THE DARK CITY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.



 
HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesNull CityRegisterLog in

 

 Webway Portal and Gate of Infinity

Go down 
5 posters
AuthorMessage
BetrayTheWorld
In Exile
avatar

Posts : 2665
Join date : 2013-04-04

Webway Portal and Gate of Infinity Empty
PostSubject: Webway Portal and Gate of Infinity   Webway Portal and Gate of Infinity I_icon_minitimeMon Oct 20 2014, 15:44

Webway portal says that a character arriving by deep strike that has a WWP doesn't scatter. Gate of infinity says you teleport as if arriving by deep strike. If you teleport with gate of infinity, and have a WWP, do you scatter?

UPDATE:

Here are the relevent wordings:

1: Webway Portal: This model and his unit will not scatter when arriving from deep strike reserves.
2: Gate of Infinity: Remove the target and his unit from the board. It then immediately arrives anywhere on the board using the rules for Deep Strike.

Now, the only thing preventing you from charging after deep striking is the rule that says you cannot assault the same turn after arriving from reserves. Historically, TOs have ruled that you could NOT assault after using gate of infinity, ergo, they ruled that using gate of infinity counts as arriving from deep strike reserve. If they maintain that historical ruling, then they are basically implicitely stating that webway portal WILL work with gate of infinity.

So basically, either WWP works with gate of infinity, or you can assault after using gate of infinity. Both can't be true, but one MUST be true.


Last edited by BetrayTheWorld on Mon Oct 20 2014, 17:23; edited 2 times in total
Back to top Go down
egorey
The Duck of Death
egorey

Posts : 767
Join date : 2013-02-25

Webway Portal and Gate of Infinity Empty
PostSubject: Re: Webway Portal and Gate of Infinity   Webway Portal and Gate of Infinity I_icon_minitimeMon Oct 20 2014, 15:50

I think you would as you are not using the WWP after the first arrival but it needs a FaQ. However by RAW I think yes. It works but really it is not that powerful ... you are paying heavily for the combo.

_________________
Dear GW,
Paper is overpowered. Scissors is fine.
Signed,
Rock.


Last edited by egorey on Mon Oct 20 2014, 16:11; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
The_Burning_Eye
Trueborn
The_Burning_Eye

Posts : 2501
Join date : 2012-01-16
Location : Rutland - UK

Webway Portal and Gate of Infinity Empty
PostSubject: Re: Webway Portal and Gate of Infinity   Webway Portal and Gate of Infinity I_icon_minitimeMon Oct 20 2014, 15:53

Don't have the specific wording of Gate of Infinity to hand.

I do think it's really pushing at the boundaries of what's in the 'spirit' of the game though and as such, I wouldn't try this 'in game' without an FAQ confirming it.

_________________
Tan? You're joking, I'm a gamer, you're lucky I'm wearing deodorant!

My Blog - The Burning Eye Blog (check it out - comments always welcome)

My Project Log - Visions of the Burning Eye

My Gaming Log - Chronicles of the Burning Eye

My Club - MAD Wargaming

My Fluff - Kabal of the Burning Eye, Cult of the Shadowed Blade and Coven of Distorted Perfection
Back to top Go down
http://theburningeye.blogspot.com
BetrayTheWorld
In Exile
avatar

Posts : 2665
Join date : 2013-04-04

Webway Portal and Gate of Infinity Empty
PostSubject: Re: Webway Portal and Gate of Infinity   Webway Portal and Gate of Infinity I_icon_minitimeMon Oct 20 2014, 17:22

Here are the relevent wordings:

1: Webway Portal: This model and his unit will not scatter when arriving from deep strike reserves.
2: Gate of Infinity: Remove the target and his unit from the board. It then immediately arrives anywhere on the board using the rules for Deep Strike.

Now, the only thing preventing you from charging after deep striking is the rule that says you cannot assault the same turn after arriving from reserves. Historically, TOs have ruled that you could NOT assault after using gate of infinity, ergo, they ruled that using gate of infinity counts as arriving from deep strike reserve. If they maintain that historical ruling, then they are basically implicitely stating that webway portal WILL work with gate of infinity.

So basically, either WWP works with gate of infinity, or you can assault after using gate of infinity. Both can't be true, but one MUST be true.
Back to top Go down
thesaltedwound
Sybarite
thesaltedwound

Posts : 470
Join date : 2014-02-13

Webway Portal and Gate of Infinity Empty
PostSubject: Re: Webway Portal and Gate of Infinity   Webway Portal and Gate of Infinity I_icon_minitimeMon Oct 20 2014, 17:52

I'm torn here, but I'm leaning towards no for semantics reasons.

The Gate rules says "arrives anywhere on the board using the rules for Deep Strike." and nothing more.
The Portal rules says doesn't scatter when arriving from DS reserves.

When you use Gate of Infinity, you don't arrive from reserve, you just arrive by Deep Strike. According to the specific wording that is.

What I'm basically saying is that I think the TO's are wrong, that you will still scatter with Gate + Portal, but you can assault after Gate-ing.

Which is not a particularly helpful thing to say, perhaps, but this is the only way I can make sense of it.

_________________
Dark Angels. The Rock. Lion El "Dwayne" Jonson. I can't be the first person to have thought of this.
Back to top Go down
http://Www.bakeframes.bigcartel.com
BetrayTheWorld
In Exile
avatar

Posts : 2665
Join date : 2013-04-04

Webway Portal and Gate of Infinity Empty
PostSubject: Re: Webway Portal and Gate of Infinity   Webway Portal and Gate of Infinity I_icon_minitimeMon Oct 20 2014, 18:20

@thesaltedwound wrote:

What I'm basically saying is that I think the TO's are wrong, that you will still scatter with Gate + Portal, but you can assault after Gate-ing.

I would be absolutely fine with this ruling. I'd just want to know before I made my list. I think I'm going to make two lists. One that takes advantage of one ruling, and another that takes advantage of the other. Then I'll email TOs before I submit my list and ask for a ruling on this. Then submit the appropriate list based on their response.

Both rulings can make a huge difference.
Back to top Go down
ligolski
Wych
ligolski

Posts : 557
Join date : 2012-12-02

Webway Portal and Gate of Infinity Empty
PostSubject: Re: Webway Portal and Gate of Infinity   Webway Portal and Gate of Infinity I_icon_minitimeTue Oct 21 2014, 00:18

The Deep Strike rule itself essentially implies that is part of an arrival from reserves sort of thing. Gate can be used with locator beacons so I don't see why WWP wouldn't also work with that.

ALSO since I saw it mentioned above. By Deep Strike rules (as in its specifically stated under the deep strike mechanic), you CANNOT assault after deep striking thus you cannot assault from a gating move.

_________________
Mod-Read the Rules of TDC

Archon Atersol of the Kabal of the Ebbing Sun
Back to top Go down
thesaltedwound
Sybarite
thesaltedwound

Posts : 470
Join date : 2014-02-13

Webway Portal and Gate of Infinity Empty
PostSubject: Re: Webway Portal and Gate of Infinity   Webway Portal and Gate of Infinity I_icon_minitimeTue Oct 21 2014, 01:26

@Ligolski wrote:
specifically stated under the deep strike mechanic

Oh, it is? That would seem to clear it up then. I thought it was only mentioned in the reserves rule. My miss.

That basically means that gate + portal doesn't scatter. Still, I'd email the organiser. Best to be sure!

_________________
Dark Angels. The Rock. Lion El "Dwayne" Jonson. I can't be the first person to have thought of this.
Back to top Go down
http://Www.bakeframes.bigcartel.com
Sponsored content




Webway Portal and Gate of Infinity Empty
PostSubject: Re: Webway Portal and Gate of Infinity   Webway Portal and Gate of Infinity I_icon_minitime

Back to top Go down
 
Webway Portal and Gate of Infinity
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
THE DARK CITY :: 

COMMORRAGH TACTICA

 :: Rules: Queries & Questions
-
Jump to: