THE DARK CITY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.



 
HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityRegisterLog in

 

 Multiple Dark Artisan Formations?

Go down 
+4
Hannibal.Lictor
Count Adhemar
Thor665
Kahnartiste
8 posters
Go to page : Previous  1, 2
AuthorMessage
The_Burning_Eye
Trueborn
The_Burning_Eye

Posts : 2501
Join date : 2012-01-16
Location : Rutland - UK

Multiple Dark Artisan Formations? - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Multiple Dark Artisan Formations?   Multiple Dark Artisan Formations? - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeTue Nov 04 2014, 21:57

except that the formation datasheet says '1 unit of Talos'. It really couldn't be any clearer, and i don't know how anyone could try and argue you're taking two units when the formation says it's one unit - the fact that a unit of Talos from the codex can only take 3 models is irrelevant, the formation rules override this and require that you take five in one unit. Simple, and, unusually for GW, very clear.

_________________
Tan? You're joking, I'm a gamer, you're lucky I'm wearing deodorant!

My Blog - The Burning Eye Blog (check it out - comments always welcome)

My Project Log - Visions of the Burning Eye

My Gaming Log - Chronicles of the Burning Eye

My Club - MAD Wargaming

My Fluff - Kabal of the Burning Eye, Cult of the Shadowed Blade and Coven of Distorted Perfection
Back to top Go down
http://theburningeye.blogspot.com
BetrayTheWorld
In Exile
avatar

Posts : 2665
Join date : 2013-04-04

Multiple Dark Artisan Formations? - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Multiple Dark Artisan Formations?   Multiple Dark Artisan Formations? - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeTue Nov 04 2014, 22:07

But is that 1 unit of Talos BEFORE or AFTER it has 5 models?

You're arguing that it's listing it BEFORE it has 5 models, while I'm not so sure.

Also, you've argued that "other units" all say seperate units, but it's my position that we're dealing with incomplete data here. The ONLY example of a combined unit in that entire supplement, by your definition, is the Dark Artisan formation. Yet the "Combined Units" rule specifically refers to formations in the plural sense, ergo, there are more than 1 that fall under that ruling. And this ruling is in the supplement specific section of the book, so it's not referring to outside sources.

So if there are more than 1, and one is definitely the Dark Artisan, I challenge you to find a more suitably arguable one than the corpsethief claw formation.
Back to top Go down
Unholyllama
Sybarite
Unholyllama

Posts : 267
Join date : 2013-08-27

Multiple Dark Artisan Formations? - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Multiple Dark Artisan Formations?   Multiple Dark Artisan Formations? - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeTue Nov 04 2014, 22:10

@BetrayTheWorld wrote:
But is that 1 unit of Talos BEFORE or AFTER it has 5 models?

Both.

Look at the composition section of the formation and it reads 1 unit of Talos. That remains as 1 unit of talos. The modification to a unit of 5 is a special circumstance/enhancement for the formation and not changing the dimensions of the formation composition.

I don't know what argument you're trying to prevent at this point since it seems pretty clear and I'm not seeing other's raise the confusion, just an argument trying to preemptively prevent a currently non-existent argument.
Back to top Go down
The_Burning_Eye
Trueborn
The_Burning_Eye

Posts : 2501
Join date : 2012-01-16
Location : Rutland - UK

Multiple Dark Artisan Formations? - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Multiple Dark Artisan Formations?   Multiple Dark Artisan Formations? - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeTue Nov 04 2014, 22:15

^this.

The fact that the combined unit rule refers to a plural doesn't mean there are more than 1 example in the supplement, in fact I'd say by referencing only one example from the supplement they're pretty much confirming that none of the others are covered by it.

I'll quite happily debate the point with you further if you can find an opponent who considers, having read the datasheet, that the corpsethief is actually two units when it states quite clearly it's only one.

On the basis that I don't think it can be made any clearer, I'm going to butt out of this discussion now, especially since the thread has gone way off topic

_________________
Tan? You're joking, I'm a gamer, you're lucky I'm wearing deodorant!

My Blog - The Burning Eye Blog (check it out - comments always welcome)

My Project Log - Visions of the Burning Eye

My Gaming Log - Chronicles of the Burning Eye

My Club - MAD Wargaming

My Fluff - Kabal of the Burning Eye, Cult of the Shadowed Blade and Coven of Distorted Perfection
Back to top Go down
http://theburningeye.blogspot.com
Thor665
Archon
Thor665

Posts : 5526
Join date : 2011-06-10
Location : Venice, FL

Multiple Dark Artisan Formations? - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Multiple Dark Artisan Formations?   Multiple Dark Artisan Formations? - Page 2 I_icon_minitimeWed Nov 05 2014, 06:13

@BetrayTheWorld wrote:
But is that 1 unit of Talos BEFORE or AFTER it has 5 models?

You're arguing that it's listing it BEFORE it has 5 models, while I'm not so sure.

Also, you've argued that "other units" all say seperate units, but it's my position that we're dealing with incomplete data here. The ONLY example of a combined unit in that entire supplement, by your definition, is the Dark Artisan formation. Yet the "Combined Units" rule specifically refers to formations in the plural sense, ergo, there are more than 1 that fall under that ruling. And this ruling is in the supplement specific section of the book, so it's not referring to outside sources.

So if there are more than 1, and one is definitely the Dark Artisan, I challenge you to find a more suitably arguable one than the corpsethief claw formation.
I really cannot follow your logic in this one.

_________________
Multiple Dark Artisan Formations? - Page 2 K93hWhs
Multiple Dark Artisan Formations? - Page 2 L1RsnGX
The Title Troupe! - Nom fellow posters for custom titles.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




Multiple Dark Artisan Formations? - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Multiple Dark Artisan Formations?   Multiple Dark Artisan Formations? - Page 2 I_icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
Multiple Dark Artisan Formations?
Back to top 
Page 2 of 2Go to page : Previous  1, 2

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: