nov 17 2014, 01:57

Generally speaking, you should thin your paint with a bit of water before applying it to a model. How much water will depend on how thick the paint is, and how thin you want it to be, so that's something you'll get a feel for as you gain experience.

Sometimes, in paint that's been sitting for a while, the pigment will start to separate from the emulsion (the emulsion is the clear, runny part). Generally just giving a paint pot a quick shake before opening it up will take care of this, but in some cases you may need to actually stir it. I dislike the Vallejo dropper bottles for this reason, though the dropper nozzle can be popped off (and back on).

Back to top Go down